Customer Reviews for

You Have Seven Messages

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Best book in a long time

I love all the mystery and romance and suspence. Kind of like a burrito

posted by Anonymous on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A solid plot that touches on many teenage issues

Luna is a teenager who lives in Manhattan. She has the world at her fingertips, and has some serious dislikes when it comes to snooty girls who, frankly, give her a headache. She's not into the 'tweenish' stuff like make-up and boys, she is actually quite a loner. Luna ...
Luna is a teenager who lives in Manhattan. She has the world at her fingertips, and has some serious dislikes when it comes to snooty girls who, frankly, give her a headache. She's not into the 'tweenish' stuff like make-up and boys, she is actually quite a loner. Luna loves her little brother and her big-time movie director father, but the one thing that is hurting her more than life is how much she misses her mom. Luna's mom was a stunning model turned writer, who was also a great friend. Unfortunately, her mother stepped off a curb one evening and was hit by a car, and Luna can barely deal with the world. She loves her Dad, however, and wants him to be able to date and find a way to have a life, and doesn't get mad when he begins a relationship with a quiet, unassuming teacher. What Luna does do is she heads to her mother's studio to clean the place up; spend some time in the location where her mother loved to be as she did her writing and spoke with all her ex-model friends. What Luna finds, however, is something she was definitely not searching for - her mother's past. There is a cell phone that has seven messages that her mother never heard, and Luna begins to listen to these messages one by one. In her own personal life, Luna is enchanted by the young man she sees across he street. There, in the window, is a handsome young man who is constantly playing his cello, and Luna can't seem to take her eyes off him. When she gathers the courage and meets the cello player named, Oliver, Luna soon finds her heart racing at the speed of light. Oliver, thankfully, isn't like all the other moronic boys; he is a strong, caring person that Luna really begins to care for. He is also the young man who hears all about the seven messages and helps Luna try to figure out her mother's past, the secrets that were buried there, and what really happened the night she died. There are a slew of characters in Luna's life that readers will fall for, and they'll like Luna as well, even though at times she can be a bit snooty herself. The writer has put together somewhat of a mystery, wrapped in a romance, embedded in a girl's struggle to live her life in the aftermath of an accident - discovering secrets that she wished had remained secret. Quill Says: A good YA with a solid plot that touches on many teenage issues.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A solid plot that touches on many teenage issues

    Luna is a teenager who lives in Manhattan. She has the world at her fingertips, and has some serious dislikes when it comes to snooty girls who, frankly, give her a headache. She's not into the 'tweenish' stuff like make-up and boys, she is actually quite a loner. Luna loves her little brother and her big-time movie director father, but the one thing that is hurting her more than life is how much she misses her mom. Luna's mom was a stunning model turned writer, who was also a great friend. Unfortunately, her mother stepped off a curb one evening and was hit by a car, and Luna can barely deal with the world. She loves her Dad, however, and wants him to be able to date and find a way to have a life, and doesn't get mad when he begins a relationship with a quiet, unassuming teacher. What Luna does do is she heads to her mother's studio to clean the place up; spend some time in the location where her mother loved to be as she did her writing and spoke with all her ex-model friends. What Luna finds, however, is something she was definitely not searching for - her mother's past. There is a cell phone that has seven messages that her mother never heard, and Luna begins to listen to these messages one by one. In her own personal life, Luna is enchanted by the young man she sees across he street. There, in the window, is a handsome young man who is constantly playing his cello, and Luna can't seem to take her eyes off him. When she gathers the courage and meets the cello player named, Oliver, Luna soon finds her heart racing at the speed of light. Oliver, thankfully, isn't like all the other moronic boys; he is a strong, caring person that Luna really begins to care for. He is also the young man who hears all about the seven messages and helps Luna try to figure out her mother's past, the secrets that were buried there, and what really happened the night she died. There are a slew of characters in Luna's life that readers will fall for, and they'll like Luna as well, even though at times she can be a bit snooty herself. The writer has put together somewhat of a mystery, wrapped in a romance, embedded in a girl's struggle to live her life in the aftermath of an accident - discovering secrets that she wished had remained secret. Quill Says: A good YA with a solid plot that touches on many teenage issues.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Best book in a long time

    I love all the mystery and romance and suspence. Kind of like a burrito

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Ok

    It was good but the ending wasnt like i thought it would be.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Not as expected

    When I first read the summary, I was intrigued about this book. It reminded me of the movie PS, I love you. When I read this book, I thought the story was cute but the writing was just okay for me. I won't say I'm disappointed in the book but I wouldn't say you HAVE to get this one.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    This is not a chatroom!

    People,please stop using barnes and noble reviews as chatrooms. It just annoys those who are actually interested in the book.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Pages

    304 pagess

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Not Recommended

    I enjoyed the book, but the ending was very anti-climatic. I was very disappointed.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    I loved it!

    I actually started reading this book a few years ago, and didnt really like it at first, but when I stared re-reading it this year, i loved it! Im not sure what changed, but I really really like this book. I would like to hear more about what happened with her and Oliver. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Luna is a sweet girl, someone that tweens will be able to relate

    Luna is a sweet girl, someone that tweens will be able to relate to. She's at that stage where she's turning into a girl and developing an interest in boys (well, one particular boy), but she's awkward and not very confident in herself. It takes searching for the truth of what happened the day her mom died and meeting people who crossed paths with her mom for Luna to come to terms with her identity and what she wants to do with her life. This was all I could glean of her character, however. I feel as though I didn't really get to know Luna in relation to the other characters. Most of the story is filled with internal ruminations and Luna going from one place to another in search of the truth about her mother. There were some characters that I liked in particular: Daria and Tile. Daria is a super-cool model who helps Luna sort out her feelings and gives her the womanly support Luna lacks in her life right now. Tile is the sweetest little brother ever, wise for his years, though he often talks using the cheesiest movie lines ever. It adds to his charm.

    Oftentimes, the dialogue felt forced and poorly written. I had trouble seeing people say some of the lines the way that they do. It didn't feel natural. I also found it odd that Luna would only listen to one of the messages at a time and then spend so much time trying to figure out what happened to her mom. This is a big deal to her, yet she's finding time to take photographs and move on with life at the same time that she's listening to these messages. I know that life goes on, but it's pretty strange to me that Luna is able to do all these things while there are messages waiting for her to listen to them.

    While Luna gets the closure that she needs over her mother's death, she learns that her family wasn't the perfect unit she always thought it was. This is something that we all find out sooner or later--that our parents aren't invincible, that they're human too and make mistakes. I never had to deal with such a big blow as Luna has been dealt with, but it's still a part of life, finding out your parents' flaws and learning how to deal with it and respond to it. It did feel as though the cheating aspect was a bit overdone with what happens with Oliver later, and I found it hard to believe that Luna could forgive so quickly. While Oliver is the romantic interest and spends a lot of time helping Luna with the mystery behind the seven messages, I didn't feel as though I got to know him. What he does to Luna is really uncool, and his explanation seems more like an excuse and is really flaky.

    It wasn't until I started thinking over all this that I rated this a 2 stars. I did enjoy reading this book while I was reading it. However, there are so many little pieces that don't add up at the end. I'd recommend this for pleasure reading if the plot intrigues you, but I wouldn't recommend it for keeps.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Great book

    You should read this!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Ok so heres te deal its a great book in general but it is pretty slow ar the begenning and it needs a little more sparks and OMG DID THAT REALLY JUST HAPPEN just saying : D

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    So-so

    I liked the idea of story. A girl finding out the truth of her mom's life. The girl's mom dies and while she's cleaning her studio she finds her mom has seven unheard messages on her phone. I reall liked how that sounded, but then came the most random romance. Authors, they DOES NOT NEED TO BE ROMANCE IN EVERY BOOK UNLESS IT FITS. I really hate this, I am always finding this in books that do not need it. And the characters don't please me either. The little brother is very unrealistic. Kids are actually pretty smart. I hate how the author portrays him as a younger kid. The writing was a little over the top, but better than I could do. I liked the idea, but not the final result.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Breath taking

    The book just swept me of my feet and open me to a new world with a girl still sufferng from the unexplained death of her mother. As she finds her mother cellphone with seven unread messages she starts to find the answers of her mothers mysterious death. Also while unreaveiling the messages she comes closer to her lifetime crush cello boy named oliver, the boy across the street. She then learned to forgive and understand how to forgive and hold a grudge especially if the person is dead!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Amazing book!!!

    This book is absolutely amazing and well written! It is a great combination of mystery and a little bit of romance! Fantastic book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    this is my favorite book its truely amazing i reccommend it with

    this is my favorite book its truely amazing i reccommend it with any who has had to struggle

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    This book was very poorly written. Nobody had an intelligent con

    This book was very poorly written. Nobody had an intelligent conversation throughout the entire book. I would not recommend it. The romance makes me cringe, she has one word conversations with the boy she likes and yet she loves him. I would NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS BOOK.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Never read it at all

    Please stop using this as a chatroom! It REALLY annoys people

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good

    There's something about finding a book randomly on the shelf, say at a library. And either the cover, title or premise of the story catches your interest, you go in blind, not sure what to expect, having heard nothing about the book.

    That's how I felt with this one. You have a girl who finds her mom's phone at her studio apartment, with her and her little brother and dad dealing with mom's death.

    On the phone, she finds there's seven messages and decides to listen to each, thinking there might be answers to questions concerning her mom.

    While she does investigate if there was more to her mom's death, it was also Luna coming to terms with some things.

    I kind of liked this at first, then by the end of it, I really liked it, my rating changing from 3 to 3.5 so you could say this is a 3.5 and slightly 4. Or both.

    Also, Tile, was adorable in this, you just want to give him a hug, which made his and Luna's sibling relationship even better. Its nice to find a book now and then where the siblings care for one another instead of acting like bitter enemies or something.

    The writing and descriptions of the places, Luna's observations I liked. It just flowed well, or it had to do the slow pace.

    So basically, this was a good quick read, though I took my time with it. The photography part did make me think of another book, Hold Still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Hurtful

    This book is good but it is very strereo typical towards blondes i am blonde and this book really hurt me at times. I have been stereotyped so many times and this did not makeme feel better about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4