BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Yes, Chef: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Brought tears to my eyes, and love into my heart!

Wonderfully written. Moving.

posted by Bookie53 on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bob

Hi little girl

posted by Egrith on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I loved this book. The story is incredibly moving, plus Marcus

    I loved this book. The story is incredibly moving, plus Marcus is a great story teller. I could not put it down and found myself in tears at three different parts. I would highly recommend this book - it's the best book I have read in ages.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Brought tears to my eyes, and love into my heart!

    Wonderfully written. Moving.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Who Knew?

    Not only a great chef but a very good writer. This would still be an intetesting book even if you didn't know who the writer was. Kudos Marcus. I highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It is an absolute pleasure to read a chef's memoir about somethi

    It is an absolute pleasure to read a chef's memoir about something other than how many drugs they have done of how drunk they can get on the line and still put out food.

    Marcus Samuelsson's passion for food and drive to excel leap from the page and swirl through the readers mind like the aromatics from the pots and pans on his stove. This is a story of high-quality food and cooking and how to obtain it. Through hard work, passion, and determination, Marcus has become a chef we should all look up to and emulate.

    This is the book I'd like to represent a chef's life.

    It is a pleasure to read and an inspiration.

    Victoria Allman
    author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain and Sea Fare A Chef's Journey Across the Ocean

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Excellent and fascinating memoir! Unable to put down! Met him at

    Excellent and fascinating memoir! Unable to put down! Met him at book signing with a smile to match his life experiences. Will recommend and continue following his journey!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    Our book club read and discussed this remarkable story. Thank y

    Our book club read and discussed this remarkable story. Thank you Marcus for the history and journey of your inspiring life.
    Excellent!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Superb book, well done Mr. Samuelsson. The mark of a good book i

    Superb book, well done Mr. Samuelsson. The mark of a good book is that you feel better for having read it - like the mark of a good meal, where you feel better for having eaten it. Truly an amazing story, told with respect and compassion. The writing is poetic. Highly recommended for all, not just the foodies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Learn about the behind the scenes culinary world

    Excellent journey into what it takes to be an outstanding chef. Well written and engaging.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Well written, hard to put down book. Amazing, inspiring story.

    Thanks, chef, and all those who helped to write this book. Excellent!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Great read. Enjoyed the behind the scenes of different kitchens

    Great read. Enjoyed the behind the scenes of different kitchens.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Recommend highly

    This was a selected by a member of my book club. It is not a book I would have chosen to read on my own. I was pleasantly surprised at what an interesting book it is. Describing his childhood and how his race affected his career was quite fascinating. This was a fast read for me. I recommend it highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Amazing book

    Could not put this down. Loved the vivid descriptions of Sweden and Africa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A wonderful book!

    I took a chance on this, and I loved it! I was surprised to encounter such a fine human being with such an interesting life journey.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Anomymous

    Loved loved loved this book. A wonderful portrayal of the tough life of a chef, the hard work and dedication needed to make it in this industry and a beautiful insight into the soul of a passionate man. I love to cook and completly adore (and appreciate) Marcus' drive for the 'what ifs'. If you are a foodie the this book is a must.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Evie

    STOP POSTING YOUR ADS AT PON IT IS REALLY FU<_>CKING ANOUYING

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Xander

    "Hey." he says

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    To kenzie

    Nope it Egrith he changed. So how about you screw off and leave you nasty bit<3>ch. And go shower i smell fish. Might wanna clean that pus<3>sy. Next time i see you advertise this you WILL NOT be able to post EVER!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Kenzie to to egrith

    His name is bob so screw off

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Amazing

    Touching and moving. Highly suggested!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    I've been a long time fan of the cooking channels, so when I saw

    I've been a long time fan of the cooking channels, so when I saw this book by a chef I've admired because of his story and cooking skills, I was thrilled to read this book.&nbsp;&nbsp;'YES CHEF' does more than just NOT disappoint, it was a mind opening and heart rendering story of skill, talent, and determination.

    Marcus Samuelsson was born in Ethiopia where he contracted TB with his Mom and sister.&nbsp;&nbsp;His mom walked many miles to get her children medical treatment, only to die of TB herself.&nbsp;&nbsp;At two years of age, Marcus survived TB and was taken in by a nurse.&nbsp;&nbsp;Desperately wanting a son, a Swedish family adopted Marcus and his sister.&nbsp;&nbsp;In Sweden, Marcus began his life of diversity as a black child in a white family, but more importantly, he began his love of food and cooking while helping his grandmother in the kitchen.

    Thus begins this very informative and emotional look into the life of a great chef, and a groundbreaking winning chef no less!&nbsp;&nbsp;Marcus tells how he made his way around the world, learning about new foods.&nbsp;&nbsp;How he tasted and tweaked recipes, writing down all his ideas and experiences along his travels. As a black chef, he had to prove his value to any restaurant. Along the way, he made good friends and a couple of difficult relationships.

    This story of a poor sick orphan boy who worked, tasted and cooked his way into top cooking shows like Top Chef and Chopped, cooked in the White House for the President of the USA, and opened one of the first fine dining restaurants in revitalized Harlem, is a must read for any foodie!&nbsp;&nbsp;'YES CHEF' would be interesting just because of it's factual information, but it actually reads like a fast passed novel! A spectacular read!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2