Customer Reviews for

Yellow Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding book for young adults!!!

This book was absolutely wonderful! Jennifer Roy told her aunt's 'Syvia' story in the first person, as if Syvia were telling the story herself. This is the story of how five year old Syvia and how her family was forced from their home in Lodz, Polland into the Lodz ghet...
This book was absolutely wonderful! Jennifer Roy told her aunt's 'Syvia' story in the first person, as if Syvia were telling the story herself. This is the story of how five year old Syvia and how her family was forced from their home in Lodz, Polland into the Lodz ghetto after the German Nazis invaded Poland on September 1, 1939. Syvia and her family lived in the Lodz ghetto for five years. The conditions they were forced to live in were horrific...However, one thing I definately liked about this story was even though there were specific tragic events that took place, the story wasn't as graphic as other books I've read about the holocaust. Other Jewish accounts I've read were much more graphic and told specific details about how the Jews were starved, beaten, neglected, and killed. This book does describe how horrible the Jews were treated at the Lodz ghetto but it wasn't so graphic that you would not want young adults to read it. This would be an excellent book for young adults to read that would allow them to see what it was like to be a young child of 5-9 during the holocaust without all of the super gory details.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wierd format

I recently read the hard cover copy of this nook for a school project and i loved the book! Well i no longer have that book so i bought it for my nook so that i can write a paper o it and its hard to navigate necause its in a different format then the actual book. :(

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Outstanding book for young adults!!!

    This book was absolutely wonderful! Jennifer Roy told her aunt's 'Syvia' story in the first person, as if Syvia were telling the story herself. This is the story of how five year old Syvia and how her family was forced from their home in Lodz, Polland into the Lodz ghetto after the German Nazis invaded Poland on September 1, 1939. Syvia and her family lived in the Lodz ghetto for five years. The conditions they were forced to live in were horrific...However, one thing I definately liked about this story was even though there were specific tragic events that took place, the story wasn't as graphic as other books I've read about the holocaust. Other Jewish accounts I've read were much more graphic and told specific details about how the Jews were starved, beaten, neglected, and killed. This book does describe how horrible the Jews were treated at the Lodz ghetto but it wasn't so graphic that you would not want young adults to read it. This would be an excellent book for young adults to read that would allow them to see what it was like to be a young child of 5-9 during the holocaust without all of the super gory details.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    Great book

    i never thought i would like a book like this but i loved it i also recommend it

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ..."Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness"...

    Here is a little girl who saw neighbors, cousins and playmates "disappear" all around her every day. A girl of 5 hides in a hole behind a tombstone for survival's sake and tomorrow thanks God for her family's well-being and for the meager ration of watery "soup" and weak coffee that was smuggled to her daily.
    What moved me personally was how behind the words of fear and horror a testimony of the importance of cherishing life and it's daily miracles through a child's eyes radiated profoundly.
    It amazed me how much this little girl had been wishing and yearning to go to school and learn.
    For example, Syvia, the main character, loved it when her older sister, Dora, taught her the alphabet on the dirt floor of their so-called apartment, and today, all I was thinking, as I walked from class to class was, "Ugh! I have SO much homework tonight! I hate school!"
    Other Holocaust books talk about loss of faith and the betrayal of God, but this one portrays the importance of faith and Him. Syvia and her family saw God on their side as they were spared daily. Isaac, Syvia's father, thrust his life in harm's way to reserve her's. To what extent would you go to save a loved one's life?
    Imagine, walking bare foot, through snow 2 feet tall, on an empty stomach, bombs bursting everywhere, confused and scared all at the same time! It's hard to paint that specific picture, but this was reality to the 800 survivors fleeing Lodz ghetto.
    This story has opened up my eyes a little wider and has impressed me to let my family, friends and neighbors know, daily, how much I love and care for them before they leave this state of being.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Moving!!

    I was so moved by this book that I passed it on to two of my children, ages 13 and 16, two of their teachers, and some friends. I have recommended two books (historical fiction) below on this subject.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Hey listen to this!

    If you liked this book then you might be interested in The Diary of a Young Girl- Anne Frank. It was the diary that Anne kept while she was in hiding from the Nazis. It is very interesting and talks about how she feels as if she grows more independent because of her circumstances and the fact that shes been locked up in a place where you must always be quiet and secretve. It is a very good book and i hope that you will take it into consideration. It only costs 5.99 and is sure to give you a first hand expierience of what it was like to lie during the Holocuast. Bye now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Loved it

    This book was a great book u guys and women would love it its about a mother fathwr and there two daughters i cryed when i read this book... great book ever!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Five star book

    It really is a five star book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Amazing book

    I really loved this book. I can't believe this book is actually a true story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Wierd format

    I recently read the hard cover copy of this nook for a school project and i loved the book! Well i no longer have that book so i bought it for my nook so that i can write a paper o it and its hard to navigate necause its in a different format then the actual book.
    :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Vary powerful

    Vary powerful book i cried

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    I love this book

    I have this book in paperback, and it's my favorite!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Very Good!!!

    I really liked this book cause while reading it as if it was the little girl telling it as if she was still 10 years old. Not so graphic but still straight to the point. I read alot about this subject and alot different then others. The family stuck together and helped all the 12 children and the strength they all had is amazing. Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Yellow star

    Best book ever. I am11and i love this book and it made me very interested in world war 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Really great book

    I thought this was a really great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    BEST BOOK EVER WRITTEN IN POETRY!

    the book Yellow star was a great story. Its about a four year old girl, Syvia. She and her family are Jews and are forced into the Lodz Ghetto. After I read the book, I got so intrested in World WAr ll. THis book will make you understand a young girls point of view of living and surviving the Lodz ghetto. Syvias parents risked everything for her. This will make you cry, laugh and hate the Nazis. You won't regret reading this book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Great book

    Such a great book! I want to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Awesome

    Kinda funny sometimes actually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Amazing

    Well written history of truly heroic, brave people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is the best book in the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Awsome!!!!!

    I love this book so nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3