Customer Reviews for

You Against Me

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

You won't forget this story

In this story, a girl by the name of Karyn (fifteen-years-old) says she was lured to Tom Parker's home and was "taken advantage of against her will." Tom Parker goes to court, and Karyn doesn't want to leave her house - simply because of the fact that society is what it...
In this story, a girl by the name of Karyn (fifteen-years-old) says she was lured to Tom Parker's home and was "taken advantage of against her will." Tom Parker goes to court, and Karyn doesn't want to leave her house - simply because of the fact that society is what it is and somehow Tom is the stud and she is the harpy. But this book doesn't revolve around these two characters. The center of this tale belongs to Mikey and Ellie. Mikey is the brother of Karyn. This is a young man who takes care of his two sisters and his mother, working constantly to provide protection for his all-female family. Mikey is a good boy but extremely tired of his life, and the whole mess with Karyn has angered him beyond belief. His younger sister, Holley, is someone he wants to watch over so she's not involved in this trouble. Karyn is housebound and barely eats anymore, while his mother drinks and disappears a great deal. All he wants is to head to Tom Parker's house and make him pay. From keying Tom's fancy canary-yellow car to dreaming of beating him to death, Mikey has no idea the next steps to take. Tom Parker is a jerk. But his sister, Ellie, loves him. She is the girl who was in the house when this 'horrific moment' took place, and she is the only witness who can truly say how guilty or how innocent her brother may be. Her father is a die-hard, tough lawyer who knows he will get his son out of this mess. While her mother is basically a society woman who simply shrugs her shoulders when her friends ask about the incident, smiles, and throws a party. In fact, she throws a rather large one when Tom is released on bail. She even has caterers bring the right food so everyone can have a ball. What happens? Mikey and Ellie find themselves falling for each other in the middle of this whole mess, and romance and loyalty to one's own family meet head-to-head. The struggles, tension, and almost 'serene beauty' of watching two innocent people try to find a way to be together while staying true to their loved ones is traumatic, sad, and extraordinary. Mikey and Ellie are the center of the violent tornado as they are pitted against each other to try and deal with the harsh topic of sexual assault. This amazing writer has done it again by reaching into the YA world as deeply as she possibly can to focus on issues that are "too difficult" to even think about, not to mention see play out in the real world. Quill says: No reader will forget this story!

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you should happen to stumble upon it.

This type of book isn't one I would usually read but if you're like me sometimes you read books from the library too fast and the books you have on hold are not available yet you have to pick something else from the shelf. Now I was not disappointed with the story, actu...
This type of book isn't one I would usually read but if you're like me sometimes you read books from the library too fast and the books you have on hold are not available yet you have to pick something else from the shelf. Now I was not disappointed with the story, actually it was extremely interesting and seemed so believable. Rape is a serious issue and the way the writer delves into the characters' lives leaves you a little stunned. Not the most fast paced action packed book by far however the slower motions of the book are forgiven with the appeal of the intricate lives of these teens and their families.

posted by Faye_Kennet on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    It took me 4 hours to read this book!!!
    and I would re-read it :)
    usually the thought of reading a story I've already read isn't too appealing to me, but this book is amazing enough to be read multiple times!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Story!

    You Against Me has to be one of the most touching stories I've read in a long time. It involves two families, both being torn apart by an irresponsible decision made by two immature teenagers, and two individuals who get ripped apart inside by love and doing what's right for their families.

    Mikey's sister says that a boy name Tom raped her. When all this comes out in the open, their lives completely take a turn for the worse. Karyn refuses to leave the house, their mother is slowly drowning herself in pain and guilt, and Mikey is killing his brain trying to figure out how to make things better for them all. He's angry and wants justice.

    Ellie's brother Tom says he is innocent. Ellie feels it's her job to protect her brother and believe in him. Her family is suffering because of Karyn's accusations. All she wants is for life to go back to the way it was before Karyn. It's killing her to watch her brother worrying all the time and always on edge.

    What they both need is a way to clear their heads. For something to distract them from everything that is going on. To feel alive and pretend for one second that their lives are completely different. They find this by being with each other knowing that any minute this can all blow over their heads. They begin sneaking around with each other and giving each comfort that they couldn't find anywhere else. Of course there are trust issues between the two, but they never once doubt how they feel for each other. Neither one of them expected to fall in love. The guilt of betraying their families was big on their heart.

    I was seriously at the edge of my seat with hundreds of butterflies in my stomach whenever they got together in the book. I was waiting for them to get caught, or for something crazy to happen. I felt so bad for them and their families, but I was rooting for them. They just needed to be together.

    Jenny Downham touches a very scary and intense subject that I believe can help victims who have or know someone who has gone through something like this. Not so much the romance part of it, but the issue of rape. Mikey and Ellie's world was so believable, that I felt like I was going through it all along with them. I don't know what I would do if I was torn between the truth and a lie. When the truth finally comes out, things just get even more extreme for Mikey and Ellie and they find themselves even more lost and confused than before. This story was just beautiful in every way. The outcome was heartbreaking, but a relief at the same time. I loved it!

    You Against Me is definitely for a much more mature audience.

    5 out of 5 Stars!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    This book was just hard for me to put down. I couldn't stop read

    This book was just hard for me to put down. I couldn't stop reading this book. When I first read the first chapter I couldn't put the book down I wanted to continue to read what would happen next. In this book Karyn doesn't want to leave her home because she was "taken advantage"  by Tom Parker. She is afraid of what people/ society will think of her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book soooo much! But i wish it wold have given a lil more at the end? What happens 2 Tom? Do Mickey and Ellie stay together??????:)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Loved It!!!!

    It's an amazing story, one that shows growth in the characters and one that invokes emotion because of the topic being discussed. Throughout the book you will experience anger, frustration, sadness, and hope. It's a story worth reading, it's a story that tells both sides and in telling both sides, by the end of the book you are able to experience all characters and go through changes with the ones who change.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    One of the best romances ever! Couldn't put it down!

    One of the best romances ever! Couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Very good book!!!

    Very good book!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    You against me

    I love this book, amazing story bad ending,i like the charectors,the book was very realistic luv the book <3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    One of my favorite books.

    This is a beautiful book. With such amazing characters, they all felt real. Innocent or guilty, I felt for all of them. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    simply adored it

    I loved this book, I feel in love with the two main characters and somehow Jenny Downham keeps you on both sides, like youre not just rooting for one family, but both. Downham makes you feel for the characters. The langauge in this book is simply captivating. When I first finished the book, I wasnt very taken with the ending, but it tells you before the book, this is a story about love, so keep that in mind, when you read the ending :) hope this is turned into a movie, start development now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    such an amazing book that is worth reading. i picked this book o

    such an amazing book that is worth reading. i picked this book out randomly and after reading the summary gave it  a try. This book definitely was better than expected! i ended up loving it
    so much. the characters were very real and i truthfully couldn't put the book down. i am reading it for the second time and am still loving every page. 
    its a great book and i highly recommend it. It deserves truly deserves 5 stars! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    I havent reait nor will i i just feel like reviewing

    Lolololil

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Loved it

    I just got done reading this book yesterday and I finished it in half a day. There are some points in the book I would not label for litttle kids. More for people over the age of 14.
    Ellie meets Mikey who is seeking revenge on the boy named Tom who is 18 and assult his 15 year old sister Karyn.
    He finds revenge in Tom's little sister who had just turned 16 herself. Ellie lies to the police in her statement and Mikey, Tom, and Ellie all have a very heated scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    epic

    This book was one of the best i had ever read. The concept was great and it was fantastically written. I highly recommend this story to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Amazing

    this is an amazing story and once i started i couldnt stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Good dramatic romance

    Even when it seems an unrealistic situation, it feels almost as if you were in a real story, like your best friend gossipin about it. Its sad that things like these happen but the semi happy ending make you feel hopeful

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Been waiting...

    When will this be available on the nook i want to read this book so badly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2