Customer Reviews for

You

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

YOU never know what you get......

I gave this book 4 stars because it kept me guessing right up to the end. Sadly, the ending wasn't to my liking, however I do recommend it; it's a quick read (I finished it in a few hours) and could foster good conversation.

posted by Annibebe on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Suspense book

In the book You by Charles Benoit, it simply talks about a boy named Kyle who kinda struggles fitting in. He goes throughout life doing the same thing everyday, getting up in the morning having his mother yell at him about getting a job and constantly struggling with ho...
In the book You by Charles Benoit, it simply talks about a boy named Kyle who kinda struggles fitting in. He goes throughout life doing the same thing everyday, getting up in the morning having his mother yell at him about getting a job and constantly struggling with how he sees himself as a person. This book offers a wide variety of different literary elements and always keeps you on the edge of your seat. Throughout the book, Kyle has this crush on a girl names Ashley and they are best friends as well, but when the new kid Zack moves to town, at first Kyle hates him but when he starts to talk to him more often and starts to go to some of his parties, he gradually becomes closer to him after Zack sticks up to the school bully/jock and saves Kyle from getting beat up in the locker room after school one day. This is a very suspesful book especially in the ending when something happens that you never would have seen coming. It shocked me and I'm sure it will shock you as well. I would definetly recommend You as a book to read if you are looking for something to keep you on the edge of your seat and never wanting to put the book down because it is so interesting.

posted by megtuttle on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    YOU never know what you get......

    I gave this book 4 stars because it kept me guessing right up to the end. Sadly, the ending wasn't to my liking, however I do recommend it; it's a quick read (I finished it in a few hours) and could foster good conversation.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Great Suspense book

    In the book You by Charles Benoit, it simply talks about a boy named Kyle who kinda struggles fitting in. He goes throughout life doing the same thing everyday, getting up in the morning having his mother yell at him about getting a job and constantly struggling with how he sees himself as a person. This book offers a wide variety of different literary elements and always keeps you on the edge of your seat. Throughout the book, Kyle has this crush on a girl names Ashley and they are best friends as well, but when the new kid Zack moves to town, at first Kyle hates him but when he starts to talk to him more often and starts to go to some of his parties, he gradually becomes closer to him after Zack sticks up to the school bully/jock and saves Kyle from getting beat up in the locker room after school one day. This is a very suspesful book especially in the ending when something happens that you never would have seen coming. It shocked me and I'm sure it will shock you as well. I would definetly recommend You as a book to read if you are looking for something to keep you on the edge of your seat and never wanting to put the book down because it is so interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Shatteringly Addictive Story

    Kyle Chase is a loser. Or at least he is the high school equivalent of a loser and he knows it. For whatever reason, he chose to ditch the life he knew and the friends he had, the possibilities that were endless, to become a hoodie. He hangs with 'the wrong crowd' and gets into trouble. His grades are horrendous and his own mother tells his sister that she shouldn't want to be like him. Kyle's going nowhere fast, yet somehow, Benoit makes that story incredible.

    Benoit tells Kyle's story all in second person (you) so the reader is Kyle. I've never read a story in the 2nd person POV before, but I really enjoyed the way Benoit went about it. I felt like I became Kyle and I couldn't believe where my life had ended up.

    The story opens up with a shocking start and moves back to tell the story from the beginning of the school year. Kyle's reflections on his life are tortuous because they are so raw and honest. He had everything going for him and he threw it all away. And for what? He isn't even sure.

    Benoit does more than just write a tragic story of a good kid who fell in with the wrong crowd though. He examines how we make our own fate and how everything we do is on us. We decide what is right and what is wrong and just what choices to make. We don't always make the right ones or the smart ones, but we have the power to control our own actions.

    Kyle's story builds to this crescendo as everything crashes down around him. The story is powerful and intense, but I wish it had been longer. My only complaint is that it left me wanting to know so much more.

    Told in searing prose that is rife with foreboding, You is an addictive thriller that never lets up. Charles Benoit's YA debut is a shatteringly realistic and deceptively honest tale about the choices we make and the consequences they have. I couldn't put it down.

    Opening line: You're surprised at all the blood. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line(s):
    The feeling passes, and what two hours ago was the most criminal thing you had ever done seems suddenly insignificant.
    Another line crossed. And you didn't even notice. ~ pg. 28

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Kyle is a hoodie. One of those kids that sits in the back of the class, tries not to be noticed, doesn't do his homework (only because he doesn't see the point), and dresses in the same "uniform" every day - black jeans, black shirt, black hoodie.

    You can find hoodies in every school, even though they might be called something else - slackers, freaks, stoners. Whenever you see them walking down the hall or through the mall, you don't know exactly what to expect - you just know it won't be good.

    YOU by Charles Benoit provides a glimpse into the mind of Kyle. By writing in a second-person point-of-view, the reader actually walks around inside Kyle's head. You are the character going through the story.

    * You are the one listening to the teachers explain how important it is you turn in all your work the rest of the
    grading period even though you still won't be able to pass the class.
    * You are the one attending Midlands High School because your grades weren't good enough to go to the
    private school with the people you already know.
    * You are the one with a secret crush on a girl you're afraid you have no chance with.
    * You are the one who thinks that your cute, kindergarten-age sister is the best person you know.
    * You are the one with a tragic end.

    Kyle is a good guy. Is he misunderstood? No - he projects exactly what he wants to project. The people in his life don't give him a reason to do anything differently.

    EVERY educator needs to read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    I gave this book 5 stars because I loved the story and plot and

    I gave this book 5 stars because I loved the story and plot and it kept me wanting to read more. I've never felt that way about books because I don't read much. So, saying that, it's a pretty good book. The book You is in the form of YOU/ 4th person point of view, hence the title You. I thought that made it VERY interesting because it was the first book I read in 4th person. In the book, you are Kyle Chase who is a Sophomore in High School. Kyle has MANY problems. He still doesn't have a job, is failing every class you can think of, he's always in trouble, and he can't even get the guts to ask out the love of his life. Also, he once tried punching someone but, it backfired because he missed and he hit the bus window. There were shards of glass everywhere and blood everywhere. But, one day, Kyle (or your) life changed forever. A new kid moved in named Zack. Zack instantly became popular and one of Kyle's friends. But, there's more to Zack than everyone knows. Zack like pushing people around. Pushing them till they crack and cry for mercy. What does that mean? Well, YOU're going to have to read the book to find out. I would recommend this to Middle School kids and High Schoolers. Mostly because the setting of the book is in High School. This lets the reader connect more to the setting and situations that happen in the book. For example, in the book, Kyle describes how you can tell who's part of what group: The Jocks, The Nerds, or The Hoodies. High Schoolers can connect to that and how it's like that in there school. Also, in the book, Kyle talks like a High Schooler. He talks in his own teenage slang. Most adults may not know what he's trying to say and the language he's using may seem confusing. All and all, this book is great for all ages and one of the best books I've ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Pages

    The books 90 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Even though Kyle seems hopeless and bored and dead-ended, he's n

    Even though Kyle seems hopeless and bored and dead-ended, he's not a bad kid, just at the end of a road built with a lot of bad choices, and you can't help but hope for him to pull himself together. You know from the beginning of the book that something gut-wrenching is going to happen, and it's pins and needles waiting to see how bad it's really going to be.

    Kyle's mom is a total wake-up call for me. I can see so much of myself in the way she talks to him. I'm guilty of those long speeches/rants that are thoroughly negative and wouldn't inspire any child to change.

    I will definitely be sharing this book with my son.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Amazing

    I saw this in my school and got it so i could kill a few minuets during class..... from the first page i was sucked stright into the pages and suddenly began living the life of zach I did not find my way back to the real world till after i finished the last page Amazing book that will draw you in and wont let you go, not even a single dry page in YOU

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Powerful!"

    This book was crazy. It's written so well, it sucks you in and holds you. It was such a quick read, i finished it in one night. This book is truly unique and one of a kind with the use of second person (you). The way in which YOU is written is powerful, "you do this", "you think that" it's just fascinating! I have never read anything like it and I am glad I did!

    I liked the main character Kyle a lot, you get to know him really, really well and it was really easy to connect with him. He is soo relatable with all his talk about high-school, grades, college, and even some conversations with his parents! I was nodding my head throughout the whole thing!

    Then there was the character of Zach, who ultimately was like comic relief! There was this scene in the locker room that was hilarious. He had perfect timing, knew the right thing to say and do at the right time.. but he ends up being a total ass, and I would have punched him in the face.

    Not going to lie, the ending confused me a bit.. but still overall a sharp book & I think a must read!

    best quote: "Ms. Casey is standing in front of the class explaining how she worked all weekend to get the tests graded so she could hand them back on Monday morning, and you're wondering if you're supposed to be impressed that she did her job." <--- TRUTH!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    What age

    What age

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    How many pgs?

    I like reading long books like 300 pages and up but this sounds good. 4 star for being interesting but needing 2 no the # of pgs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is crap. It does not describe an average teenager life, and I hated the main character. The second person narrative is the only thing that can make this book worthy of its one star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2