Customer Reviews for

You Can Run but You Can't Hide

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

review

I watch Dog the Bonty hunter on A&E and I like his show. This book should be good for everyone.

posted by Hawks1800 on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

nothig new

We watch The Bounty Hunter on TV, so we were not surprised by much in this book. It seems to run true to the personaluty of the characters we see in action. At first, I did not like Duane as he discloses his sexual biker stories, but reality is exposed throughout this b...
We watch The Bounty Hunter on TV, so we were not surprised by much in this book. It seems to run true to the personaluty of the characters we see in action. At first, I did not like Duane as he discloses his sexual biker stories, but reality is exposed throughout this book.

The book and the reality show are consistent. I hope Dog, Beth, and the others depicted are as religious as portrayed. If so, this book could be inspriational.

Easy to read.

posted by bookclubmember on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    review

    I watch Dog the Bonty hunter on A&E and I like his show. This book should be good for everyone.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Very interesting book

    I loved this book, I have always wondered what gave dog the ambition to get into bounty hunting. Very interesting story about his life and the circumstances that led him into bounty hunting. The book also tells about his family, how many kids he has and also how him and Beth got together. And wow what a life he has led so far!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    I Love This Book

    I Love This Book ! Everyone Should Read It It's One Of Those Books U Can't Put Down ! Especially During The Andrew Luster Part ! God Bless Dog

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    im the biggest dog fan

    I have allways been a dog fan since the first time I watched his show,he has shown that you can make mistakes pick up your life and start over again. I want and e to bring his show back. I know him making the racial remark was wrong but if you go out in public you will hear people saing that word to each other aLL THE TIME long live the dog and good luck in the future.I would like to see beth write a book too

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Very inspirational

    The book was great! I was inspired and suprised at the same time. This book will keep you engaged to the point that you will lose sleep.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dog the bounty hunter-You can run but you can't hide. :)

    If it wasn't for him or the book or other things. I have no clue where I would be know. I was most def on the wrong path. I'm still working on it. But I pretty much figured everything about him off of his t.v. show. But I loved reading his book. His intenst times,hard time,and most def his change in his life. If he can change his live so can every one else. This has made me relize that the biggest and tuffest looking people are sometimes the softest people. Do not judge people by how big their muscle are's :). Not only have learned from him,but I also learned alot things off a t.v. shows like that. I really want to pursue career in criminal justice, but I haven't chosen one. But I want to read his next book, where mercy is shown, mercy is given. I'm 17. I've done alot of things,and seen. But I have learned a lot from him,and other shows. I didn't get this book off of here. But I'm glad I got it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dog Chapman- The Fall,Rebirth, and the Life of the Bounty Hunter

    What can happen to someone that has a goal and strives to achieve, even though there were pitfalls that he caused by the way he lived his early life. I think that this is a book that sould be required for yound readers who are a threat to follow this type of path.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    POWERFUL TESTIMONY - HOW AWESOME LIFE CAN BE WHEN YOU REFUSE TO GIVE UP!

    Duane "Dog" Chapman is one hell of a man. Seriously. He's been to hell and back -- and more than once. From a prison cell for murder to drug addiction to the theft of his business and then the threat of more prison time (this time for something totally unjust that happened in Mexico), this is a guy who learned that he had a destiny... and refused to let anyone steal it from him. Beyond this, I can't let myself ruin this book for you. <BR/><BR/>In my lifetime (and as a writer), I've read hundreds of books, and only a select few have left such a profound mark on me. There's so much junk out there in print. This book -- this living testimony -- is actually worth your time, and you do yourself a disservice if you blow it off. You can't possibly be the same after reading it. It's not only an eye-opener -- it's a soul-opener. <BR/><BR/>I will say this: The Dog is that perfect example of where perseverence and faith will lead you, once you grab hold of them. He is a real example of how our Creator intended us to be -- loving stewards to the unlovable. He is honest, real, and not afraid to be human. This backward, wretched world needs more men like the Dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    awesome

    You can run but you can't hide is the best book I EVER read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book in 2 days! It was great! I too thought I knew this man, I knew nothing until I read his story. What a complete turn around he made in his life. This book is candid & honest. I found his faith inspiring to me. This book really spoke to me. He & Beth both struggled but they changed their lives. I like it when he says 'we are second chance people.' Everyone deserves one-look how this man made the most of his. I also liked how he is unafraid to talk about his faith. God bless the Chapman family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    READ THIS

    I usually dont have time to read......but I actually sat down and read this book from beginnig to end...You just cant put it down till you finish it. Awesome book!!!!!! I love the dog.....got my copy autographed at a book signing....talked with him and Beth....they are great people. Love ya Dog ........god has a plan for us all......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    LOVED IT!

    I didn't know anything about Duane 'Dog' Chapman before I read this book--I just thought it looked interesting, and boy, was it ever! I couldn't put it down, and finished it in two nights! I felt inspired by how he changed his life around for the better, and truly believe in his cause! I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I couldn't put this book down. It only took me 2 days to read it. Being in a l2 step program myself, I admire Dog's honesty and determination to do whatever it takes to walk the right path of life. I love the TV show and the book verifies everything he says and does is true.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Great Read

    this book is the best in the world. i was a convict and i did not know how to read before this book. i love dogs ssssstuggle in life and the inspiring story that he tells helps me through the hard times in the streets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    Honest and Insightful

    I have to admit I was a little skeptical of reading a book by Dog the Bounty Hunter. However, I took a chance and it exceeded my expectations. Dog's book was extremely honest without being over the top. Dog has made many mistakes in his life, but his journey back to the right side of the law despite an abusive father, gang affiliations, drug use, a murder conviction, and a host of other tradgedies and injustices while still clinging to his faith was a story I could not turn away from. If you watch his TV show, Dog doesn't always look like the sharpest tool in the shed, but after reading his book, I can tell he poured his heart and his soul into every page. The book is about 320 pages long, but the short chapters help keep things moving along. I finished this book in a week, but if life hadn't gotten in the way, I probably could have finished it in a day. I was very impressed and recommend this book to anyone. It's a definite 'must read'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    THIS DOG HUNTS AND SO DOES HIS BOOK!!!!

    just great reading!! could not put it down..make sure you have nothing urgent to do as you will stay up until the wee hours of the morning..thanks Dog and Beth..love love love this book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    Highly recommended! An inspiration for all.

    This is one of the best non fictional books I have ever read. Duane 'Dog' Chapman is an inspiration to anyone who wants to turn their life around. When I finished his book I felt like I knew him and his lovely family on a personal level. He is a hero and the world's greatest bounty hunter! God Bless him and his cause.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Just finished "You can Run, but You Can't Hide" and &q

    Just finished &quot;You can Run, but You Can't Hide&quot; and &quot;Where Mercy is Shown, Mercy is Given&quot;. Both books on the life of Duane &quot;Dog&quot; Chapman. For those unfamiliar, Dog is a bounty hunter, with bases in Denver and Hawaii. He also has a reality TV show where the cameras follow his &quot;family&quot; on the &quot;hunt&quot;. A &amp; E carried the first six seasons and now CMT has picked them up. Both books were fantastic, rather you have seen the shows or not. Really made me appreciate his life and what he does for a living. He and his wife are catalysts in pushing for regulation for the industry, which I believe it needs. Great books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    To dog

    Alowha. U have the best telivushin show dog and i just want to say wach u evry morning and that u have imspired me to never give up and beth to u r my fav. So is baby lisa and lilen i love it whan u cach the people it gives me and my dad an adridalin rush and u have the best tv show out there way beter than all rhe other bounty hunter shows that try to copy u and what ever u do dont give up "FAILER IS NOT AN OPTION!!!!"- Burntt middle school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Leland chapman dog collar

    Leland chapmans dog collar reads leland chapman 707 downing st richland wa 99352

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3