Customer Reviews for

You Know Better

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Hey

    Now everyone is reading this in 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good Reading

    I enjoyed this book. The author did a fantastic job in keeping the reader engaged. An enjoyable story with twists and turns. Good Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Not one of her best novels...

    I remember an I Love Lucy episode where Lucy is excited because the book she's writing is going to be published, only to find later that it's to be included in a book showing what 'not' to do. I think this book must have been featured in that same book. I used to love Ms. Ansa's previous books. I gobbled up her books, "Baby in the Family," and "The Hand I Fan With." [WARNING, I'm doing this on purpose] I used to have a fan, so I never needed my hand to do it with, but I remember my Gradmother always using hers, and her husband, my third grandfather, used to go get one of the fans they used to give out during Sunday meetings. I love the Lord, but church lasted so long, I got up to go to church only to come home and have to go right to bed. But my husband loved it, even though he would go dancing the night before, but never seemed to mind the three hours of sleep. I watched a doctor on Oprah once say you need at least 8 hours of sleep. Kids need 10 hours, or so I heard on Supernanny. Ms. Moss down on 30th street isn't an expert but she weighs 300 lbs... And, so it goes with the pacing of this story; what I wrote above is exactly what I went through reading the first 60 pages of the book. Lillie Pines is awakened by a spirit from beyond, sensing something was very wrong with her granddaughter, LaShawndra. To be fair, the first few pages she's driving and spots a neighbor she believed was dead, but the flashback took the bulk of the first 30 pages just for Ms. Pines to get in the blippin' car to start looking for her granddaughter. By page 60, the only place she's covered is some river where she interuppts some kids 'playing Twister' in the back seat of a car (which took all of one page). When she got back in the car to reminisce some more, I'd had enough and archived the thing. As far as plot, I don't know enough of it to comment. What I know of the plot was said on the story synposis on the back. I love the cover art (always have for her books). I enjoy a descriptive read, but when it interferes with the pace of the story, it's not for me. If I could get my money back, I'd definitely ask for it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    A very,very,very slow read

    I saw the book on the shelf but though it might be more enjoyable on tape. I was so wrong! This book was slow, wordy and full of stuff that could have been left out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Very good

    I enjoyed this book tremedously. I couldn't wait to find out what happened. I defintely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    A Book You Will Read Again and Again!!!!!!!

    I loved this book! I shows triumph of a split family. I love the way Tina McElroy Ansa has the different ghost (who all were known by the grandmother) show the family that what is happening in their life is for a reason, and it can always change if they want it to. It truly is an outstanding book. I got it for my birthday this year in July and I have read it 10 times already. Once you start there is no stopping until you are through!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    I Am Not Giving Up

    This book is definitely too wordy, but I intend to give Ms Ansa a second chance. The reviews are better on her other two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    good book

    this book was ok. the last section(Lashawndra's story)was the best and most exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Outstanding!

    This novel is thought provoking. It reminds us to listen to our elders for wisdom, and that in spite of our differences, we can still love one another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    Pages Readers Group

    You Know Better tells the story of three-generation women of the Pine Family and how three women of their past touch lives. Their encounters with Miss Moses, Nurse Bloom and Eliza Jane reveals to them the error of their ways and puts back together their fragile relationships. Lily, the family matriarch well known and respected pillar of the community, struggles with a whole host of things: preserving the precious image of her family, the failure of her first marriage for the second time and keeping her wayward granddaughter out of harm¿s way among them. Ms. Moses teaches Lily that what¿s important is not what people think or say about you. Sandra, Lily¿s daughter has reached a comfortable level of success as one of the leading real estate agents in town. Sandra herself struggles rejection after her boyfriend skips out when she get pregnant and her inability to truly love and connect with her daughter. Sandra derives what little happiness she has from the material things she has managed to attain. Her surface disdain and disconnection from her daughter has left their relationship in tatters. What Sandra doesn¿t realize is that the behavior her daughter displays is a result of her constant negative judgment and criticism. LaShawndra, Sandra¿s daughter has made up in her mind that if her mother Sandra thinks she is a nobody going nowhere, then that¿s what she is going to be. LaShawndra¿s only solace seems to come from her Grandmother Lily. As the story unfolds each of these women sees how much they are really alike. Overall our group rated this book three stars. To our group the book was a hard read and we felt the ending could have been tied together a little better. Not once was it mention in the book that the encounters were with ghosts and we feel this warranted some conversation between Lily, Sandra, and LaShawndra at the end of the book to tie what they learned about themselves and each other together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2002

    Too much rambling!

    Unlike Baby of the Family and The Hand I Fan With, this 'ghost' story is told with too much rambling and repetitive descriptions re each persons life. It was almost as if the writer had a set quota on how many pages this book had to be rather than whether this story could have been told in half the amount of space.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    3 Generations Collide

    While reading this book, I couldn't help but think of my grandmother, mother, and myself. We each had different views of my life while I was growing up, yet as I reached adulthood, I realized we're so much a like. I like to thank Mrs. Ansa for each one of her novels (I've read them all). Keep on writing, and I'll keep on reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1