Customer Reviews for

You Are My Only

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting and emotional

    In the few seconds it took for Emmy to get a blanket, her baby was taken. Young and in a bad marriage, Baby was the only thing good in Emmy's life. Fourteen ears later, the baby that was taken from Emmy is living with the woman she believes is her mother. When her desire to know who she is and why she has to always stay away from The No Good becomes too strong, she decides to find out where she really belongs.

    This book was heartbreaking and emotional. The story is told by Emmy in the days and weeks after Baby is taken, and then fast forwards fourteen years later, in alternating chapters, when Sophie (Baby) starts to figure out that there is more to her story than her "mother" is telling her. Beth Kephart writes about Emmy's panic with such force that your heart stays in your throat and you feel her unraveling with every minute that passes. Sophie's story is just as emotional. Her life is carefully constructed and her days filled with learning, but as she starts asking herself more and more questions, that insular world starts to open up. She meets a boy next door who is living with his two aunts and their friendship gives her the strength to discover who she is. The author very skillfully pulls you into Sophie's isolated existence and boxes you in right along with her.

    I felt every word of this book. It was full of heartbreak and desperation. Emmy's determination to find Baby was so real that it took my breath away. The best part about this book was that I wasn't sure if the ending was really happy or not. Both voices were written so beautifully that I could not really tell you what I wanted for Sophie, in the end. That greyness within a situation that seems black and white kept me awake long after I finished the book. You are really missing out if you don't take the opportunity to read this. I gave it 5 stars.

    I received this book as a galley from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well-written and engaging

    Twenty-year-old Emmy Rane married young and had a baby soon after. Trapped in a dull, meaningless world, her baby girl is her only bright spot. One summer day, Emmy leaves her daughter unattended in her swing for just a few minutes while she runs inside to grab a blanket. When she returns, her daughter is gone, the only trace of her the yellow sock left on the ground. Desperate to find her daughter, Emmy runs off in the middle of the night wandering aimlessly around town. Her search takes her to the train station where she is taken into custody. When her husband turns on her and has her taken to the psych ward it seems all hope of ever finding her baby is lost.

    Fourteen-year-old Sophie lives a reclusive life with her mother. She has been shuffled around her entire life, constantly on the run from what her mother calls "The No Good". When Sophie befriends Joey, the neighbor boy, and his two loving aunts, she is determined to make sure that she and her mother stay put. The only problem is that by contacting Joey from her attic, Sophie is breaking the rules. She is home schooled, is to stay inside at all times, and must never make contact with anyone outside their home. If her mother finds out she will pick them up and leave again, which is the last thing Sophie wants.

    You are my Only is told from both Sophie and Emmy's viewpoints in alternating chapters. I'm ashamed to admit that I've never read anything by Ms. Kephart before. I am definitely a fan. Though not surprising, the story was engaging, fast-paced and heart-breaking without being too melodramatic. The characters were all very well-drawn and the prose soars. I especially loved how Ms. Kephart played with language. It was the way she used the language that made the story so engaging and the characters feel so real. The last time I felt this way was when I read Emma Donohue's Room. I highly recommend this one.

    (Review based on an Advanced Reader's Copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Beautiful

    Looking through the window to a life that goes on without you - a world you're not allowed to inhabit.

    The trees green, the snow falls, a dog barks, close enough to touch but out of reach

    I read the stories of Sophie and Emmy, one beautiful word at a time, savoring the words and images evoked by the poetry Beth Kephart brings to us. Eager to turn the page but yet reluctant to let it go, I read on into the night knowing I needed sleep. How can I turn out the light when Emmy and Sophie yearn for what they can't have? How can I leave them when they are trapped and alone?

    I am close to the end - forty pages to go and I'm weeping. Why? The beauty of the story, the fate of Emmy and Sophie, but most of all I just don't want this story to end. I want to stay with Emmy and see a reunion too long in the making. Beth Kephart has created characters so real I feel their pain at being torn apart from one another. Feel the love that Emmy has for Baby, the love that Miss Cloris and Miss Helen feel for one another and the fear of being pulled apart.

    I reluctantly finish the most beautiful book I've read in a very long time, but I joyfully pass it on to the next person on the list.

    I beseech you to read You Are My Only, and promise you characters and a story that will live with you for a long time to come.

    To Beth - thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful writing.

    First and foremost, the writing was breathtakingly beautiful in this novel. I loved the descriptions really felt like I could picture the scenery and the story.

    I felt like in the beginning of the book, I was pretty confused. It switches from Sophie, a child who never leaves her home, to Emmy, who loses her Baby and goes out trying to find her.

    Poor Sophie. She is stuck inside a home all day long without having the ability to speak to anyone but her mother. I was proud of her for venturing out to meet Joey, the neighbor boy, and his two aunts.

    Emmy's story was just heartbreaking. She loses her Baby and she goes on this journey trying to find her and ends up in the mental hospital. I can't imagine losing a child like that and I really felt horrible for her.

    At the end of the story, although a lot of questions get answered, but I still felt like I had more. I wanted to know more about Sophie's mom and her life. I wanted to know what happened after it was all over.

    The ending felt a bit abrupt and I feel like that's why I still have so many questions.

    Overall an interesting read and one I did enjoy.

    I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Beth Kephart has again written a remarkable book. We have read about abducted children in the news and this is the story of one and her rescue. Teens will enjoy, as will adults, the vivid images and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    The story follows Emmy and Sophie on their journey after the abduction. Emmy ends up at State medical ward for some strange reason I don't know. All she did was stay out all night looking for her missing Baby. To me that seems like a pretty reasonable response to something so devastating. Half of the story follows her while in State and the other half follows Sophie and her life with her "mother". Sophie of course has no idea that she was abducted by this woman that she calls her mother. Sophie abides by her mothers rules of staying in doors at all times and hiding when people come to the door... until she meets Joey.

    The grammar/slang was a bit hard for me to get used to. I found myself rereading parts of the dialogue to figure out what they were saying. It got a little better towards the end when I got used to it but for a while there I thought I was reading it wrong. That sort of took away from the book for me since it kept pulling me out of the story to try to figure out what was going on. However, I understand why the grammar was the way it was and I thought it was brilliant on the authors part.

    The story is captivating and I could have read it all in one sitting if I had the time. I really enjoyed reading Sophie's story and how meeting just a few people changed the way she saw things and she started to piece things together. The only thing I didn't care for was the ending. Yes it was predictable but it sort of just leaves you hanging. I got no closure from the ending and if left me wondering, "What happened next?" What happens with Arlen and Joey?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the writing style, but the story line itself was just so-so.

    Thank you read-a-thons! I think if it wasn't for a read-a-thon I participated in, I may have never actually finished this one. Initially, I was really drawn to reading this one, but once I started reading it, I couldn't get into it. I was hoping I would be shocked and crying.but that wasn't in the cards for me.

    Sophie is the character in the book I wanted to read about. I felt sorry for her. I was rooting for her from the get go. The situation, being abducted that is, without her even knowing it most of her life, was horrible. She was so sheltered. I was so happy when she finally started lying to her "mother" and ventured next door.

    Emmy was the character I struggled with. I'm almost 100 percent positive she was the reason it took me 26 days to read You Are My Only. I couldn't connect with her. I felt I should have been able to connect with her more than Sophie because she had her child abducted from her and I have children. The situations after the abduction that Emmy put herself in seemed.I'm not sure..unbelievable? Forced? Too out there? All I know is that I didn't like it. I found her story rather boring and repetitive.

    The best aspect to the story was Beth Kephart's writing style! I'm curious about the other novels she has written and what she may come up with next. You Are My Only COULD be a heartbreaking story, but it wasn't to me personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book!

    Here's the scoop: This will be the most extraordinary and probably one of the most memorable books you'll read for a long time. I suggest going right away to buy your hard copy, first edition because you'll want it in your personal library. I predict it will be one of the Top Best Books of 2011. It is so masterfully written that you could simply close your eyes and point on any given page, and you'll land at a beautiful turn of phrase or description. This is a book of the heart and soul. This is a book that only an author of the highest quality could write. The characters we learn to love: Emmy Rane, the delicate, damaged young mother whose baby is stolen; Sophie, the baby and teenager whom we come to know and love; Joey, her next door friend and companion-of-the-larger-world; Autumn, Emmy's precious person who helped; the awe-inspiring Aunts; and the man who made a difference... All of these people are believable; they come alive in the hands of Beth Kephart. I know them. I cried with and for them, and I laughed in joy and sorrow with them. The structure of this novel is one I have come to favor in every instance: the back and forth of individuals and their story lines. In "You Are My Only" we see the story from the perspectives of Emmy and Sophie. This kept the book running at such a pace that I held back to savour every page. I was so sad when the book ended. You know the feeling...didn't want it to end. But, it ended just perfectly, as I knew it would have to. The final line was poignant and rang with truth. This is a novel that can't be shared more than I have without giving too much away. This is a story that will so touch your heart and mind that you may want to reread it right after you finish it. I loved the book and recommend it to all of my friends and readers. It is a novel that will leave you somber, however, and I must tell you that; it's not one that you can expect to do other than make you think and hope. 5+ stars for this very beautiful book by a genius of a writer. Deborah/TheBookishDame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "YOU ARE MY ONLY" (GMTA REVIEW)

    "YOU ARE MY ONLY" BY BETH KEPHART

    This book is completely touching and the kind of story you just can't put down. Emmy Rane is a girl that married too young, a girl with a low mental capacity and her baby is all she has. Her husband seems to have only married her because he got her pregnant and there is no love in the relationship. So when she leaves the baby outside for just a minute while she runs in to get something and she is stolen, Emmy is blamed for it all. Even though the pain of her loss is easy to see she is dragged through the process of being treated as though she's guilty of her disappearance.

    Meanwhile, every other chapter highlights the life of Sophie, the baby that was stolen. Years later Sophie is still living with the woman that took her on that fateful day. Having been told time and again that they were running from the "No Good" she is forced to live a life of seclusion. When they move to a new town and she begins to fall for the boy next door she has to find a way to keep her 'mother' from finding out, scared she'll make them move yet again.

    The book is at once a psychological thriller and a moving story that will have you completely wrapped up to the point you can't let go. Cheering for the helpless while still unable to fully blame the ones responsible for the heartache, it's the kind of read that will leave you emotionally drained but satisfied in the end.

    Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A unique YA book

    Sophie is fourteen years old and living with her mother in run down houses. She is home-schooled, and the two of them have moved to new locations more often than Sophie can keep track of. When they land at a little house next to a boy named Joey and his two Aunts, Sophie realizes she is no longer interested in the nomadic life she has been living. Emmy is a nineteen-year-old mother whose child is taken from her in broad daylight. Emmy is heartbroken, but doesn't have a lot of time to mourn before she is thrown into a mental hospital on the outskirts of town. With little hope of finding her Baby, Emmy maneuvers through her grief and loss.

    This is the first book by Beth Kephart I have read and it was very interesting. Most notable is her writing style, which is loose and poetic and really quite beautiful. There is not a lot of happiness in this story, but the prose puts a softer edge to everything and makes it magical. The voices of the characters are also unique, as no one sounds all that educated. I'm not sure how else to describe the dialog, but once I got used to it, the dialog morphed into a character of its own. The alternating chapters between Emmy and Sophie were also confusing at first, with their ages being similar but so different. But as the reader realizes these girls are somehow connected, the pace becomes faster and more urgent until the climax at the end. It is a strange topic for a YA novel, with teen pregnancy, mental illness, and kidnapping, but I think YA readers will ultimately enjoy it. This is a challenging and tragic book that is well worth the time and effort. If you have not yet read any Kephart, give this new one a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful...

    I was able to read a galley of YOU ARE MY ONLY. I was a fan of Kephart before reading YOU ARE MY ONLY and was pleased that I also loved the newest story from her brilliant mind. Kephart is both interesting and poetic in describing the stories of Emmy and Sophie. I was compelled to continue the story because of I had to see what would happen in this enthralling novel. You will not be disappointed by Kephart's new novel out October 25th.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1