Customer Reviews for

Yesterday, I Cried: Celebrating the Lessons of Living and Loving

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Yesterday I did Cry!

    I read 'Yesterday I Cried' about 9 years ago, to help me with by own battles of hurt, and abuse. My therapist recommended it to me, I read it, and read it agin! So powerful, that through the years, I still go back and read it, for it heals my soul. I finally 'got it', and moved on to 'One Day my Soul Just Opened Up'. After much soul searching still needing to be done, I have read her whole collection. Yyalna, God Bless You!! You saved me, and my soul!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    Ready set Go

    This book is what allowed me to begin my spirutal journey. Reading Iyanla pain's really allowed me to understand my own. I read this book 8 years ago and still am impowered by it. The lessons...the strength from begining to end I say ready set go!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book touch my soul. I enjoyed every mintue of this book. This is why Iyanla is such as strong woman and human. It also, encourages me to read more of her books. She makes you think about your life choices and how to respond and act towards them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Inspirational

    I have read this book twice at different times in my life and I love it. It is truly inspirational. It is the beginning stages to looking inward for self understanding. Ms. Vanzant has courage for opening up as much as she does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    This is The BOMB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book is a book everyone should read. it might not have sex or voilent crimes, but it is real. this is the first hand experience in the days of the life of Iyanla Vanzant. and when i read about how she was abused and mistreated by everyone in her family, that really ticked me off. why would any one do anything to harm a child, anyway? i am already telling too much, but this is a must read. I finished it in twelve hours, and that is pretty hard if your fifteen and is still going to school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    A soulful journey

    I cried through the entire thing. A passionately honest portrayal of overcoming some of the most horrific struggles one could endure, relating the universal emotions we all go through. Iyanla is truly heaven sent. I don't know if any of you have caught her on 'starting Over', but what an amazing woman. Her warmth and commitment towards the process of healing is awe inspiring and you feel as if you've known her all your life. I love this woman, I WILL be reading more of her books, and I encourage you to do the same!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    Moved

    A book saying don't be afraid to tell your story because not only will you heal yourself,but you'll help others who can relate and learn to heal and tell their own story someday too. Let the healing begin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    This book Made me cry

    I have never read a book that actually made me cry. I was so touched my her life. It made me think about everthing I went through and still am going through and realize that I am still beautiful no matter Who or what affects my life. I am so proud of Iyanla she has come a long way and she will always be remembered by me forever. Iyanla you are a wonderful and beautiful women stay strong and continue blessing us with your insperation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    AMAZING Every teeneager should read

    This novel is amazing, the lessons is somthing that everyone should know. This is a good book for teeneagers, who need direction. This book really makes you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Real Good

    THIS WAS A GOOD BOOK TO READ. IT WAS VERY INSPIRING. IT GAVE ME THE STRENGTH TO KEEP ON TRUCKIN'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Crying for so many reasons

    I would like for ever woman to read this book. It has something for what ever you are going though. It was so up lifting for me to know that I was not alone.It was as if she was telling my life story.She made me look at my life and relize that I have held on too years of pain,and now its time to let go and start the healing process.After reading this book I begain to look at life and myself in a different way for the first time .I am ready to take that journey and it feels good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    Profound!!!

    Highly recommended for all in search of love and self identity. Helped me understand my choices in the past and encouraged me to feel better about myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    I saw a part of me

    This is the first book that I have really sat down and read in about 3 years. This book is one that has made me want to read more great books. I saw a women, somewhat like myself, trying to make the best out of a bad situation. Someone who wanted to be loved by more than her children. Someone who felt that she could not go on with her life if a man was not involved. This book really touched my heart, mind, body and my soul. It makes you take a look at yourself and sometimes you will find yourself wondering and asking yourself, is that me? Was I like that? Did I do those things? Am I still like that? Do others view me as being that way? It makes you look into you soul and take an inventory of you life and your lifestyle. It was an outstanding book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    SOUL STIRRING

    I AM NOT A FAN OF SELF HELP BOOKS, BUT THIS IS FAR MORE THAN ANY SELF HELP BOOK. THIS IS EVERY WOMAN, MAN, AND CHILD. THIS BOOKS MAKES YOU SEARCH YOUR SOUL AND LIFE. IN EVERY CHAPTER YOU CAN RELATE TO EACH AND EVERY LESSON. WHERE HAS THIS BOOK BEEN ALL OF MY ADULT LIFE. THIS BOOKS LET'S YOU KNOW THAT IT IS OKAY TO MAKE MISTAKES AND IT'S OKAY TO SEEK HELP. IT'S OKAY TO HAVE A BREAKDOWN IF YOU ARE READY TO BUILD YOURSELF AGAIN. IT'S OKAY TO MESS UP AS LONG AS IT ALL TURNS OUT GOOD. IT'S OKAY TO CELEBRATE AND APPRECIATE THE GOOD AND YOURSELF. IT'S IMPORTANT AND A MUST TO LEARN FROM ALL OF OUR ERRORS. MY HAT GOES OFF TO MRS. VANZANT. YOU HAVE JUST MADE A NEW FRIEND IN FAITH. TAMINIKA, MOTHER, DAUGHTER, FRIEND, AND EDUCATOR IN SUMMERVILLE, SC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    AWESOME

    THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD. FROM THE BEGINNING TO THE VERY END. THIS BOOK MADE ME SIT BACK AND THINK ABOUT SOME OF THE STUFF THAT I AM GIONG THROUGH IN MY LIFE. THIS BOOK ALSO MADE ME FEEL VERY BLESSED AND TO REALIZE THAT MY GOD IS ALWAYS WITH ME

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    healed

    Well the first time i saw this book. I thought it was boring, and then the poem captured my attention, after that I could not put the book down. I related to some of the chapters, and i saw a little bit of me in this book coz i was in a relationship that did not work, and after reading this I knew i had to let go. I thank this individual for bring me hope and for teaching me to love my self first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2001

    A must read!!!!

    This has got to be one of the greatest books I have ever read! You have got to buy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    True story...a reminder to celebrate!!! [sn: the same thing that makes u laugh makes u cry...]

    I'm just now reading this book written over 14 years ago and it added a blessing to my life, it reminds you of the need to heal & celebrate right where you are because too many times we beat ourselves up and life issues add it's share of bruises so we forget to acknowledge our small accomplishments, our big lessons learned, our great fleets conquered...

    This book is filled with opportunities to use what applies and let the rest fly...I took from it what I saw in me and have looked in the mirror everyday since just to wink at myself & smile...:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Highly recommended Check it out !!

    This book was so good I couldnt put it down. Trials and tribulations of her as she suffered abuse from her mean grandmother and rape of her uncle, and how she made it work for her. GOD is good all the time, this book really changed my life for the better. Must Read !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2001

    Opens your soul

    I cannot recommend this book enough to anyone who needs to find the courage, strength and/or insight to change his/her life's perspectives. This book conveys a very deep and inspiring message, yet it is written in such a way that is easy to comprehend. I plan to read all of her books as well as look into taking one of her seminars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3