Customer Reviews for

The You I Never Knew

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A versatile writer pens a winning contemporary

    Seventeen years ago, Michele Turner fled Crystal City, Montana, vowing never to return. Michele was in the small town for just a few months to live with her father, former Hollywood star Gavin Slade following the death of her mother. She fell under the hypnotic spell of rodeo star Sam McPhee, became pregnant, and wound up in Seattle by herself raising a boy. However, over the years, Michele became a full partner in a successful advertising agency. <P>The only reason she returns to Crystal City is because her father needs a kidney transplant to live and she plans to be the donor. When Michele sees Sam for the first time in all these years, she knows she still loves him. Sam was not ready to settle down then as the rodeo beckoned and has never met his troubled teenage son Cody. Now the retired champion wonders if he chose the wrong path all those years ago. He now realizes he has a second chance to rectify matters. <P> Susan Wiggs is the recipient of numerous awards especially for her fabulous historical romances. Her current tale THE YOU I NEVER KNEW is a powerful contemporary tale that shows the depth of talent this best-selling author has. The story line is filled with angst as the four key charcaters struggle with life, relationships and love. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Not the best Susan Wiggs I've read

    Pretty predictable story overall. I read it quickly, but mostly because there just wasn't much to sink your teeth into. I have read others of hers that were better.

    If you found this at a used bookstore or in a library I'd say go for it. If you purchased it new I'd say skip it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Beautiful! Loved it!

    I don't write a lot of reviews, but I had to on this one. This is a beautiful story. Susan Wiggs is amazing! Don't pass this one by.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Loved

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Couldn't put it down!

    This is one of my favorite Wiggs' books. She develops the characters enough so that you feel you know them and relate to their plights. They all have a secret they are holding back and discovering all of them, while reading a very interesting story keeps you wanting more. And of course, the mystery of each one keeps you guessing. All the characters will endear you to their hearts and have you have you reading on to hopefully find that at the end, happiness will reign.
    It's not so different from other romantic novels, but does not focus on sex alone. There is storyline, a different type of setting, characters and enough sexual description but it's not overdone or repetitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Wonderful well written love story!

    This was the second book I have read by Susan Wiggs and my only problem with the book was it ended. It was a well written story about a love that really has never died. I read this book in 2 days. It was very hard to put the book down. Susan did a great job and developing the charatures and making you feel like you knew each person in the story. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The You I Never Knew *AMAZING BOOK*

    This book was absolutely amazing! I read it in less than a day. I could not put it down, went to bed late and woke up early to read it. Anyone having a "love of your life" that you will never forget will appreciate and love this book.
    Michelle Turner goes back to the Montana town she grew up in to save her father she barely knows with a kidney transplant. The first night she is in town, she literally runs into her first love.
    Michelle has a huge secret! She was pregnant with their child when she left Montana, and now their 16 year old son is standing in front of Sam.
    It doesn't take Sam long to put two an two together.
    Their past is filled with a lot of regrets and pain. On top of all their pain, they both have difficult past with their parents.
    The story takes twist and turns and their love explodes across the pages and makes you crave more. It is touching, endearing and a tear jerker.
    I really wished it had more at the ending, I wanted more, but I understand the story had to end sometime.
    I really loved this book and gave it the highest ratings I have ever given a book on everything...it is perfect as a gift, escapism and definitely a Permanent in my library as I will be reading it again someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Loved it!

    A must read if you are a Sussan Wiggs fan. This might be my favorite. A beautiful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    Nothing more to be said...

    Nothing more to be said than "Simply Fantastic". Puts the Must in a Must-read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    What's he doing now, 17 years after we said goodbye?

    I shanghai-ed my daughter's computer to post about this exquisitely written book that manages to touch the heart and make you think all at the same time. Michelle Turner has something so many of us have--a lost love, someone from the past she wonders about far too often. What's he doing now, 17 years after we said goodbye? Unlike most lost lovers, Michelle and Sam get a second chance. She returns to her hometown in Montana to deal with her father and brings along her son, whose never known HIS father. When Michelle and Sam meet again, the sparks fly. So do the tears and sometimes even laughter. Sam doesn't suddenly transform into a perfect father. His relationship with Cody is extremly realistic, meaning not always comfortable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2