Customer Reviews for

Yikes!!!

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Leeches and gorillas, ostriches and African tribal warriors all

    Leeches and gorillas, ostriches and African tribal warriors all await TJ and her classmates when Herby transports them all from an African theme park to Africa itself! Eventually Herby and Tuna, the two 23rd century time travelers, are able to get them back but not before TJ learns some lessons about leadership. I’m sad to come to an end to these zany books about TJ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    Yikes!! is yet another adventuere for TJ, Tuna and Herby. Tuna a

    Yikes!! is yet another adventuere for TJ, Tuna and Herby. Tuna and Herby are trying to get back home. This time they send TJ and her classmates to an African jungle. How fun and funny. I'm sad to see the end of the series. 
    4 1/2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Okay...I'm a huge fan of Bill Myers. I've loved his books forev

    Okay...I'm a huge fan of Bill Myers. I've loved his books forever, both for kids and adults. But Tj, Tuna and Herby....too over the top cheesy for me. "Yikes" wraps up the series, and the antics are way, way too much. I mean, in order to get home, they need chili and a baby ostrich? C'mon! The one redeeming element is the lesson of servanthood that TJ finally grasps, securing the future the boys have come from and are trying to return to. Maybe if I was a ten-year-old I'd find the books cool. But for me they were just too silly, and by the end, I won't be remembering this series with fondness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    Oops or yikes! This time Tuna and Herby have transported TJ and

    Oops or yikes! This time Tuna and Herby have transported TJ and her science class to Africa! Tuna and Herby make me laugh! Then Bill Myers makes me laugh with the silly things that happen like the students start twitching from withdrawal of texting. This is an exciting adventure that both boys and girls should enjoy! It also teaches some important life lessons, such as kindness to others, helping others, and putting of others before self as TJ starts learning and applying these lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Yikes!!! is the sixth book in the TJ and the Time Stumblers seri

    Yikes!!! is the sixth book in the TJ and the Time Stumblers series by Bill Myers. It is also the last book. In this book the gang (TJ, Herby, and Tuna) end up teleported to Africa, but it's not just them, TJ's schoolmates end up transported as well. They end up spending two days in Africa while Herby and Tuna try to get everything figured out. Many scary situations happen and TJ learns that too lead you must be a servant.




    The lesson of this book is very valuable and this book actually is the best I've read from them. She has finally learned to forgive and so there isn't as much bad talk of Hesper which is nice. There are still grammatically incorrect words but of course, if your child is old enough to realize they are incorrect than it would be fine. Overall it's a nice ending to this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Yikes is another fun read in the Time Stumblers series. T.J.'s

    Yikes is another fun read in the Time Stumblers series. T.J.'s visitors Tuna and Herby are finally ready to travel back to where they belong. The problem is they just need a few more things like chili from a Texas housewife and an African Ostrich to digest it-not exactly things your average Malibu resident has in their house. With the help of Bruce Bruiseabone and their time travelling equipment they are able to have everything they need to travel home and leave T.J. to her perfectly normal life. Well almost, they did leave her an Ostrich and the Swiss Army Knife.
    I loved this series-it is an amusing quick read for an adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Yikes!!!" is the 6th (and I believe, final) book in t

    "Yikes!!!" is the 6th (and I believe, final) book in the "TJ and the Time Stumblers" series by Bill Myers. Like the previous 5 books, "Yikes!!!" follows the crazy, wacky adventures of TJ and her 23rd century companions, Tuna and Herby, as they navigate junior high life with futuristic gadgets and inventions. 

    In this volume, the gang spends a majority of time somewhere in the African jungle (thanks to some future transporting gizmo), and TJ learns some valuable lessons about leadership, humility, and having a servant's heart. Although I still find the books fairly obnoxious at times, I must say, this was my favorite book, as the lessons TJ learned are very applicable for the intended reader, and although her predicaments may not be typical, the internal struggles she has are very relatable. Additionally, I've mentioned in previous reviews how annoyed and bothered I was by the plethora of boyfriend/girlfriend, "he's hot," and "she's a babe" vocabulary in the books, so I was pleasantly surprised by the conclusion of this book and the series, and one final lesson TJ learns. 

    For these reasons, I'm going to go ahead and give "Yikes!!!" 4 stars! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    Yikes! is a strange book. The story gets interrupted all the tim

    Yikes! is a strange book. The story gets interrupted all the time with words in a large font or a tiny font. The story is choppy and silly. The heroine is a seventh grade girl, so maybe a junior higher would think it’s a cool book. I just wonder what happened to kids loving a great, well told story. I feel like the storyline is lame, so they try to add excitement with all these crazy words and strange dialog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    Crazy Happenings, Always Unexpected. Awesome books for young rea

    Crazy Happenings, Always Unexpected. Awesome books for young readers. They are full of impossible things happening, and are quite imaginative. You can never guess what will happen next. TJ is a girl who learns a lot about leadership. She has good Midwestern manners, unlike the Malibu girls. Some apt comments appear about typical celebrity wannabes, all in fun, of course. My favorite part is the texting withdrawals. I think the author jumps out of the story too much in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Yikes!!!, by Bill Myers, is book #6 in the TJ and the Time Stumb

    Yikes!!!, by Bill Myers, is book #6 in the TJ and the Time Stumblers 6 book series. TJ’s 23rd century friends, Tuna and Herby, have another lesson to teach her. The trio visits the African jungle and learns the value of kindness, and how leadership often mimics subservience.  (Matthew 20:26, “But it shall not be so among you: but whosoever will be great among you, let him be your minister.”)

    This last book in the series shares an important message, but doesn’t seem to have the flair the other 5 did. Perhaps it’s because it’s an end to all the fun. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    TJ's visitors from the 23rd century are finally heading home, bu

    TJ's visitors from the 23rd century are finally heading home, but not without causing trouble first. Somehow TJ's class ends up in the African jungle and she has to figure out a way to get them home.

    I thought this book was silly like the others in the series. The ending was interesting and not what I had expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    Strangest book of the series This is not my favorite series. T

    Strangest book of the series


    This is not my favorite series. The book itself follows the series' standard outloopishness but really takes it over the top. It is nice to see TJ start becoming a leader though. I was glad TJ matured where Chad was concerned, but don't like the actual ending to the book.  While TJ exhibits servitude in her adventure, it doesn't show the carry-over into her family life, which I found disappointing. I also thought the author broke the 4th wall too often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    The 6th and final book in the "TJ and the Time Stumblers&qu

    The 6th and final book in the "TJ and the Time Stumblers" series, 'Yikes!!!' is a fun ending to this great series. Set mostly in the African jungle (three guesses how they got there), Tuna and Herby almost have everything they need to get back to the 23rd century.  TJ is finally seeing some truth to her future as a great world leader, stepping up to lead the way for her science class to get out of the jungle and rescue Hesper Breakahart as well.




    Full of the typical catastrophes that happen when you hang out with Tuna and Herby, TJ realizes that strength of character might be one of the most important factors in a friendship....and that she just might miss Tuna and Herby after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    It's a little sad the adventures of TJ, Tuna, and Herby are endi

    It's a little sad the adventures of TJ, Tuna, and Herby are ending, but this book stays true to the flavor of the other books in this series. Tuna and Herby offer up the same misguided "help" that results in unending catastrophes while TJ continues to develop into the person she will become. Similar to the other books, the language in this one is entertaining and silly, the futuristic gadgets are cool, and there is a valuable lesson for TJ to learn. This lesson is about how a great leader is also a great servant to others. TJ learns about being a leader while trying to rescue herself and her classmates from an accidental journey to Africa. Overall, this series offers a lot to readers, especially kids. I would recommend reading the other titles first so the conclusion of the series is more meaningful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Yikes!!!: Just as Herby and Tuna are finally ready to travel hom

    Yikes!!!: Just as Herby and Tuna are finally ready to travel home, they accidental transport themselves, TJ, and some of TJ’s fellow students to Africa. In this final ordeal, TJ must summon the valuable lessons she has been learning and start to act like the leader Herby and Tuna say she will become. Needless to say, she displays remarkable leadership skills and everyone comes through with flying colors. TJ finally bids farewell to the zany boys from the future and can get back to life as a normal teenager…sort of.

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all) for my classroom, and they quickly became hits with a lot of the kids. A Christian riff on Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, the Time Stumblers series features Herby and Tuna, two silly guys from the 2200’s who travel back in time to the twenty-first century in order to get some first-hand data for their history project on TJ Finkelstein, a great world leader from their past. They end up stuck with a seventh-grade version of TJ in her own time, and while they work on finding their way home they help TJ learn many of the biblical virtues and life lessons that will make her a godly and revered leader one day. My female students love that the books feature a godly heroine who, though destined for greatness, struggles with the same hardships, homework, and heartbreaks as them; and the boys get a kick out of Herby and Tuna’s antics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Yikes!!! the 6th book TJ and the Time Stumblers series by Bill M

    Yikes!!! the 6th book TJ and the Time Stumblers series by Bill Myers is a must read! The whole series has the same feel to it as the My Life as... series. Kids and their parents who like Myers writing will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1