Customer Reviews for

You Are Not Alone: Michael, Through a Brother's Eyes

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend

I highly recommend for everyone to read this book. Either you're a fan or not of Michael it's something worth reading. I couldn't stop crying for Michael who's motive is to help not only the children but everyone in need. Some people have true desire to help not just...
I highly recommend for everyone to read this book. Either you're a fan or not of Michael it's something worth reading. I couldn't stop crying for Michael who's motive is to help not only the children but everyone in need. Some people have true desire to help not just for publicity sake. He's one of a kind.

posted by 3730901 on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Michael was no friend to children

For those who want to put forth the belief that Michael posed no danger to children, I can say that the FBI studied him and concluded that he was a pedophile. Yes he was a brilliant musical talent, but don't confuse that with also being a good person. Anyone who would...
For those who want to put forth the belief that Michael posed no danger to children, I can say that the FBI studied him and concluded that he was a pedophile. Yes he was a brilliant musical talent, but don't confuse that with also being a good person. Anyone who would molest children is despicable.

posted by rickey_boy on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I highly recommend for everyone to read this book. Either you're a fan or not of Michael it's something worth reading. I couldn't stop crying for Michael who's motive is to help not only the children but everyone in need. Some people have true desire to help not just for publicity sake. He's one of a kind.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great read

    Although jermaime tell the same jackson stories others have written over the years he do so with insight and clarity that makes you enjoy them again. Also who knew jermaine could be so humourous? I enjoyed the book and his explanation for singing "word to the badd"

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Amazing!

    Great book and Iove micheal no matter what..

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Amazingly written...

    I have been reading this one and I think Jermaine did a wonderful job in that the book honored the memories of his brother Michael so well. Jermaine congratulations on the book and my prayers continue for you and your family.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    You Are Not Alone Michael: Through A Brothers Eyes

    I waited a long time to purchase this book. I had mixed emotions, thinking Jermaine was trying to cash in on Michael's name. Well I was so wrong. You can feel the love he has for Michael throughout. Even though they may not have always seen eye to eye on things the love and respect for each other was always there.

    I definitely recommend this book to any fan or anyone who is at all curious about what it is like being a member of the Jackson Family.

    The title says 'You Are Not Alone Michael'...the media would like to have us believe the opposite. After reading this book I now see this family through different eyes. Thank you Jermaine for sharing your story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Great read!

    This being the third book I read on MJ, it is my favorite. It gives a great outlook on Michael's life and Jermaine does a great job on telling a story without going into too much detail of some aspects of the music industry that normal people dont understand.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Great Book!

    Very informal on the private life of Michael and his family. I felt like it was true to form since it was coming from his brother. Lots of information and insight on Michael. Thank you, Jermaine!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Insight From Within

    After reading Michael Jackson's autobiography Moonwalk, it made me wish that he had written more about himself. I started looking for other books, biographies written by those who were around him and knew him. While searching, I came across You Are Not Alone and immediately knew this would be my next read. I thought what better person to tell the story of Michael than a brother who sang alongside him on the same stage as little boys, in a setting almost reminiscent of a budding praise band. With insight from within, You Are Not Alone captures the reader's heart and invites him into the Jackson family's living room, concert tours, legal battles, & most importantly, into the soul of a man who longed to be loved and seen as normal like any of us. This is a good read for anyone who is a fan of Michael's both on and off the stage, & who wishes they had more years to spend with him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Touching

    many people may not know Michael Jackson & his feelings I DO I'VE BEEN THERE all I CAN say is I LOVE You MJ I UNDERSTAND YOU !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Mj fan

    Awsome. Best book in the world

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Michael was no friend to children

    For those who want to put forth the belief that Michael posed no danger to children, I can say that the FBI studied him and concluded that he was a pedophile. Yes he was a brilliant musical talent, but don't confuse that with also being a good person. Anyone who would molest children is despicable.

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    U not alone michael through a brother eye

    Must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Michael & my sister were born the same day same year. We grew up with Michael. I'm only on Chapter two but I am thoroughly enjoying the human side of Michael and not the "media" view of him. I think Jermaine for allowing us to see this side of his brother, Michael, and what it was like for them all growing up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2015

    a firsthand account of life in the Jackson family and their rise

    a firsthand account of life in the Jackson family and their rise to fame. Jermiane gave us an insighinto what drove his
    brother into becoming the largest star in the world as well as the struggles that he went through. Strongly suggest for any fans of Michael or the brothers. I cried at the end but so well worth the read. Thank you Jermaine for letting us into your and your brothers world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    DEDICATION

    This is dedicated to Pantherstrike and other rpers who succeeded at or attempted suicide due to bullying. You will be forever missed. May God watch over your souls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    MJ10

    MICHAEL WILL ALWAYS BE A GREAT SINGER RIP MJ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    I love mj

    Ilove mj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    A true page turner

    It's well known that the Jacksons have been a bit leery of the press and tabloids, so it was great to get an insider's account of their story from the beginning to the present. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    To michel was no friend....

    Shut up andGROW up old things r passed away he should have molested...... >:( NEVER MIND!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Jermaines book

    This book is awesome you have to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2