Customer Reviews for

You Being Beautiful: The Owner's Manual to Inner and Outer Beauty

Average Rating 2.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Looking, Feeling, and Being Beautiful

If you've read a lot of the other "YOU" books, you're probably thinking what I'm thinking, "When are these guys going to run out of ideas?" Well, they haven't yet, and unlike a lot of sequels, this one's not half bad.

So what's the point of this book- to just ...
If you've read a lot of the other "YOU" books, you're probably thinking what I'm thinking, "When are these guys going to run out of ideas?" Well, they haven't yet, and unlike a lot of sequels, this one's not half bad.

So what's the point of this book- to just look beautiful? Well, not exactly. While looking beautiful is definitely covered in the book, the authors want to make it clear that real beauty isn't just "skin deep". As far as they're concerned, there are three "levels" of beauty. They are:

-looking beautiful
-feeling beautiful
-being beautiful (which is more or less acting/behaving beautiful)

The book is really thick and takes its time covering each of these major areas. A little bit about what is covered in each section:

-being beautiful: beautifying and caring for your skin, hair, teeth, nails, and feet are discussed here, as well as weight and muscle toning tips.

-feeling beautiful: learn how to beat pain, the blues, low energy and debt in this section. (I found the info on accupressure points very interesting)

-being beautiful: I felt that this was kind of a "catch-all" section. The major issues addressed here were improving relationships, sex info, and a short discussion about happiness (rec. "Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World" for a more detailed review of happiness).

The book ends with an hour-by-hour plan for the "Ultimate Be-YOU-tiful Day". I doubt I could pull this day off very often, but it was a nice way of pulling many of the book's tips together to show you how they can be easily integrated in your daily routine.

All-in-all a very enjoyable, and comprehensive book for those looking to improve both their inner and outer beauty. People looking for a beauty book that discusses just outer beauty will likely be disappointed.

posted by 795718 on January 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not So Much...

I fully expected to eat this book up from beginning to end. Instead, I found the info was poorly presented if not downright klutzy and written in the most condescending "chick lit" tone that I had to put it down after skimming through each chapter (which took all of an ...
I fully expected to eat this book up from beginning to end. Instead, I found the info was poorly presented if not downright klutzy and written in the most condescending "chick lit" tone that I had to put it down after skimming through each chapter (which took all of an hour!) and haven't cracked it open since. I was very surprised at the amateurish approach taken by Drs. Oz and Roizen (and the publisher!) who have become household names due to their exposure on Oprah and PBS. Most of the info is a rehash of material readily available and fed to us on a daily basis. It was difficult to find the "gems" that would make this a worthwhile investment. Nevertheless, it will reside on my bookshelf albeit unused.

posted by 1571396 on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Looking, Feeling, and Being Beautiful

    If you've read a lot of the other "YOU" books, you're probably thinking what I'm thinking, "When are these guys going to run out of ideas?" Well, they haven't yet, and unlike a lot of sequels, this one's not half bad. <BR/><BR/>So what's the point of this book- to just look beautiful? Well, not exactly. While looking beautiful is definitely covered in the book, the authors want to make it clear that real beauty isn't just "skin deep". As far as they're concerned, there are three "levels" of beauty. They are: <BR/><BR/>-looking beautiful <BR/>-feeling beautiful <BR/>-being beautiful (which is more or less acting/behaving beautiful) <BR/><BR/>The book is really thick and takes its time covering each of these major areas. A little bit about what is covered in each section: <BR/><BR/>-being beautiful: beautifying and caring for your skin, hair, teeth, nails, and feet are discussed here, as well as weight and muscle toning tips. <BR/><BR/>-feeling beautiful: learn how to beat pain, the blues, low energy and debt in this section. (I found the info on accupressure points very interesting) <BR/><BR/>-being beautiful: I felt that this was kind of a "catch-all" section. The major issues addressed here were improving relationships, sex info, and a short discussion about happiness (rec. "Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World" for a more detailed review of happiness). <BR/><BR/>The book ends with an hour-by-hour plan for the "Ultimate Be-YOU-tiful Day". I doubt I could pull this day off very often, but it was a nice way of pulling many of the book's tips together to show you how they can be easily integrated in your daily routine. <BR/><BR/>All-in-all a very enjoyable, and comprehensive book for those looking to improve both their inner and outer beauty. People looking for a beauty book that discusses just outer beauty will likely be disappointed.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    Not So Much...

    I fully expected to eat this book up from beginning to end. Instead, I found the info was poorly presented if not downright klutzy and written in the most condescending "chick lit" tone that I had to put it down after skimming through each chapter (which took all of an hour!) and haven't cracked it open since. I was very surprised at the amateurish approach taken by Drs. Oz and Roizen (and the publisher!) who have become household names due to their exposure on Oprah and PBS. Most of the info is a rehash of material readily available and fed to us on a daily basis. It was difficult to find the "gems" that would make this a worthwhile investment. Nevertheless, it will reside on my bookshelf albeit unused.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Help On The Path to Beauty

    "Most people think that beauty revolves around such things as lipstick, sweet eyes, or skinny jeans--all these things that we can see (and obsess over) in the mirror. But the fact is that beauty isn't some superficial pursuit, and it's not some random act that you can thank (or curse) your ancestors for" -- from inner flap of the book.<BR/><BR/>In "YOU: Being Beautiful" the two doctors attempt a holistic approach to attaining and maintaining beauty in three parts:<BR/><BR/>1. "Looking Beautiful" <BR/>A how to guide for caring for your outer appearance- Skin, Hair, Mouth, Hands, Feet and of course, body shape.<BR/><BR/>2. "Feeling Beautiful" <BR/>This part of the book is divided into chapters discussing:<BR/>- energy levels, and energy crisis resulting from viruses and infections, hormonal imbalances, sleep problems<BR/>- aches and pains -- back pain and its relation to the spine and muscles; types of headaches; female pains; etc.<BR/>- emotional distress<BR/><BR/>3. "Being Beautiful" Finally they get to the core...which is ironically the title of the book. This is the area where perhaps the doctors are stepping beyond their expertise. At the core of all the science of beauty, the doctors agree, that LOVE is the source of beauty. They get into the biology of attraction, sex, etc. They have come up with six "paths" to happiness which include:<BR/>1) being positive and generous<BR/>2) feeling empathy<BR/>3) finding authenticity<BR/>4) embracing emotion<BR/>5) exploring spirituality<BR/>6) understanding unhappiness<BR/><BR/>The authors write: "To feel good about yourself because you have a strong self-esteem and a healthy, energetic existence that allows you to appreciate the subtle beauty of day-to-day life and because you know your purpose in life--and to show off that purpose by helping others do the same."<BR/><BR/>Don't expect this book to be some kind of breakthrough, instead it's like many of their other books; well organized and provides an easy to follow approach to understanding the concept of health. I'm giving it three stars because I think does a good overall job to cover a lot of topics, but is somewhat shallow when it attempts to penetrate deeper, less superficial issues about "Love." Even so, there are many other good books about the path to body esteem, finding the right mate, etc. that pick up the slack. I think ultimately, some people will be left let down that the book doesn't live up to the hype, but if you're more realistic and are familiar with the two docs books, you'll probably find some value in this book.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Feeling beautiful already

    'm a fan of the authors and have read all of their books. What I enjoyed most about You: Being Beautiful is that it targets beauty from three essential angles. They show you how to look beautiful, feel beautiful, and even BE beautiful. As you might expect, they offer a ton of test and tips to help you work on all your beauty areas from your hair, to your skin, your teeth, and so on.<BR/><BR/>They also take the time to consider beauty as a mental element of a person, both from the pyschological image you have of yourself to keeping stress down and other things in life that are as harmful to your mind as they are to your body. It's a holistic approach that really does leave you feeling as beautiful as you are bound to look after following their tips!<BR/><BR/>Another book I strongly recommend because I've enjoyed it immensely and have made some major changes since reading it (a healthy mind is a beautiful mind) is The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Just Plain Awful

    I rarely get rid of a book without having completed it, and I even more rarely review books, but this one was just that bad. I can't even tell you how many contradictory statements I found in just one chapter of this book. Retinoids are the only thing that will help get rid of stretch marks. Just kidding, there's nothing you can do about stretch marks and retinoids are dangerous to your health. Want to find a good face cream? We recommend vitamins A and E, which should be present in the quantity of 1%-10% to be effective. We recommend Dr. Perry's NightCream. Well guess what folks? Dr. Perry's NightCream consists of 0.1% Vitamin A, and isn't even evaluated by the FDA. Furthermore, in the next chapter, these authors claim that balding is influenced by both parents. Please tell me how these two men did not learn in medical school that male pattern blading is a X linked trait, as in only your mother can pass down the trait to you. I beg of you all, search elsewhere for advice on beauty.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book !!!!!

    It helped me feel beautiful after breast Cancer!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Oh, never mind. &lt;sigh&gt;

    Seeking a good portal into the melding of alternative and allopathic medicine in reference to person image? This book is not it. I need to know how the authors intended this book to be used by the reader, as I found the book to be singularly insulting to my intelligence. The large type and large margins indicate to me that the authors acknowledged the lack of content and were compensating for that fact. I give this book a grade of D-. It's not even good enough at being bad to earn the resounding thud of a failing grade.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Vey good book!!

    This book is very uplifting!! A very good read!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Looking, Feeling, and Being Beautiful

    More than half of the review posted by "Anonymous" with the title "Help On The Path to Beauty" was plagiarized from my review below. I originally posted it on Amazon.com on Nov. 11. There is nothing wrong with my review. The other review should be removed.<BR/><BR/>"Most people think that beauty revolves around such things as lipstick, sweet eyes, or skinny jeans--all these things that we can see (and obsess over) in the mirror. But the fact is that beauty isn't some superficial pursuit, and it's not some random act that you can thank (or curse) your ancestors for" -- from inner flap of the book. <BR/><BR/>In "YOU: Being Beautiful" the two doctors discuss "the scientific standards to beauty." They divide them into three levels of beauty: <BR/><BR/>1. Looking Beautiful. The manes says it all - the authors tell you what to do to look the way you want. That includes: <BR/>- taking care of your skin -- how to keep it young and smooth, how to protect it, what to do with acne, eczema, etc. <BR/>- taking care of your hair -- proper hair care, hair abuse, hair loss, etc. <BR/>- taking care of your mouth -- lips, teeth, gums, bad breath, and more... <BR/>- taking care of your hands, feet, nails... <BR/>- assuring the proper body shape. (They devoted one of their previous books, "YOU on a diet," to that subject. ) <BR/><BR/>2. Feeling Beautiful. This part of the book is divided into chapters discussing: <BR/><BR/>- energy levels, and energy crisis resulting from viruses and infections, hormonal imbalances, sleep problems <BR/>- aches and pains -- back pain and its relation to the spine and muscles; headache (migraine headache, tension headache, cluster headache); female pains; etc. <BR/>- emotional distress <BR/><BR/>3. Being Beautiful. Love is the biggest beauty boost! We need emotional connection with other people to fill happy. Beauty is the reflection of happiness. The doctors discuss the biology of attraction and love, and the biology of sex life in men and women. They name and talk about the Six Paths to Happiness: <BR/><BR/>- being positive and generous <BR/>- feeling empathy <BR/>- finding authenticity <BR/>- embracing emotion <BR/>- exploring spirituality <BR/>- understanding unhappiness <BR/><BR/>The book ends with "The Be-YOU-tiful Plan for Living the Ultimate Beautiful Day" and other strategies for becoming beautiful. <BR/><BR/>I think this book is on the level of the authors previous book "You: Staying Young" which in my opinion is good enough for four stars. However, I think that some ideas (taking care of spine; obesity; internal body hygiene) are better explained in "Can We Live 150 -- Your Body Maintenance Handbook", which I highly recommend as an addition to this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5