Customer Reviews for

You Are Not So Smart: Why You Have Too Many Friends on Facebook, Why Your Memory Is Mostly Fiction, and 46 Other Ways You're Deluding Yourself

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great review for thought 'fallacies'

Without getting too deep into the book McRaney covers a lot of information in short tidy chapters. Some may think his explanations are a bit short on some subjects but I think the books purpose is to make you realize you have a lot of built in or developed biases in you...
Without getting too deep into the book McRaney covers a lot of information in short tidy chapters. Some may think his explanations are a bit short on some subjects but I think the books purpose is to make you realize you have a lot of built in or developed biases in your thought processes. Further study can be in the notes in the back of the book. Would definitely recommend it as a beginning read and then follow up with with whatever you are more interested in from the bibliography.

posted by George_D68 on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is a good book overall and I enjoyed it, but what annoyed me

It is a good book overall and I enjoyed it, but what annoyed me was his lack of exact information. He would use vague
statistics like "people would react [in this way] somewhat more often." It was a good book but would be better if it was 
backed up with exact...
It is a good book overall and I enjoyed it, but what annoyed me was his lack of exact information. He would use vague
statistics like "people would react [in this way] somewhat more often." It was a good book but would be better if it was 
backed up with exact information.

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Great review for thought 'fallacies'

    Without getting too deep into the book McRaney covers a lot of information in short tidy chapters. Some may think his explanations are a bit short on some subjects but I think the books purpose is to make you realize you have a lot of built in or developed biases in your thought processes. Further study can be in the notes in the back of the book. Would definitely recommend it as a beginning read and then follow up with with whatever you are more interested in from the bibliography.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great book!

    I'm so glad I bought this book. I couldn't put it down once I started reading. The author explains everything in ways that make you remember what he talks about, and applies it to situations you can understand. Very entertaining, interesting, and great conversation starters .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Psychology and design for the non-psychologist

    An excellent book which had been recommended to me by a fellow software designer.

    If you're interested in an overview of how we behave in ways we don't always perceive then this book is jam-packed with anecdotes and examples of experiments and research into thinking and behavior without being too stuffy or scientific.

    Useful for all sorts of readers from those with an academic interest to folk simply wanting to delight in reading such oddities as why you should never sit in a room with a briefcase and a big office desk when trying to negotiate a better deal from a supplier. No...really.

    Great stuff - definitely recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Interesting and insightful...

    A fun review of the current studies of human behavioral science.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Great stuff

    This book was interesting and entertaining. Some of the chapters dealt with common issues like learned helplessness or priming but it was still fun to read. The book is written well and reviews a lot of social psychology principles and research. I only wish i had enough focus to remember and effectively use these ideas.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Funny and interesting

    Good size chapters that will drive some humbleness into life. I often had to quit reading from time to time for a little self reflection.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Disapointed

    I had the misfortune of subscribing to your podcast and hit one that truly turned me off to your way of thinking. Your concepts and thoughts were inspiring at first. Unfortunate the moment you touched upon reason and thought patters counter to what you believe you decided those people, even going back to early thinkers who were "influenced by social norms from their own culture" and were in reality just starting to grow and understand our place in the universe, were wrong to the point of “too underwater culturally to resize it”. It is too bad you preach free thought but criticize with hate anything you do not agree with. You speak as if you are not influenced by the current cultural norms. I am sorry to say I must give this a poor rating due to your closed minded hypocrisy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    It is a good book overall and I enjoyed it, but what annoyed me

    It is a good book overall and I enjoyed it, but what annoyed me was his lack of exact information. He would use vague
    statistics like "people would react [in this way] somewhat more often." It was a good book but would be better if it was 
    backed up with exact information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I love reading about psychology, behavior, and social science bu

    I love reading about psychology, behavior, and social science but a lot of the books I read use more complex and advanced terminology. That's fine and all but it gets old when you're just trying to read for entertainment. This book is informative without being wordy or complex and it even has a refreshing touch of humor. I've found a new favorite book for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    It'll Blow yo It'll Blow Your Mind

    Worth the money! A deep look into the real world we live in and telling us why we do what we do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Resourceful, humorous, and meaningful. Nicely organized into cha

    Resourceful, humorous, and meaningful. Nicely organized into chapters with a different topic. Does not make the audience feel totally stupid, rather McRaney points out the delusions, explains, ensures the everyone is just most likely thinking of the same thing, and offers advice on how to improve. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Very enlightening book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great reading!

    I enjoyed reading this on my Nook and now want to buy it in paperback to use it as a reference. I will be thinking about the information and looking back on it for years to come. If you like to think about thinking - this book is for you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Thought it was different......

    Was not what I had expected, however it was interesting.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2