Customer Reviews for

You Only Die Twice

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

SUPERB

Another great read by Christopher Smith. Keeps you on edge of your seat. Looking forward to reading more of his books.

posted by mikeathome on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

really annoyed

don't buy this book ive tried to down load it twice, been charged twice, and still dont have the book..thanks barnes and noble, for nothing

posted by kaboo123 on January 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    SUPERB

    Another great read by Christopher Smith. Keeps you on edge of your seat. Looking forward to reading more of his books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Amazing

    I could not put this down. Very suspensful and kept me guessing.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    really annoyed

    don't buy this book ive tried to down load it twice, been charged twice, and still dont have the book..thanks barnes and noble, for nothing

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    On the times in the past where I listened to an audiobook about

    On the times in the past where I listened to an audiobook about a psychopath serial killer, there haven’t been many, but there have been some, they were told from the point of view of the cop that was hunting him down. With few insights into the mind of the killer. You Only Die Twice is not that kind of story. We are taken deep into the mind and the workings of not only one serial killer but two. Learning how they became the way they are, by ways of trouble childhoods. We are also drawn in emotionally to the victims, something I, personally, could have done without, I wanted more of the killers and they obvious insanity. Early on we meet Cheryl, who is one of the victims who actually was brutalized and left for dead. Who somehow was able to put some semblance of life back together. Going out to a bar with a close friend to only wake up the next morning with no memory of what had happened the night before. Finding that she was sexually assaulted on video and if she told anyone her friend would die. Heartbreaking, I know. But the heart and soul of this story belongs to the friend and her fight to survive not one, but two killers in the wilderness of Maine. You Only Die Twice is a no holds barred assault on your emotions. I couldn’t stop listening for a second, devouring this whole audiobook in one sitting. Sure I wish it was longer. But You Only Die Twice was a solid story that made me want the killers to “win” in the end.

    Audiobook provided for review by the narrator.

    Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Reading this book was a truly unpleasant experience. Didn't fe

    Reading this book was a truly unpleasant experience. Didn't feel like the author thought a lot of women -- no explanation for why these two killers targeted their victims, except that they were women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I was really digging this book until the dead women started appe

    I was really digging this book until the dead women started appearing. It just seemed silly. And I can't help wondering the point of Patty, Cheryl's friend. She doesn't do anything, nor does she add anything to the story.

    There are a few typos, though nothing major. The odd use of present tense is a little distracting. For example: "She looked down and saw the gun, which is just where she knew it would be." I'm no English major, but that doesn't sound correct to me. I think "was" would've worked better than "is."

    The book was pretty fun, though, and I finished it in two days. I wish the killers and Cheryl had more of a connection, though. Or that we'd seen more of Cheryl's ingenuity throughout the book. We're told over and over how she knew the woods and knew how to survive, but she didn't really do much.

    Plus, there's way too much telling and not showing. So much of the book consists of us being told what happened in the past. If Patty had been cut from the book, and the killers and Cheryl had more of a connection, this book would've been much more enjoyable to me. Without the connection, I didn't care if or how Cheryl thwarted her assailants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Fast moving with lots of action

    When you see that this book is over 400 pages, you might think--wow, going to take a long time to read, but there are excerpts from two other of the author's books at the end. The two villains, Ted Carpenter and Ken Berkowitz, are religious and sexual nuts who have devoted their lives to killing sluts. That is too bad for Cheryl Durning and Patty Jennings who meet them one night at a bar in Maine. Cheryl has already had an experience with a brutal man who thought he had killed her--but is fortunate enough to be revived in an ambulance. If you are a woman--this could be your worst nightmare. The book moves right along, since you can get wrapped up in whether Cheryl will survive this time. Somehow, I doubt that all members of a book club would enjoy this--not for the squeamish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Great read - I had a hard time putting it down!

    A wonderful thriller that really draws you in. I will be checking out other books by Christopher Smith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Well done!

    I decided to read this book as it was a freebie. I liked it although this gal's strength and courage was a bit unbelievable. Smith moves things along very well. I would recommend this book. It is a quick read too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Missing Chapters


    I'm missing chapters 1 through 25 ... my copy starts with Chapter 26. I hate this!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1