BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

You Make Me Feel Like Dancing

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chick Lit for a different generation

    I like a good chick-lit book and Allison Bottke's new book is touted as boomer-lit because it is about the baby boomer generation ladies. This is the first of three books in the series and it should be an entertaining series. In this first book we meet Susan and her husband and friends. Susan is known as the Disco Diva and lives and works in Las Vegas as a hair dresser at her own shop. She lives for the 70's and all things 70's. The more memorablia the better! She loves it all - the fashions, the music, the furniture and the stars and she has the collection to prove it. Her dream has always been to open a Disco Hall of Fame, but that is just a dream right? Now her husband is getting ready to retire, maybe just a little sooner than Susan was prepared for... and just maybe all those years of not telling her husband what exactly happened to her in the 70's is going to catch up with her. Overall this is a good book and for fans of the 70's it is probably fantastic! My biggest complaint is just that Susan has things a little too easy in the money department, that just made it a little "yeah, right" as far as I was concerned. Not everyone has unlimited access to money, and it made me not very sympathetic to her character. Other than that, this is a wonderful addition to the chick-lit category with an emphasis in boomer-lit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You are the Dancing Queen

    This was a fun book to read. I would love to get my hair done at Susan's salon. It sounded like an awesome, hip place just to hang out and learn about history. I loved the scene where, in the middle of a hair session, the lights went off, the strobe came on, the disco ball came on and everyone got down and boogied. It's really a fascinating concept and if it doesn't already exist in real life, there's a gold mine idea for you right there. Susan's disco collection is massive and extremely valuable. It's interesting as to how much time and effort Susan put into her collection as opposed to relationships in real life as well as her faith and beliefs. The story starts off very breezy and happy go lucky and then spins off into more serious subjects as Susan is forced to dredge up old memories from the past. Her relationships are evaluated throughout the book, with her husband, her friends, her co-workers, old boyfriends, and new acquaintances.

    It might be because I'm not the targeted baby-boomer audience, but there were some parts of the book that dragged a bit for me. Not that it was boring or not written well, I just felt that there were parts of the book that could have either been omitted or shortened. Also I got annoyed with Susan's husband Michael several times throughout the book because it didn't seem as he was concerned about his wife's feelings. I realize that he was at retiring age but it seemed like just because he was ready to call it quits that Susan had to as well. Also from the back of the book, I was expecting the online community to have a bigger role than they actually had in the story.

    That being said, I did enjoy this book and it was fun to take a trip through disco memory lane with Susan's collection. After reading this book, I had an urge to put on some bell bottoms, grab a disco ball, and put on the Stayin Alive soundtrack and boogie in my living room. The Baby Boomer generation will get a kick of this book and younger readers will enjoy this blast from the past. I'll be looking forward to reading the next books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disco memories

    I enjoyed this book. Well written with some twists and turns that were surprising. The setting of Las Vegas was up-to-date and the visual descriptions perfect. Since I am a boomer myself, I could empathisize with some of the heroine's (Susan) thought processes, ideas, and experiences. Christian without being preachy. It should be a very interesting series. The series will be about Susan and her on-lines friends. A very close knit group that cares deeply about each other and their problems and successes. Susan is a dancer turned hairdresser who cares deeply for her chorus line customers, helping them in their personal lives, and encouraging them in their Christian walk by her own example. Susan is also a disco fanatic and because she was one of the Studio 54 regulars, she has a past that rises up to bite her at an unexpected moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disco Diva

    You Make Me Feel Like Dancing
    VaVaVa Boom Series
    Allison Bottke
    2009
    David C. Cook
    Fiction/Christian/Women

    Reviewed by Cindy Loven

    Susan Anderson is the Disco Queen, the owner of the famous hair salon Disco Diva. However she is hiding, from her past. A past that was soon to catch up to her. Busy, busy, busy is the only way to
    describe how Susan lives. Her salon is extremely successful, she is in love with her husband. She just never had opened up to him. He is nearing retirement and ready for his turn and a startling
    announcement from him, concerning his retirement and plans for after retirement, drive a wedge between them.
    Susan has a plan is in place to enlarge her existing salon, when a rich friend decides to find out what Susan's dreams are, and then she places into motion, a plan to make that dream come true. Thus the new Disco Diva Salon and DaySpa, The Disco Hall of Fame Museum, and the dancing and non alcoholic dinner club, are birthed and planned. Michael's retirement plans threaten all of this. Follow the story to find out how it is all resolved.
    The entrance of a person from the past, brings Susan to a point of facing her past, and to a breakdown, her family and friends surround her with love and caring. Her healing process is slow and painful, but successful.
    A wonderful ending to a lovely story, Allison Bottke, has brought us a book that will make us laugh, cry and bite our nails in anticipation of what will happen next. Get to know, Susan and Michael Anderson, Lily Peyton, Loretta, Tina, Ryan and Patricia in this heart stirring novel. A definite must read book!! The back of the book has discussion questions for a book club. 437 pages $14.99 US

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book for women

    Author Allison Bottke has a new series for women called "Va Va Va Boom," and I've just finished the first book in this series, You Make Me Feel Like Dancing.

    This first book centers around Susan, who owns and operates a popular, successful salon in Las Vegas, the Disco Diva. It is filled with memorabilia from the disco era that she has collected through the years. Her life is full with running the salon and everything related to it where she encounters many young showgirls whom she encourages and mentors. She also has an online group of friends, the Boomer Babes. Susan and her husband will be celebrating their twenty-fifth anniversary the same year she turns 50, her husband turns 60 and is preparing to retire. She is given an amazing business opportunity by her dear friend that is just taking off when Susan's world is shaken when she comes face-to- face, literally, with someone from her past. She is not sure her marriage will last or that she'll be able to fulfill her dream.

    This book is a wonderful read, and women will find it easy to relate to Susan and her friends. This is a story about relationships, communication, pride, secrets, and self. Although it is written for an older audience it was enjoyable to me as well because of the variety of characters and the various issues they faced. I look forward to other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Talk, Talk!

    This Christian fiction is a good story with sweet characters who confront some ups and downs of everyday life. As one character states, popular "reality TV shows ... got nothin' on us." Written in third person, every character's thoughts are easily followed.

    Although they supposedly have a good marriage with good communication, Michael keeps a secret for twenty-five years from his wife, Susan, and she makes major plans without consulting him. Clearly, something's gotta give, and it sure does. Communication is a theme in this book which celebrates "God-cidences" rather than coincidences. If I could change anything, I'd change the ending; it's too predictable, but happy endings are what good chick lit is all about. Discussion questions included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    First in Va Va Va Boom series sets the stage for success

    You Make Me Feel Like Dancing by Allison Bottke is the first in the Va Va Va Boom series about a set of Baby Boomer girlfriends. This story stars Susan Anderson who has built a life she loves in Las Vegas. As the owner of Disco Diva salons, she collects disco-era memorabilia and dresses the part in vintage designer clothing. Her marriage to Michael isn't going quite as well. After years of working opposite shifts, they discover that their dreams for their future are completely different. He's ready to retire and build them a mansion in the desert after selling off many of her treasures. Susan wants to expand her salon to showcase her collection and continue ministering to the young women who frequent her beautician's chair. The two dreams collide when a blast from Susan's past shatters her future, and they both have to decide where to go from here. I had a hard time getting into this novel at first, but once Susan started expanding her vision, the story really took off. The various themes of forgiveness, letting go of the past, and communication were entwined with the story without ever being preachy. I especially loved Susan's sacrificial stance of submission to her husband. The only complaint I have with the book is that the series aspect seemed tacked on. The only other Boomer girl we meet is Pat, and it's a brief, forgettable appearance. The portions tying this book into a series could be removed without affecting this terrific story. Don't let that stop you from reading this fun and fantastic book. The solid themes of friendship and faith mixed with disco music make this a book that's hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1