Customer Reviews for

You Cannot Be Serious

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    An Inside Look At The Lives And Triumphs Of The Greatest Tennis Players Of All Time

    This book was a most enjoyable read and it does lend some insight into what was going on behind the 'Superbrat' outbursts. John's description of the 80's players eg.Connors, Gerulaitis, Borg and Agassi is extremely informative. His account of his feelings and respect for Borg although admirable are not completely candid. Borg's wife Marianna Simeonesku was diagnosed and treated for cancer the year that Borg lost his Wimbledon title. Although Mac gives us many, many details of the personal situations that were behind the triumphs and losses of the key players of the tennis circuit at that time, he somehow omitted that 'small' detail. Overall, however, it was a good read and strongly addressed the super star standard of 80's tennis, which has never been repeated. I would give it 8 out of 10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Mac tells all

    McEnroe takes you on a chronilogical tour of his career starting from childhood all the way to the early 2000's. I would definitely recommend this book for someone who is a lover of tennis, especially tennis from the 70's and 80's. Even without knowing about a lot about his competitors, I still enjoyed the dialogue and Mac's opinions of some of his older matches. He certainly wasn't afraid to let the reader know exactly what he felt about refs, calls, and his opponents. The story of his 'Hollywood' life during his tennis career was also a very enjoyable read. He takes you through the story with his two wives, his kids, and his parties and activites with celebrities. He also talks briefly of some of his other career endeavors including his art gallery and his dream of having his own band and being a famous musician. The only thing I thought he should have talked more about was some of his more recent activities. The last 5 years or so seemed to be quick even though a lot had happened. Besides the missing detail there, the book was a good read. Even without being a huge tennis fan, I enjoyed the book. I imagine that a real tennis fan would love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    The Call Stands

    Being a tennis fanatic, Mcenroe managed to capture more than a little of my admiration. That is, until he tried to write a book. I managed to save up the 25 dollars or however much it was to buy this atrocite, and see now that the 5 dollar price tag it has at barnes and noble is a little more appropriate. Although, it should simply be sent back to author where he can bask in his self glory and satisfaction. No where in the book did I sense any point at which he actually grew as a person or learned anything, other than that his whining childish charm will buy him what he wants and needs, which is attention. Now Im not talking about his confrontations with line judges and fellow players. I agree that what he contributed in that aspect was healthy for tennis and it's audience. The most annoying aspect of his story telling is his tone as he speaks of his childhood at times. He seems to be asking for sympathy for some of these events, and continues to whine throughout the book about whatever trivial problem he decides to drown the reader with. Yes, maybe he was a boy who came from new york instead of britain, but he wasn't alone, and he was still sheltered in the best tennis facilities money could buy under the best coaches. If I had the time I would write him and demand payment for sitting through and listening to all of his pointless, lymphatic problems and self promotion. Be sure to be on the look-out for the next tennis tradgety, Andy Roddick's autobiography, more spoiled childish ranting about how great they are and how hard it is to be them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Great story told by the Greatest Player I ever saw

    McEnroe is the best player I have ever seen. Much more well-rounded than Sampras. Peter Fleming was right, the geatest Doubles team is McEnroe and anybody. The guy could do it all. He is honest, candid and straightforward in this book. You get all the opinionated commentary you have come to expect from Johnny Mac. The book takes you inside his head and the demons he fought even as he was conquering the world. I was always a big fan, but now I am an even bigger admirer of Mac. As Nicholson said, 'Don't change Johnny Mac.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    You cannot be serious

    Hello, I am a 9th grader i highschool andi recently had to read a biography for my class. I hear a little about the book from my parents and i decided to read it. This is a really good book about Macenroe. He not ony tells about his tennis career but also about his family and some of his childhood. I would recomend this to any tennis player or tennis fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    MACnificent

    Extraordinary journey of one of the greatests tennis players ever told in a fun, soft and interesting way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    Mac is the Man

    I enjoyed this book, but it was not a book I could not put down. Mac took me through his various matches and 'how great' he was. It would have been nice to see more of the family-man side... today's Mac. It's evident he was and still is a true competitor, not necessarily all about the money either. He also was able to talk about his competitors positives to go along with the negatives. I'd recommend this book to someone else, but plan on a re-cap of some long forgotten tennis players from the 70's and 80's. It's better than a typical 'jock book'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    Unlike his tennis this was boring

    I know it is a biography but it is only about him and he has a million reasons why he lost or missbehaved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    GET A LIFE MAC

    BASICALLY I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED THE BOOK DRAGGED ON FROM ONE TENNIS MATCH TO OTHER. READERS ARE LOOKING FOR THE INSIDE SCOOP OF MAC'S LIFE. BASICALLY HE HAD SOME HIGH SPERM COUNT AND THANFULLY HE MADE THE $(MONEY) TO RAISE HIS BREW OF 8 KEEP TO TENNIS/COMMENTARY NOT TO WRITNG..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2002

    It's no grand slam...

    If you're expecting a biography along the lines of Lance Armstrong's, It's Not About the Bike, you're going to be disappointed. John Mac's new book drags from one match to another. It falls a game or two short as it offers only a glimpse into the life behind the sets. When things get interesting, such as when Mac describes his relationship with Borg, the chapter ends or John goes on to describe a match point-by-point. I give John credit for opening his front door to the public. I only wish he had invited us beyond the living room.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    This book will crack you up!

    I love reading laugh out loud books. This one is especially great because it's non-fiction. Another laugh out loud book is In-Law Drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    Really......Be Serious

    I've been a tennis fan for quite some time and no one has stimulated me more than John McEnroe. Okay, so Andy Roddick is a bit of a looker and we see so much of Johnny Mac in his personality, but Mac was the original Super Brat. John really tells it like it is and you have to respect him for that. Behind all the anger and frustration there was a man who was very lonely and until you read this book you would never have known it. You would have gone along thinking the same old thing about him, 'Who does he think he is acting the way he does?' But really, John was the ultimate then, and he still continues to be today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2002

    The Truth

    The printed page provides McEnroe the appropriate forum to open up and reveal his true self. The jury is still out on whether or not Johnny Mac can open up more consistently in public. Mac is still known to scowl and have periodic blowups during Senior Tour matches, so he may not be as far along in eliminating his inner demons as he leads us to believe in the pages of his new tell all. The true tennis fan will appreciate the behind the scenes insights of Mac's greatest triumphs and of his most notable meltdowns. Yes, Mac did drink, smoke pot and he most likely cheated on Tatum, but he was also one of the greatest tennis players of all time. That fact that Johnny Mac is willing to expose himself indicates that he is trending in the right direction. Advantage McEnroe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1