Customer Reviews for

You Can Heal Your Life

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

The Psychological Side of Healing

This book is all about using your thoughts to fix the problems in your life. What kind of problems? Well, the book looks into healing life areas such as relationships, work, success, prosperity, and your body. But wait a minute, did I say the book is using thoughts to h...
This book is all about using your thoughts to fix the problems in your life. What kind of problems? Well, the book looks into healing life areas such as relationships, work, success, prosperity, and your body. But wait a minute, did I say the book is using thoughts to heal your body? What's up with that? Is that even possible?...Well, after reading this book, I think in many cases, yes, it is possible. While I think it is the way to go to treat things such as an acute appendicitis with surgery, fractures with a cast, and pneumonia with antibiotics, there are many conditions where conventional medicine blatently falls short. Of course I'm talking about health problems such as migraines, backaches, or stomach ulcers- you know, those kinds of nagging disorders where we all know that stress/mental processes DO play a role. But while few would argue that psychological factors can cause an ulcer, what about more serious conditions such as, say, arthritis?...Well it may not be too far fetched. Consider this. One study of 1,198 subjects found that only 56% of men with SEVERE knee arthritis had any pain (Lawrence 1966). Another study X-rayed 84 seventy-nine year-olds and 76 eighty-five year-olds and found that only 43% of them with SEVERE knee arthritis had any pain complaints (Bagge 1991). There are plenty more examples in the scientific literature, but obviously there two alone show us that there is NO clear-cut association between severe knee arthritis and pain...ON THE OTHER HAND, when one looks at the relationship between psychological variables and knee arthritis, one does see a clear association. For instance, one study looked at 65 patients (ages 55 to 87) with hip and/or knee arthritis. X-rays, pain, depression levels, anxiety levels, coping styles, and functional impairment were all assessed. The findings? Researchers discovered that the severity of one's arthritis showed little relationship to pain, BUT, psychological variables were strong predictors of who had pain and how impaired they were (Summers 1988)...Along the same lines, Salaffi examined 61 women (ages 51-79) with knee arthritis. Here again, results showed that how disabled someone was, was more related to psychological variables than how bad their knee looked on an X-ray film. Interestingly, both anxiety and depression WERE important predictors of pain (Salaffi 1991). Anyone conducting a literature review on Medline will find more such examples IF you're looking for them. While I used knee arthritis as an example, there are MANY more studies on other health problems with similar findings...All of this should be causing us to raise an eyebrow. The literature is telling us that it is far from being clear cut that things like bad knee arthritis ALWAYS mean pain. And the research is also giving us clues that the mind definitely plays a role. So the question now becomes, if bad thought patterns can play a role in health problems such as arthritis, why not in other diseases such as cancer, as the book suggests?...You be the judge. I found that the main value in this book was getting me to look at how our thinking does influence the functioning of our bodies- as well as our life in general. Note I'm NOT saying that you can think yourself well all the time either. Remember that while Louise Hay did change her thought patterns and was cured of cancer, she has also written that she used other alternative treatments as well, such as foot reflexology and colon therapy (Chapter 16).

posted by 273883 on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not for me

I have heard wonderful things about Louise L. Hay but when I got to the part about how... paraphrasing... we cause our illnesses... tell that to a child with cancer. I believe in things we can control but there are somethings in life that are not within ones control. ...
I have heard wonderful things about Louise L. Hay but when I got to the part about how... paraphrasing... we cause our illnesses... tell that to a child with cancer. I believe in things we can control but there are somethings in life that are not within ones control.

posted by 8251816 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Psychological Side of Healing

    This book is all about using your thoughts to fix the problems in your life. What kind of problems? Well, the book looks into healing life areas such as relationships, work, success, prosperity, and your body. But wait a minute, did I say the book is using thoughts to heal your body? What's up with that? Is that even possible?...Well, after reading this book, I think in many cases, yes, it is possible. While I think it is the way to go to treat things such as an acute appendicitis with surgery, fractures with a cast, and pneumonia with antibiotics, there are many conditions where conventional medicine blatently falls short. Of course I'm talking about health problems such as migraines, backaches, or stomach ulcers- you know, those kinds of nagging disorders where we all know that stress/mental processes DO play a role. But while few would argue that psychological factors can cause an ulcer, what about more serious conditions such as, say, arthritis?...Well it may not be too far fetched. Consider this. One study of 1,198 subjects found that only 56% of men with SEVERE knee arthritis had any pain (Lawrence 1966). Another study X-rayed 84 seventy-nine year-olds and 76 eighty-five year-olds and found that only 43% of them with SEVERE knee arthritis had any pain complaints (Bagge 1991). There are plenty more examples in the scientific literature, but obviously there two alone show us that there is NO clear-cut association between severe knee arthritis and pain...ON THE OTHER HAND, when one looks at the relationship between psychological variables and knee arthritis, one does see a clear association. For instance, one study looked at 65 patients (ages 55 to 87) with hip and/or knee arthritis. X-rays, pain, depression levels, anxiety levels, coping styles, and functional impairment were all assessed. The findings? Researchers discovered that the severity of one's arthritis showed little relationship to pain, BUT, psychological variables were strong predictors of who had pain and how impaired they were (Summers 1988)...Along the same lines, Salaffi examined 61 women (ages 51-79) with knee arthritis. Here again, results showed that how disabled someone was, was more related to psychological variables than how bad their knee looked on an X-ray film. Interestingly, both anxiety and depression WERE important predictors of pain (Salaffi 1991). Anyone conducting a literature review on Medline will find more such examples IF you're looking for them. While I used knee arthritis as an example, there are MANY more studies on other health problems with similar findings...All of this should be causing us to raise an eyebrow. The literature is telling us that it is far from being clear cut that things like bad knee arthritis ALWAYS mean pain. And the research is also giving us clues that the mind definitely plays a role. So the question now becomes, if bad thought patterns can play a role in health problems such as arthritis, why not in other diseases such as cancer, as the book suggests?...You be the judge. I found that the main value in this book was getting me to look at how our thinking does influence the functioning of our bodies- as well as our life in general. Note I'm NOT saying that you can think yourself well all the time either. Remember that while Louise Hay did change her thought patterns and was cured of cancer, she has also written that she used other alternative treatments as well, such as foot reflexology and colon therapy (Chapter 16).

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    If you're experiencing pain or heartache of any kind in your life -- this is one of the most important books you'll ever read

    I first found this book when it was first published. I was relatively young back then and was struggling with depression, the loss of a parent, a gloomy career outlook, and an extremely low sense of self worth. This book gave me the sense of peace and hope that I was reaching for. Just this past January (2010), I repurchased this book looking for help with a whole different set of problems for a whole new time in my life (I'm well into my 40s now). I'd remembered it helped before -- but I couldn't remember why or how.

    Then I read this book again, and now I recall its utter beauty. Louise Hay is one of the wisest women on the planet. This book offers techniques that can truly heal whatever problem you're facing ... but you can't just treat it as a book. You must take the message to heart. When you do, amazing things happen in your life. You'll get a sense of peace ... a sense of hope ... a sense of happiness that's beyond what you think is even possible.

    This book is FAR better than pscyhotherapy I've ever participated in. It's truly one book that has changed my life.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    First Lady of the Healing Arts

    Louise is the first lady of the healing arts and hers was one of the first book I ever saw on the subject. It totally changed the way I thought about healing and led to my writing my own book, some 12 years later. You Can Heal Your Life is a classic book, one that should be on every shelf. It contains methods of healing, affirmations, and the reasons why many of us become ill. You will learn how illness has an emotional connection and how by altering your life actions, you can also change your illness into a path of wellness. My favorite section is chapter 15, which contains 'the list.' In this newly revised version, the list of ailments and likely emotional connections is separated into colorful columns which make it easier to read. This version is beautifully decorated with pastel flowers, hearts, and other beautiful details. A great book to leave out on a table for others to browse. The 'turtle back' cover, which is strong like plastic, but soft to the touch like a paper cover, will survive years of wear and tear. Of course, the book contains many exercises and processes to help the reader better understand themselves and in the process, heal and revive not just their bodies, but their lives. My sincerest gratitude goes out to Louise and her work which has opened the door for so many of us to follow.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    It saves my life

    My sister gave me this book in Chinese in 2006. I did not read it until I was diagnosed with melanoma. During and after the medical treatment, it helps me through the critical time. Last month, both my surgical and medical oncologist had announce me I am 100% cured. Thanks to Louis Hay. She helped me transformed from a bitter, battered woman, to a happy, loving person.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    Be open to a higher way of thinking!

    Awesome Book!Disregard the ignorance of the 'one star' reader!This book is SIMPLE (why does that scare someone???)but you hve to agree to be open to another way of thinking - Information from higher planes consistently tell us that we 'agree' to our lives whether it be to wear glasses so you won't see the world in such a sharp way (I have worn glasses since I was 7 and couldn't agree more), that holding in regrets and hate absolutely can cause cancer and all other diseases, that holding positive thoughts CAN CURE them along with any other thing that isn't balanced in your life. Do yourself a favor, help to heal yourself. No it isn't magic, but it is easy and something every person was born with. If you're life isn't as good as you want it to be, follow the steps in this book and CHANGE it. No one else can!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Self growth

    I think this book is an excellent piece for self growth that I have got it for my 2 dear friends whom I am sure will appreciate it. As I am going through a difficult time from a broken marriage it has made me a stronger person with positive thoughts and energy. I found answers and I have eliminated the bitterness I was carrying within me and forgiven the people who had caused me pain.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    The start of my Healing..

    Everyone in the Universe should read this. I keep it handy for just picking up & reading a page or two. I read this at a time when I was very sad. My long term relationship had ended. Reading You Can Heal Your Life was the very beginning of my seeing things differently. You can too!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    You Really Can Heal Your Life!

    Love the book. The author gives you new perspective on how to look at things and how to make a positive change in your life. I would recommend this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    If you want to change your life read this book.

    This is the best book I have ever read.Everything she writes about hits home.There is something there for everyone of different ages. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Shed the negativity

    So very interesting. Easy reading. Simple methodical rules. You can heal your life at least enough to think about doing so if you read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    By Far the Best Self Help Book I've Read!

    Wow! This book is just nothing short of amazing. For the longest time I didn't read it because of the title. It is amazing. No matter what is wrong in your life, with this book you can heal it. This book taught me how to love my self exactly as I'am. Thank you Louise for helping me to show myself as I'am. Reading this was definatly a big turning point in my life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eye Opening Book For Healing

    This book will change your life. Even if you think there's not much to heal in Your life, there is always something you can work on to make you feel better and make the most of this life.<BR/>Recommended reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    A Truly Wonderful Book

    This book is a must have for anyone dealing with anxiety or depression. I think the pictures alone (hardcover edition) can change one's mood dramatically. It is beautifully illustrated. Louise Haye's indepth views on emotions is very intriguing. She also shares some of her own personal struggles. Buy it for someone you love who needs a lift.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    A must read for everyone!

    This is a treasure book that any person desiring love,peace,happiness and success in his life, must read and apply the valuable info contained in it. It is really a great self healing Book and the positive affirmations are an assured way of metamorphosing our lives. Thanks Louise:):)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2001

    Impressive

    Best self-help book I've read in a long time! Atta girl Louise!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    This book hands back control to the individual, something that I

    This book hands back control to the individual, something that I believe is critical in terms of healing and other activities in a person's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    <>

    <>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Hush

    *she buries her face in his neck.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Hush

    *she collapses onto the bed, tears pouring down her cheeks.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Hush

    *Hush sighs gently, grabbing a towel as she steps in to take a shower. She unclothes, stepping in. She kindof sits against the wall for a while, thinking. She then begins to wash, taking care to gently wash around her stomach and waist, which was quite xramped, but still smooth and flat. Once finished washing up, she steps out, dries off and wraps the towel aeound herself, stopping the water. She wraps another towel around her hair before stepping out, stealing one of Zack's shirts to put on. She pulls on a pair od red panties, with lacw and a bow, before pulling on the shirt, her perky nipples showing sloghtly though the shirt.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6