Customer Reviews for

Yellowfang's Secret (Warriors Super Edition Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(483)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Yellowfang's Secret- The Life of a ShadowClan Medicane Cat

Yellowfang's Secret is the fifth Super Edition in the awesome Warriors series by Erin Hunter. This book chronicles the life of former ShadowClan warrior Yellowfang. Like almost the other Warriors books, Yellowfang's Secret is an amazing book I know I will read time an...
Yellowfang's Secret is the fifth Super Edition in the awesome Warriors series by Erin Hunter. This book chronicles the life of former ShadowClan warrior Yellowfang. Like almost the other Warriors books, Yellowfang's Secret is an amazing book I know I will read time and time again.
We learn in this book firstly about Yellowkit and her littermates Nutkit and Rowankit. They train as apprentices, and eventually become warriors—Yellowfang, Nutwhisker, and Rowanberry. Yellowfang is then told by medicane cat Sagewhisker that she is destinied to be a medicane cat. Yellowfang, however, is uncertain about this role—she has always dreamed of being a warrior, and has fallen in love with fellow warrior Raggedpelt ((the medicane cat code forbids med cats to take mates)). Despite the action and adventure that I love in Warriors, this book was a bit disapointing compared to previous ones.
First of all, we find out it Yellowfang's Secret that Yellowfang has the ability to sense other cats' injuries—forcing her to leave the life of a warrior and queen to follow the path of a medicane cat apprentice. However, in the Power of Three and Omen of the Stars, it states quite clearly that Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovewing's powers are unique and beyond all other cats—including the warriors in StarClan. If they have this power that no other cat can posses, how come Yellowfang has a similar power when she isn't Firestar's kin?
Second, this book doesn't reflect the first four books of the Warriors series, in which Yellowfang is ThunderClan's medicane cat. Her personality changes a LOT in the very last chapter, and swaps to the trait of a totally different cat. The other charecters in this story are also hard to develop, as some of them are hardly mentioned at all. I understand we have a lot of story to get through, but the other cats are skimmed over and we don't get to know anyone (besides Yellowfang, Raggedpelt, Brokentail, and Foxheart). In other Super Editions (such as Bluestar's Prophecy and Crookedstar's Promise), all the charecters, not just the important ones, are well described and come alive in the story.
Finally, Raggedpelt and Yellowfang are mates while Yellowfang is a medicane cat apprentice, and only break up after Yellowfang becomes a full medicane cat. They both act like this is okay—that medicane cat apprentices are allowed to have mates. However, look at Leafpool! While she was an apprentice, Cinderpelt constantly warned her that medicane cats AND their apprentices are not allowed to have mates!
Other than these minor flaws in the story, Yellowfang's Secret is overall an amazing and suspenseful book. I would highly recomend to any reader who enjoys fantasy and adventure stories about cats. I would also recommend reading Erin Hunter's other series Seekers (about three bears searching for a new home) and Survivors (about a lone dog forms a dog pack). I hope this review was helpful.
-WarriorCatGirl

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

>:(

Im disappointed, i came here looking for book reviews! Not some stupid roleplays! If you want to roleplay go somewhere else! Theres like, a million websites out there specifically made for rps. Go there instead! Nobody wants to see them here!

People really need to be m...
Im disappointed, i came here looking for book reviews! Not some stupid roleplays! If you want to roleplay go somewhere else! Theres like, a million websites out there specifically made for rps. Go there instead! Nobody wants to see them here!

People really need to be moderating these reviews. If i was a moderator, I would delete your roleplays as soon as possible.

Seriously people are you that immature?

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 549 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Yellowfang's Secret- The Life of a ShadowClan Medicane Cat

    Yellowfang's Secret is the fifth Super Edition in the awesome Warriors series by Erin Hunter. This book chronicles the life of former ShadowClan warrior Yellowfang. Like almost the other Warriors books, Yellowfang's Secret is an amazing book I know I will read time and time again.
    We learn in this book firstly about Yellowkit and her littermates Nutkit and Rowankit. They train as apprentices, and eventually become warriors—Yellowfang, Nutwhisker, and Rowanberry. Yellowfang is then told by medicane cat Sagewhisker that she is destinied to be a medicane cat. Yellowfang, however, is uncertain about this role—she has always dreamed of being a warrior, and has fallen in love with fellow warrior Raggedpelt ((the medicane cat code forbids med cats to take mates)). Despite the action and adventure that I love in Warriors, this book was a bit disapointing compared to previous ones.
    First of all, we find out it Yellowfang's Secret that Yellowfang has the ability to sense other cats' injuries—forcing her to leave the life of a warrior and queen to follow the path of a medicane cat apprentice. However, in the Power of Three and Omen of the Stars, it states quite clearly that Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovewing's powers are unique and beyond all other cats—including the warriors in StarClan. If they have this power that no other cat can posses, how come Yellowfang has a similar power when she isn't Firestar's kin?
    Second, this book doesn't reflect the first four books of the Warriors series, in which Yellowfang is ThunderClan's medicane cat. Her personality changes a LOT in the very last chapter, and swaps to the trait of a totally different cat. The other charecters in this story are also hard to develop, as some of them are hardly mentioned at all. I understand we have a lot of story to get through, but the other cats are skimmed over and we don't get to know anyone (besides Yellowfang, Raggedpelt, Brokentail, and Foxheart). In other Super Editions (such as Bluestar's Prophecy and Crookedstar's Promise), all the charecters, not just the important ones, are well described and come alive in the story.
    Finally, Raggedpelt and Yellowfang are mates while Yellowfang is a medicane cat apprentice, and only break up after Yellowfang becomes a full medicane cat. They both act like this is okay—that medicane cat apprentices are allowed to have mates. However, look at Leafpool! While she was an apprentice, Cinderpelt constantly warned her that medicane cats AND their apprentices are not allowed to have mates!
    Other than these minor flaws in the story, Yellowfang's Secret is overall an amazing and suspenseful book. I would highly recomend to any reader who enjoys fantasy and adventure stories about cats. I would also recommend reading Erin Hunter's other series Seekers (about three bears searching for a new home) and Survivors (about a lone dog forms a dog pack). I hope this review was helpful.
    -WarriorCatGirl

    44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    This is going to be awesome

    Iv also heard that mistystars omen is coming out soon also. And survivors series

    24 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    King Ellissar

    Oh boy this looks awsome!!!!!! Cant wait!!!!

    22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Awesome Book; just couldn't put it down!

    I started reading the "Warriors" series by Erin Hunter back in the 7th grade in Fall 2005. I am now 6 months away from being 21, & I am still just as much in love with them now as I was then.

    Erin Hunter writes awesome books. I know for a fact that I will never out grow her books. They will ALWAYS be on my bookself. ALWAYS.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    I love yellofaang!

    All the books are so sad but they are all sooo worth it!! :)

    21 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book. I couldnt put it down. Yellowfang is a great main charater. This is a great book about her hard choice and how she is torn a part from the life of a warrior or a medicen cat. Yellowfangs Sercert is such a great book. Read it. You will so become adicted to the Warrior series as much a I was.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Book

    STOP STINKING ADVERTISING YOUR CLANS AND WRITE A STINKING REVIEW PEOPLE!!

    Anyways, I haven't read this yet but I know it will be awesome. Judging by what everyone is saying... lol

    Oh and STOP WITH THE 'Join this clan!' Or 'I need a mate!' OR 'I need kits!' Seriously. We do not care. It's called a computer. Also, go to the web if you are on a nook tablet. Sheesh people. Use those noggins.
    ~Not A Nook Tablet/Color Roleplayer

    20 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    READ THIS VERY IMPORTANT STATEMENT THAT SHALL CHANGE YOUR LIVES FOREVER!!!!!!!!!

    I like apple pie.

    19 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    STop advirtising STOP ADVIRTISING

    People are you serious? These comments are for the book. Not to join your stupid clans! Im surprised people dont moderate these comments. But if i was i would ban or warn you peeps right off the hook.

    19 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Title

    The new WARRIORS book is called Dawn of the Clans: #1: The Sun Trail.

    14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Great

    This is a splendid, thrilling super edition. I have read the warrior series, and ever since I finished it, I couldn't find another good series. But then Yellowfang's secret came out, and I gave it a try and immediatly read non stop until I finished it 20 minutes later. 5 stars for Yellowfang's Secret!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Puh-leese!

    Cmon warriors! Talk about the book not your stupid Clans!

    10 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Warriors

    Someone PLEASE write an actual review for the book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    >:(

    Im disappointed, i came here looking for book reviews! Not some stupid roleplays! If you want to roleplay go somewhere else! Theres like, a million websites out there specifically made for rps. Go there instead! Nobody wants to see them here!

    People really need to be moderating these reviews. If i was a moderator, I would delete your roleplays as soon as possible.

    Seriously people are you that immature?

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Is this not the Super Edition Yellowfang's Secret?

    Everyone is talking about SkyClan's Destiny. This is Yellowfang's Secret.

    9 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    OMG!

    Asome book!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Sad but EPIC

    Before i read this book, yellowfang just wasnt really the nice type of cat, born and raised in Shadowclan, then exiled by the leader, Brockenstar, that was all i really knew about yellowfang before i read the book. Right now im on book two of the 2nd series so i allready know her HUGE seacrat.
    Im just sayin but when i found out why she was exiled i was like; "HOLY CRAP!!!!".
    I really like this book an i reacomend it to all warrior lovers.

    Thx and let starclan liht ur path- Fireflame

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Best book

    I love this book! Because i love cats

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Pretty good

    Love yellowfang cause she is so epic! The book makes me love her even more with her triumphs and failures. How can one not love this book?

    ( btw, plz stop rping on here. Thanks)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Warriors Rock

    I love the warriors series. I am already on book two.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 549 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28