Customer Reviews for

You Don't Need a Title To Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Great Start but fizzles later on.

    I think the first couple of chapters were a great introduction to the book, and involved me in the character's development, as well as giving the reader a good background of the author's reason to write this book. However, the following chapters take a long time to develop and I felt that even after I could figure out where he was going, it took several more dragged on pages to reach the same conclusion. The additional characters that appear as the book goes on, are not as compelling as the initial characters. Overall the message the book sends can help individuals find their inner-strength, I just felt it became a bit preachy and long winded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Anyone can be a leader!

    This is one of the best leadership books I have found. I have bought multiple copies of this book for the leaders in my company. We are even creating a book club to discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seeing leadership another way...

    It was a nice refresher on what leadership is and how to strive to be and continue to be a good leader. Easy read and straightforward. Excellent book to choose for a book guide project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Power with People

    This is not a management book. Do not read this book if you want to learn to manage. Read this book and read it again if you want to learn how to lead. The heart of this book in my view is Sanborn's contention that leadership is not power over people but power with people. Managers too often default to the 'because I'm the boss of you' rationale when dictating the actions they want their employees to take. That's power over people. Leaders, on the other hand, create a vision that inspires, rather than dictates, action. That's power with people. What I got from this short but powerful book is yes, learn to manage, that will make you competent but learn to lead, that will make you great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    Platitudes and pet peeves

    This is one of the worst books I ever read, and the worst management book I ever read. There are anecdotes of Sanborn's pet peeves of bad service from sales employees who won't take initiative. Then there are anecdotes of people who gave up hope for getting paid to do what they were asked, and took on responsibility for no money and yet were able to find true happiness. This book contains every slavedriver empoyer's dream message. Anyone who has shut their door and worked quietly as Sanborn recommends knows that is only part of the job. If no one sees you do it, or likes you while you do it, you haven't done what you need to do to succeed at work. A better selection is 'Pitch Like a Girl' by Ronna Lichtenberg. Ronna's book explains different styles of work - for men and women - and gives concrete help for recognizing, understanding, and adapting to those styles and get results while working on teams with members with different styles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Exceptional - A must read!

    I picked up the book today and read it in less than an hour. The book is wonderful and insightful. This books is truly inspirational and uplifting and for anyone thinking of running a corporation or just looking for a job, read this book, because you should be and want to become a leader in whatever career choice you choose or whatever talents you volunteer. By become LIONs and becoming the BEST version of ourselves, we move ourselves and those around us to do GREAT things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Authentic Leadership is Born Out of Character

    Mark Sanborn has delivered a simple, transforming message that is applicable to all facets of life regardless of age, rank, title, or position. The principles of self-mastery, focus, power with people, persuasive communication, execution, and giving are not strategies to be selfishly employed but character traits that come from within. These principles are similar to things you would teach your kids. Sanborn tell us that true leadership is ¿an invitation to greatness that we extend to others.¿ He later shares that giving, service, and humility are the marks of genuine leadership. This book is not for those looking for a slick new way to win friends and influence others. Instead, Mark Sanborn paints a succinct picture of a leader who understands that life is not all about themselves and that authentic leadership is born out of character. Thank you, Mark, for another great work. This is a quick read, worthwhile read about the character traits behind true leadership.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1