Customer Reviews for

You Must Remember This: Life and Style in Hollywood's Golden Age

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Natalie Wood

    Does he write about her death?

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    Excellent walk through the beginning of Hollywood to the present

    Excellent walk through the beginning of Hollywood to the present. Robert Wagner and Scott Eyman have eloquently and warmly put together a fascinating look at what used to be. The old Hollywood and its star system has long been gone. However, I'm old enough to remember reading all the movie star magazines and the glamour they portrayed. I'm like Robert Wagner in the fact that I, too, don't think they make movies like they used to. I guess that's why I'm such a sucker for movies from the 30's, 40's and 50's. I was equally impressed by the fact that Robert Wagner didn't have a negative thing to say about any of the stars, producers, restaurant owners or others whose path he crossed. It was refreshing to read something without hate or anger being used to describe a person or situation. I highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to know what the "good old days" were like in the movies. I've been a fan of Robert Wagner for many years and thoroughly enjoy watching him on NCIS. The man's still got it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    For those who love at least the idea of the golden era of Hollywood, when movie stars - and for that matter, people in general - had style and good manners, this delightful book is a must. Robert Wager reminisces with humor and nostalgia (but not pathos) for a lost world of civility, elegance, wit and, well - class. His writing is breezy and warm, and his recollections of great houses, restaurants and characters are crystal clear and vivid. I will enjoy reading it again eventually. My only suggestion for improving it would have been stronger visuals, including some color pages of remarkable photographs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Recommended

    Interesting book about the old Hollywood and the Golden Stars and the movies made then that are so superior to current movies that lack "class" and intelligence. Robert Wagner did a good job, but I wish the book would have contained even more information about the stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Well written

    If you do not know "Old Hollywood" then you might not enjoy it as much. Have not completed the book yet but so far it has been quite enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Excellent book for anyone looking for an inside look at the ear

    Excellent book for anyone looking for an inside look at the early days of Hollywood from someone who lived it. There are lots of fascinating details about street cars, bridle paths, hotels, restaurants and fabulous mansions and the people who frequented them. When I finished the last chapter, I found I wanted more. I would like to have read about RJ's reflections on the his TV times. Maybe that will be his next book. I sincerely hope so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    An easy and entertaining read. Don't expect inside juicy gossip

    An easy and entertaining read. Don't expect inside juicy gossip or revelations--there is a small amount of this but it is not holy cow stuff. Sometimes the details on restaurants, hotels, parties, clothing and such get a little too much--as do the many names dropped. Some comments made in passing scream out for further detail and there are sometimes vague comments based on events that you must already know about, as well as some insightful but perhaps incomplete observations. But the negatives aside I found this an enjoyable and fun book. Think of it as a collection of well-written quick thoughts and remembrances of Hollywood in the recent and older past---perhaps as might be contained in an informal personal journal with added historical factoids. Some items are revealing and worth talking about to others. Others are informative and interesting. Some are just plain fun as observations of a "different" world. If you don't expect some uber analysis of Hollywood life or behind the scenes blockbuster stuff you have a better chance of enjoying this generally fast-paced easy-to-take book for what it is--a light-hearted summary of movie life as observed by Wagner. And some of the included photos are great--or if you are picky then at least quite good..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    If you are a fan of R.J.W., you will enjoy it

    I am a huge fan of Robert J. Wagner. Now he is an accomplished author as well as an actor. It was a good read. Did not get to read his first book. The first chapter in this book really caught the reader's attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Excellent Review of how Hollywood was by an Insider who was ther

    Excellent Review of how Hollywood was by an Insider who was there in the glory years. Intelligent and factual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1