Customer Reviews for

You Shall Know Our Velocity!

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love this book

This novel is a story for the sake of a story. It is an amazingly fluid read for a story so broken apart and interrupted. I suppose it mirrors reality that way, though. Our days pass regardless of the rambling, wayward notions of our minds. Eggers always deliver...
This novel is a story for the sake of a story. It is an amazingly fluid read for a story so broken apart and interrupted. I suppose it mirrors reality that way, though. Our days pass regardless of the rambling, wayward notions of our minds. Eggers always delivers that sort of steam of consciousness narration without becoming unreadable. Overall, this is a beautiful story to read, not because Will and Hand are great but because they are human, and restless, and doing something.

posted by Anonymous on May 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is not a negative review

Well it appears that Mr. Eggers has written a novel. Some critics did their jobs and criticized the book. That hurt Dave's feelings and he got a little defensive. It is understandable that an ego that large would also be so fragile. I read his 'Work of Genius' and found...
Well it appears that Mr. Eggers has written a novel. Some critics did their jobs and criticized the book. That hurt Dave's feelings and he got a little defensive. It is understandable that an ego that large would also be so fragile. I read his 'Work of Genius' and found it to be so. Aside from what some people call 'literary fireworks' (a phrase I do not understand because fireworks are amazing and a drawing of a stapler somehow is not), I found the narration to be innovative and of course rather amusing. I expected a little more from Eggers for his first real novel. The story is rather creative, but he needs to tighten his language. Dave tends to ramble a bit from time to time, eating up 20-30 pages. For some people, this is why they love Dave. For me, it makes me wish that Dave would write the book that we all know he is capable of writing. I have faith in you Dave Eggers, you are one of the few who actually know something about writing and you already have many imitators who are not nearly at your level. Please write the novel I know you can write. I am tired of reading James Frey.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    This is not a negative review

    Well it appears that Mr. Eggers has written a novel. Some critics did their jobs and criticized the book. That hurt Dave's feelings and he got a little defensive. It is understandable that an ego that large would also be so fragile. I read his 'Work of Genius' and found it to be so. Aside from what some people call 'literary fireworks' (a phrase I do not understand because fireworks are amazing and a drawing of a stapler somehow is not), I found the narration to be innovative and of course rather amusing. I expected a little more from Eggers for his first real novel. The story is rather creative, but he needs to tighten his language. Dave tends to ramble a bit from time to time, eating up 20-30 pages. For some people, this is why they love Dave. For me, it makes me wish that Dave would write the book that we all know he is capable of writing. I have faith in you Dave Eggers, you are one of the few who actually know something about writing and you already have many imitators who are not nearly at your level. Please write the novel I know you can write. I am tired of reading James Frey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    I love this book

    This novel is a story for the sake of a story. It is an amazingly fluid read for a story so broken apart and interrupted. I suppose it mirrors reality that way, though. Our days pass regardless of the rambling, wayward notions of our minds. Eggers always delivers that sort of steam of consciousness narration without becoming unreadable. Overall, this is a beautiful story to read, not because Will and Hand are great but because they are human, and restless, and doing something.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Give me the money!

    I don't think I have ever read a book with a more pointless plot. The entire time I was reading this book, I kept thinking to myself, 'If you can't stand the fact that you have $80,000.00--give it to me! I've got about $70,000.00 worth of school loan debt I need to pay off!' I can think of 1000 charitable organizations which could've benefitted from that money rather than wasting it on a juvenile 5 day travelling spree giving it away to foreign prostitutes and homeless beggars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Pretty Good.

    This is what it is. I think it's a well written book that maybe (maybe) tries a little too hard to be clever. It's better than some books out there and worse than others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Awesome book!

    This was one of the best books I have read in years. Sadly, I have had it sitting in a shelf for years since a friend gave it to me. The title and cover are so boring (can we so bad marketing). When I finally did pick it up, though, I couldn't put it down and am now excited to find another book by Dave Eggers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Much an Eggers Work

    I have read a few of Eggers other works and though I enjoyed A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and What is the What? a bit more, this is still a novel worth reading. The characters, like all people, are flawed but likable. Although the goal of the trip is to go to give away money to less fortunate areas of the world, often times Will and Hand are focused primarily on themselves, each other's flaws and mistakes, and the past even as they try to focus on helping those they see as in need now. Although this can get a bit dense and frustrating to the reader especially when the main characters actions seem irrational or ill-planned, it is nice to have a novel where the character's thoughts and actions are so human that it is refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    An Eyecatcher!

    I loved the idea of these two men flying around the world unloading their riches! When I saw the book started on the cover I knew it was one for the collection! Read it you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    Worst book I've ever read!

    I don't know who these folks are who actually liked this book, but I was bored from page 2, woke up for a minute when Hand began writing and then got really bored. The only reason I finished this book was so I could lead a Book Club discussion on it. I don't know why I bothered. None of the other 8 people in our Book Club finished it. Most did not make it past page 20. I found absolutely nothing remotely humorous in this entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Hot stuff coming through...

    A great read. Dave's (because ability to portray the inner thoughts and rapid pace of said thoughs of his characters is absurdly realistic. His style of mental dialogue between himself and other characters is awesome. I often find myself imagining conversations like that in my life...you know..just people telling what they feel deep down. Dave's books make me laugh out loud regularly. I honestly have never read another book which has done that to me. Way to go Mr. Eggers! Dave, e-mail me if you are coming to Boston!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    You Shall Know Our Appreciation

    Dave Eggers¿ short story ¿After I Was Thrown in the River and Before I Drowned¿ says far more about his stance on writing than his best-selling memoir A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius. The narrator of the short story is a dog, Steven. Steven, like many dogs, possesses an exuberance and zest for life. What he likes more than anything is to run with his friends through the forest and bound over a twelve-foot drainpipe. In his words: ¿Hoooooooo! I¿m a fast fast dog. Hooooooooooooo!¿ As he and his friends jump, a number of sardonic squirrels criticize the dogs in their ¿small jittery voices,¿ laughing when they fall and injure themselves. The dogs do not appreciate the squirrels¿ commentary, and many of the dogs attack them, but Steven simply wishes they would run and jump too. Eggers speeds through the literary world with the same velocity, and the leaps he makes have caused many critics to scurry for a response. Initially, upon the release of A.H.B.W.O.S.G., many critics surmised that he would not last. Michiko Kakutani, of the New York Times, says Eggers¿ ¿shaggy dog narrative¿ consists of ¿self-indulgent yapping.¿ After the publication of his latest book, You Shall Know Our Velocity, many of those same critics are now stating, with their large tails between their legs, that ¿a writer is among us.¿ With two novels behind him, his own publishing company (McSweeney¿s), and non-profit organization to help under-privileged youth in San Francisco, Eggers has clearly made it to the other side of the drainpipe, let jittery-voiced critics say what they will. Eggers¿ new novel, You Shall Know Our Velocity, is a picaresque tale of Will and Hand and their travel around the third world in an attempt to give away money Will earned by allowing his silhouette to be used as a light bulb logo. The trip is motivated by the death of their mutual friend Jack. Will, the narrator, is overwhelmed with grief, and in an attempt to elude the weight of that grief, must keep moving and maintaining a velocity that keeps him one step ahead of his pain. The novel¿s bipolar narrator brings the story to summits of humor and gorges of grief, giving the reader a farrago of sentiment without being overly sentimental. At one moment Will and Hand try surreptitiously to tape money to the side of a donkey for the owner to find¿the money is accompanied by a note that reads ¿Here I am. Rock you like a hurricane¿¿only to later meditate on their guilt at having the money in the first place. Later they plan to bury money and place a treasure map in the way of an unsuspecting child. In each similar case¿and the novel is structured around them¿they second-guess their actions until their circumspection nearly renders them inactive. However, each time, they maintain their velocity. Dave Eggers¿ exuberant and alacritous writing death-defyingly maintains its velocity as it soars above the heads of readers and critics alike. This shaggy dog¿s new novel yaps in the face of critics as he turns his head and urges us to run with him. After reading his new novel, and seeing all of this underdog¿s new tricks, one thing is clear: Dave Eggers is the leader of the pack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Big Disappointment

    Hated this book. I liked his first one a lot, and this showed flashes of originality, but mostly it was incredibly sophomoric and pointless. Eggers has gotten so incredibly pretentious! I couldn't care less about these two guys - their adventures were fraternity-like, their giving away of the money was inept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    Oh, Our Silly Spectrum...

    Very impressive and inspirational, as cheesy as that is, but it's true. Eggers had something to say that was worth hearing yet again, and it actually felt good. As good a conclusion as ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    only available at independent bookstores

    An excellent book from a highly accaimed and popular young writer...I love his perspective and tough/vulnerable, funny/weepy insightful style of writing. If you liked the autobiographical Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius you'll love this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Marvellous

    Dave Eggers is a marvellous young author; insightful and original, he is a breath of fresh air, an author that all should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    Liked it a lot!

    Well-written and original. I couldn't put it down. Eggers is great. Just wish the book was easier to buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3