Customer Reviews for

You Killed Wesley Payne

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    Go Lee Harveys! Love that clique, it's the coolest ever. Can't go wrong with peace keeping snipers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT This book has the worst twist ending

    SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT This book has the worst twist ending ever! Just out of curiosity why would the sister want to hire a detective, if she was the murderer herself! I was already ruled a suicide by police, so why hire a detective. You are basically hiring someone to catch you! Just doesn'
    t make any sense. That made me really dislike the book. Also, personally it was way to unrealistic, and I understand that that was the way it was written. However, at some point it just doesn't appeal to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Loved this awesome book!

    I love a good mystery and this book did not disappoint. The characters are something else and I love them because they have flaws and Dalton isn't the perfect guy, he's a believable character. I couldn't put it down when I started reading it because I could never tell what would happen next and I had to know. I will admit that the cliques confused me a bit, but after rereading about them I finally figured it out. The ending blew my mind, I hadn't expected anything that had happened and I loved it. The creavity is awesome and the twists kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    This book is awsome

    This book is awesome I read it in book form and was amazed at how it took twists and turn it had me guessing at every turn where it was going to take me next and the ending blew my mind I hope the writer makes a sequel to this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Hilarious

    Luved it
    Hilarious espesialy if you read the glossere and the clique index
    Highly recamended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Amazing and inticing reed

    I loved this book it males you experience the clue finding and problem solving along with dalton as he serches for the person who killed wesley payne. I got this book from the library and loved it. Great for anty age over 12 but i am 14 and greatly enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Little to wierd for me

    I will have to say that my first initial reaction to this book would be...umm wow that was different. This is my first novel by Sean Beaudoin, so I don't know if all his books are this strange. I have it a 2.5 because part of me liked the concept of the story though the other part couldn't wait for it to be over.

    I will be completely honest, I don't think I have ever read a crime noir novel. I have read mystery's, thrillers, suspense, all involving crimes, etc, but nothing like this.

    Dalton is a teenager who has become the man of the house so to speak. His older brother left to be in the military, his father has lost his job and sort of his mind. So its up to him to take care of his mom and younger brother. He becomes a private detective and transfers around to different school solving problems. He gets a case that brings him to Salt River High School. Its a school with so many Cliques it is hard to keep track of even with a chart.

    He is there to solve the mystery of who killed Wesley Payne a populah (its a clique) What he finds is a school full of corruption. The Balls and Pinker Caskets are sort of the top Cliques and they are both wanting to take over the school and will do just about anything to see the other one go down. The principal is as bad as everyone else and nobody seems to see anything going on.

    Dalton really can't trust anyone if he wants to keep himself alive and well lets face it he really isn't all that great of a detective.

    The story was unique to anything I have ever read before, but I thought the characters were a bit lacking. I never really cared much for Dalton or any of the people in the story. They were just there to bring the story along. I think there was just to many cliques and things going on to really have a fully developed good story.

    The story was full of off the wall name and way to many slang words. When a book has to come with a dictionary something is horrible wrong. I guess the book sort of reminded me of one of those stupid comedy movies and I really am not into those and I am a bit leery of trying another book by this author but I might.

    If you like crime noir novels or wacky off the wall books with a tone of funky dialogue and slang then you might really like this book. Not really making a recommendation but if you like anything from what I said about this book then by all means give it a try yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    BookHounds

    I never recommend reading the last page first, but for this book, that is a must! The last few pages of the book condense all of the characters into an easy to follow form. There are so many cliques and factions to follow that it makes the reading so much more pleasurable when you know exactly who is doing what to whom.

    This is a crime caper that takes place in an alternative universe where bribes with school officials are common place and crime is the name of the game in high school. I think this will appeal to boys who are difficult to please. It is told with such snark and sarcasm that I was in heaven. The characters are something out of cartoon and this would probably make an excellent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    READ IT WITH YOUR KIDS!

    I am always desperate to find books that both my kids and I will like. YOU KILLED WESLEY PAYNE satisfies all our needs. It is funny, fast, original, and well-written. The characters are wacky in the best ways, yet totally believable. You won't want to stop reading and might even start all over again once you get to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Smart, Funny, and Hard to Put Down!

    It has been many years since I visited the waters of Young Adult fiction. On the recommendation of a friend, I dipped my toe back in with Sean Beaudoin's "You Killed Wesley Payne," and Good Lord, am I glad I did.

    YKWP walks the fine line of being smart without a tedious disaffected and jaded overtone. It is funny in a realistic and intelligent way, and the plot moves both quickly and unpredictably, which makes it a bullet train of a read. The characters fall into over-the-top exaggerations of high school stereotypes, but each one has depth and sincerity that make them both fun and believable. Dalton Rev, the detective protagonist, is sharp-witted and well-schooled in the areas of literature and music, yet Beaudoin encases him in all the awkward insecurities that plague the average high schooler, making him intensely likable. His boyish fascination with fictional detective Lex Cole is a hilarious theme running throughout the story (and the titles of the Lex Cole book series are comic triumphs in and of themselves).

    Picture a high school that is the intersection of the movies "Heathers" and "Escape from New York." The students run the school with a mixture of violence, unwritten rules and little governance from adults or the faculty. Everyone is running some kind of racket- even some bandages from the school nurse will require the greasing of the RN's palm. Guns, while temporarily banned, raise no eyebrows, and a team of masked snipers ("the Lee Harvies"), keep the peace from the school roof. Jocks ("Balls") align against Rockers, as a bloodthirsty battle for school supremacy unfolds with a host of sub-cliques pushing the action forward in a blur of sharp dialogue and hairpin plot twists.

    As the title implies, the death of Wesley Payne, a popular student, is the underlying mystery, inviting the arrival of Dalton Rev, who is far closer to Joseph Gordon-Levitt's character from the movie "Brick," than he is to Encyclopedia Brown. Navigating through the tight-knit cliques, would be girlfriends, law enforcement, and a decidedly unprincipled Principal, Rev runs into beatings, dead ends, deceptions and mysterious clues from anonymous helpers.

    The ending is fantastic- well told, believable, and full of a few twists that I did not see coming. Brilliantly, Beaudoin continues to reveal some additional mysteries with a one-two punch that will leave the reader smiling, satisfied, and eagerly awaiting Rev's next case.

    I could not put this down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    So good!

    This isn't just a great YA book, this is a GREAT book, period. For one thing, it is the rare novel that is consistently hilarious throughout. I laughed on the first page and pretty much never stopped. It's a murder mystery, with a ton of really cool, original characters, especially Dalton Rev, who has to solve the crime. Who did kill Wesley Payne? I didn't know right until the end, and it yanked the whole floor out of everything, but in a good way. Hey, the real reason this book is better than any book I've read this year, is how original it is! That counts a lot with me. Some book sells a lot of copies and then there's fifty new ones that are just like it. YKWP is not like anything else. It's the like writer created his own language, except that it all makes sense (with the help of the rude glossary at the end). Tons of slang and insults. A body. A very very hip detective. The extremely hot Cassiopeia Jones, who is the head of FOXXES, a clique of hottie girls. God, I love this book so much. You're crazy not to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1