Customer Reviews for

The Yellow House

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    This is an amazing book.

    Synopsis:

    Set in Northern Ireland in the early 1900s, the story of The Yellow House centers around Eileen O'Neill as she grows up during a turbulent time in Ireland's history. Spanning 20 years, the story picks up during her childhood, as the family falls into poverty and tragedy sets the tone for Eileen's struggles. Working in a mill, in dangerous conditions, she saves her money and dreams of reuniting her family in the home of her childhood, hoping to bring back happier times.

    Along the way, she finds herself torn between two men, and torn by her own will and the will of others. Her family history and the current political landscape shape Eileen's journey, and secrets and betrayals leave their mark.

    Analysis:

    There are books that help you to pass the time, that entertain you, and that allow you to escape your ordinary life. Then, there are books that touch your soul. These books seep into your heart and your mind, so that, upon dragging yourself from its depths, you are surprised to find yourself in your own familiar surroundings. The Yellow House is such a book.

    Falvey's gift to the reader is her rich, descriptive language. The setting of this book, Ulster, a province located in northern Ireland, is lavishly painted throughout the book. The characters come to life, vibrant and flawed, clinging to dreams and hopes. Falvey uses historic events to provide a dynamic and turbulent backdrop for the characters' stories and personalities to unfold. We see the affect of love and loss, of war and fighting, of betrayal and hatred, each in varying forms and degress, on the human spirit. Eileen, in particular, is molded and shaped through the storm of war and prejudice that engulfs her life. From starry-eyed child to wary, and weary, adult, Eileen's journey is a hard one.

    Falvey takes us on that journey, perhaps to show us that Eileen's tenacity and fire is vital to her survival, and to encourage us to remember that in our own journeys. We love with Eileen, we cry with her as she suffers loss and humiliation. We feel indignation on her behalf over the injustices she bears, and cringe at her fiery temper. We worry as we foresee possible repercussions of her actions and decisions, and we hope that all will right itself in the end. And in the end, we the reader leave this book remembering what it means to hope and to sacrifice. Falvey teaches us that living for a dream can sustain us through the toughest of days, and that a dream gives us a reason to keep fighting.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK HAS IT ALL!!!

    I was carried away in this book, which of course is a good thing. The Yellow House moves swiftly and smoothly. Patricia Falvey is a Master Storyteller. I am already looking forward to her next book. I highly recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Your heart holds on to dreams long after your head tells you they're foolish."

    Occasionally an epic story comes along that makes the reader cry at the end of the novel. I am that reader, and The Yellow House is that novel. Spanning the early twentieth century, set in Northern Ireland during the time of the Irish revolution, we follow Eileen O'Neill, warrior, daughter, and sister as she slowly loses everything she loves but learns to rise again. Growing up at the base of her beloved mountain, Slieve Gullion, Eileen knows the terrors she dreams at night do not bode well for her family. When her younger sister dies of Scarlet Fever, her mother loses her mind in grief. When her Catholic father is killed defending their Yellow House from Protestant uprisers, Eileen must survive or perish in sadness. She stands upright as an O'Neill warrior and takes life by the horns.

    Growing up in Ireland in the tumultuous 1900s, Eileen O'Neill joins the Cause for the rights of Catholics and all Irish citizens. In 1913 she takes a job working for the Quaker family, the Sheridans, at their mill in Queensbrook; she also takes up the fiddle, following in her father's footsteps, and it is through these two positions that she meets Owen Sheridan, handsome, privileged, charming, rakish, and safe. When Owen goes to fight in World War 1 Eileen is left confused about her burgeoning feelings, not having ever loved, she doesn't know about Owen. And then she meets James; dark, dangerous, impassioned for the Cause, fighting for his beliefs, for freedom from persecution, for a better Ireland, and she falls for him.

    Torn between her inner warrior and her outer womanhood, enveloped in a lost family and heritage, dreaming of the Yellow House and her beloved Slieve Guillion, Eileen is a girl who grows to a woman before our eyes, who marches from the ashes of her childhood and raises her arms in defiance. Trapped between two men, Eileen finds herself.

    The Yellow House is a captivating debut, bountiful and beautifully written. The beginning trudges along, but Eileen will capture you quickly after. Her story will make you smile, make your heart pump, make your breath quicken, make you cry. You will hope for the best, and fear for the worst. You will laugh at Eileen and her anger and feistiness, she has a sailor's mouth and the temper to go with it. You will feel her heartbreak and her desire, you will know her anguish and rapturous delight, you will relate to her because she is the warrior in all of us. You will love Eileen, and you will love The Yellow House.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    Lyrcial Historical IRISH Novel of family, love and war

    I LOVE this book! Set in Northern Ireland in the early 20th century, The Yellow House is the story of Eileen O'Neill, a young woman who, in the face of violence, loss and hardship, persists in her dream of one day reuniting her broken family. Torn between her loyalty to the cause of Irish freedom, and her love for a Quaker pacifist, Eileen must find the courage to make the choice that will shape her future.

    For years, Eileen labors in horrid conditions in a mill while saving her money to purchase the home her family lost. She holds on to her father's tales of their ancestor's victories against the British. He's convinced her of her warrior legacy which plays right into the appeal of the fight for Irish independence from Great Britain. The movement of Home Rule would give Ireland its own parliament within the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. The Irish Protestants, particularly those in Ulster where Eileen lives, oppose Home Rule. When the Roman Catholics of the south proclaim an independent Irish Republic, Eileen joins the Irish Volunteers as a to rebel fight for Irish freedom.

    Her warrior legacy and her intuitive wisdom conflict, in her love affair with Owen Sheridan, a Quaker, as she seeks her dream to recapture the Yellow House and reunite her family. Great BOOK CLUB Reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Liked the book, Loved the history, Eileen--so,so

    I really liked the book. I much better understood the troubles in Ireland and very much enjoyed that part of it, as I am traveling there this summer. I liked all of the characters as a whole, especially Owen Sheridan! Eileen was a bit too high strung for me. She was definately a woman before her time, but too strong for her own good at times. A strong woman is one that can take care of herself against man and world, but not so proud she can't accept love and help! Owen was the father of her second child, she deserved his help, should have demanded he support the child! She certainly expected her husband to support her and her first daughter. That didn't make sense to me?? Didn't like that side of her! Wish we could have been told in the epilogue whether or not her and Owen married and lived happily ever after...I felt we deserved that information after all of the trials and tribulations we plowed through with this woman. Great writing style an easy read! Look foward to books from this author in the future!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Serendipity

    Once you hear the story about how this novel began its journey, you are intrigued. You want to know more and can not put the book down.[ I was so taken in by the book that I read it in one sitting] The political and emotional torment of the central character evokes a passion for living.

    This novel also gave me a new perspective on the struggle in Ireland between the parties, the religious groups and two countries.


    I have recommended this book to many of my "reading" friends. And I look forward expectantly to Patricia Falvey's next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Great read!

    Really loved this book! It was on my NOOK for quite some time and I wished I had read it sooner! It gave me a better understanding of what happened in Ireland and it really makes me want to visit the land of my ancestors. I am looking forward to "The Linen Queen" and everything else by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Good, fast read.

    If you like historical fiction, this is a good one. Can be predictable at times, but I still found it easy to enjoy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I haven't read this author before and thought it was quite a goo

    I haven't read this author before and thought it was quite a good read. the only objection is there are quite a few sub plots would have preferred that she kept to the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Unusual story from Northern Ireland

    I much enjoyed this historical fiction about the Troubles in Ulstter during the beginning of the past century. Eileen was a like able and admirable character. I learned a lot while being thoroughly entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Shadowmist

    May i join as a aprentice assassian?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Duskfang

    I hear your an assassin. I could use someone like you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Yellowstripe

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Really??? Must you people tell the whole book in your reviews???

    Really??? Must you people tell the whole book in your reviews???? a simple...very good, excellent or it sucked would do just fine! geez!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Great book

    I enjoyed this book: The fictional story is very entertaining, while it weaves a story about Irish politics in the early 1900's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Didn't read yet but was checking the review ratings and read too

    Didn't read yet but was checking the review ratings and read too much information in some of them. Reviewers should not give the details of the book so that it spoils it for others. I will read the book anyway even tho now I know some of the things that are going to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Good read

    I read this after I visited Northern Ireland. It helped me understand more about the troubles (as they call it there) and how life must of been on both sides. I'm looking foeward to reading The Linen Queen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Great escape!

    I love fiction that enables me to learn more about a time in history that I know little about. I will definitely be reading Falvey's other book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A Beautiful Story

    This book is heart-breaking and heart-warming at the same time. I've had it for over a year and am kicking myself for waiting so long to read it. A wonderful story that I will be reading again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    The Yellow House - Great Historical Fiction

    Really enjoyed this historical fiction, that takes place in Northern Ireland in the early 19th century. Rich with characters, suspense, religion, rolling hillsides, traditions and love. A little slow to start but found it truly engaging once past the intro.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3