BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

You Should Have Known

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

This was one of the best books I've read in a while. The author did a great job of creating the thoughts and feelings of the main character, Grace. It was almost painful to keep reading at times but yet you wanted to know what was going on. I am going to look for more b...
This was one of the best books I've read in a while. The author did a great job of creating the thoughts and feelings of the main character, Grace. It was almost painful to keep reading at times but yet you wanted to know what was going on. I am going to look for more books by Ms. Korelitz.

posted by 4281625 on April 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Grace Sachs is a successful therapist, mother to a young son





Grace Sachs is a successful therapist, mother to a young son and wife to a pediatric oncologist at a major cancer hospital. Grace is also the author of You Should Have Known, a book about women valuing their intuition and first impressions. It all hits the fan when ...




Grace Sachs is a successful therapist, mother to a young son and wife to a pediatric oncologist at a major cancer hospital. Grace is also the author of You Should Have Known, a book about women valuing their intuition and first impressions. It all hits the fan when the Grace's own marriage is in headlines. A bloody murder, a missing husband and unbelievable revelations rock Grace's world. She must heed her own advice and piece together what she knows and does not know.




I am the type of reader that reads every word. I don't want to skip pages or miss any reactions. But this novel? Seriously encouraged me to skim. Of the 383 pages, 183 pages are unnecessary. There is so much background information and detail that gets in the way of what comes next, what really matters in the plot. While the formula of psychological thriller plus not knowing who your spouse really is had all the makings of a good novel, it was a struggle to finish reading.




Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

posted by Literary_Marie on March 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Grace Sachs is a successful therapist, mother to a young son





    Grace Sachs is a successful therapist, mother to a young son and wife to a pediatric oncologist at a major cancer hospital. Grace is also the author of You Should Have Known, a book about women valuing their intuition and first impressions. It all hits the fan when the Grace's own marriage is in headlines. A bloody murder, a missing husband and unbelievable revelations rock Grace's world. She must heed her own advice and piece together what she knows and does not know.




    I am the type of reader that reads every word. I don't want to skip pages or miss any reactions. But this novel? Seriously encouraged me to skim. Of the 383 pages, 183 pages are unnecessary. There is so much background information and detail that gets in the way of what comes next, what really matters in the plot. While the formula of psychological thriller plus not knowing who your spouse really is had all the makings of a good novel, it was a struggle to finish reading.




    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was one of the best books I've read in a while. The author did a great job of creating the thoughts and feelings of the main character, Grace. It was almost painful to keep reading at times but yet you wanted to know what was going on. I am going to look for more books by Ms. Korelitz.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Good

    I really liked this book... it was very interesting and will remind you of people in the headlines....

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    (the worst unedited book I have ever read)!!!

    I wanted to give it zero stars, but website wouldn't let me!!

    Wow, it has been years since I had to abandon a book, but this one was one of the worst books I have ever not finished. The grammar with all the parentheses was just too much!! I can do "wordy" when the text is relevant!!
    I cannot believe this was recommended by anyone!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Too wordy and tedious, I couldn't finish it.

    Too wordy and tedious, I couldn't finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Too wirdy Tii Too wirdy Too wordy

    Could have been a really good book but is definately marred by really long irrelevant descriptions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Good plot poor editing

    Although I found this book hard to put down, I feeel that the plot was bogged down with too many rambling details



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Your Life May Not Be as Perfect as You Think!

    Listened to the audiobook YOU SHOULD HAVE KNOWN, by Jean Hanff Koreltz, narrated by Christina Delaine, involving a relationship and marriage therapist, Grace. Grace also is on the verge of being published, a novel, “You Should Have Known”, offering advice to women, urging them not to ignore the signs regarding men they are with or plan on spending their lives with. Grace is unlikable, a snob, and thinks she is much better than her current patients.

    Her husband, Jonathan is rather supportive with a thriving pediatric oncologist practice, with seventeen years of marriage, and has a twelve year old son, Henry which is bright, attending a prestigious private school. Sounds like a perfect life, right? Living in a New York apartment where Grace grew up, their lives are content and balanced until a tragedy occurs, which changes everything.

    Then there's a death--a woman we really don't know, or have any idea how she is connected to this family. In addition, Jonathan, Grace's husband disappears. With officer's knocking at the door, Grace finally takes a hard, long look in the mirror and sees she knows nothing, or what she should have known.

    Jonathan is supposedly away at a conference in Cleveland...or is he? Does he have a connection to the murdered woman? When was the last time Grace has spoken to Jonathan?

    Karma comes around to haunt Grace, questioning the perfection of her happy marriage, stunning home, (city and country homes), career, great kid, and perfect life—the scandal which can tear apart this illusion of a life.

    One woman’s examination of her life, memories, shame, fear, humiliation and horror of admitting her failures. As she tries to uncover the truth of her husband, the friends are now gone as she is left to find answers to her life of ruin and disaster—can she rise above the wreckage and reinvent herself?

    A good set up; however, would have preferred more of a suspense, versus all the fluff of what it is to live in a pretentious and perfect world. Will have to concur with a number of the other reviewers ----could have been a great novel; however, all the background information, took priority over the part which should, or could have been an excellent psychological thriller—A disconnect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    I didn't like this book...I kept reading it and thought it would

    I didn't like this book...I kept reading it and thought it would get better,
    but it never did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Good plot, poor writing, even .poorer editing...

    Says it all. Lois



    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2014

    Grace Reinhart Sachs is a therapist, and she has written a yet-t

    Grace Reinhart Sachs is a therapist, and she has written a yet-to-be-published controversial book about relationships between men and women. Her book states basically that women should trust their instincts better, and recognise the signs that will lead to trouble later on in the relationship. 




    YOU SHOULD HAVE KNOWN is a very well written book, very literate. Grace, her husband Jonathan, and their 12-year old son Henry live in Manhattan. The author relates in detail their daily life and that of their wealthy and often superficial acquaintances. Grace is not really an active participant in her own life; life happens around her, she mostly goes through the motions although she’s an excellent therapist. Then a shocking and totally unexpected event shakes Grace’s world, and she must re-evaluate everything she believed in. Indeed, they should have known. YOU SHOULD HAVE KNOWN is an introspective look at a professional woman’s life and how she reacts to an earth shattering event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rich Follett for Readers' Favorite Manhattan couple

    Reviewed by Rich Follett for Readers' Favorite

    Manhattan couples therapist Grace Reinhart Sachs, as drawn with vivid realism by Jean Hanff Korelitz in You Should Have Known, is a successful, empowered woman who has made all the right choices -- so much so that she is about to launch a potential best seller (the ‘You Should Have Known’ of the title) telling women everywhere how they, too, can make the right choices to find a perfect husband and a completely fulfilling life. It is a flawless plan -- until the mother of one her son’s fellow students at his exclusive private school is murdered and Grace’s ‘Prince Charming’ pediatric oncologist husband is a suspect in the murder. In the roller-coaster ride that follows her husband’s implication and subsequent disappearance, Grace’s life begins to unravel in a chaotic, horrifying downward spiral that pushes her toward public scandal and the brink of sanity. As she struggles to comprehend how her seemingly perfect life could disintegrate so quickly, she learns some startling truths about herself and her husband’s web of lies, beginning with his shadowed past. 

    Jean Hanff Korelitz portrays her heroine, Grace, with an organic precision seldom found in popular fiction. Grace’s internal monologue is so deftly constructed that the events of the story seem to place the reader inside Grace’s head as they are unfolding. The result is a deeply personal view of a strange and compelling world. You Should Have Known offers far more than an engaging narrative -- it is a psychological thriller from the inside out. Grace’s various reversals of fortune and her descent into tortured incredulity will quite literally leave the reader breathless.

    Christine Delaine’s multi-layered vocal performance is an excellent match for Jean Hanff Korelitz’s detailed narrative. Delaine is particularly adroit when voicing male characters. Although Grace and the various female characters are all distinct and performed with crystalline acuity, the characters of Grace’s son and her disappearing husband’s misunderstood father are truly superlative and so real that they seem to be in the room with the listener.

    You Should Have Known by Jean Hanff Korelitz is a finely-crafted tale of intrigue and deception sure to enthrall readers of any age or gender. Cinematic and finely shaded, You Should Have Known provides a thrilling escape from the ordinary for those who love a well-written tale of suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    O a girl

    And ps puper is the daughter of Hades ;) ok bye now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    A girl

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    So slow and boring

    This book came highly recommended to me, however I didn't even finish it because it was so slow, boring and Grace was just annoying with the constant inner monologue issues and concern. Would not recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Story Contest Rules

    1. No warrior cat stories<br>2. No se<_>x stories<br>3. Have good grammar, spelling, and conventions. The better it is, the more chance you have of winning.<br>4. Be a good sport. All stories are good, but there has to be a winner. It is a contest!<br>5. Your story must be at least one page long, or else l may not include it.<p>-Prizes-<br>First Place-Three days of advertisement, and l'll join your rp.<p>Second Place-Two days of advertising.<br>Third Place-One day of advertisment

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Not my cup of tea

    This was the book that was chosen by my book club. I thought it was pretty predictable. It was also annoying that you never hear anything from the husband which would have given this story more dimension. Not my cup of tea, but if you like fictional stories, then maybe you will enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Your Life May Not Be as Perfect as You May Think

    Listened to the audiobook YOU SHOULD HAVE KNOWN, by Jean Hanff Koreltz, narrated by Christina Delaine involving a relationship and marriage therapist, Grace. Grace also is on the verge of being published, a novel, “You Should Have Known”, offering advice to women, urging them not to ignore the signs regarding men they are with or plan on spending their lives with. Grace is unlikable, a snob, and thinks she is much better than her current patients.

    Her husband, Jonathan is rather supportive with a thriving pediatric oncologist practice, with seventeen years of marriage, and has a twelve year old son, Henry which is bright, attending a prestigious private school. Sounds like a perfect life, right? Living in a New York apartment where Grace grew up, their lives are content and balanced until a tragedy occurs, which changes everything.

    Then there's a death--a woman we really don't know, or have any idea how she is connected to this family. In addition, Jonathan, Grace's husband disappears. With officer's knocking at the door, Grace finally takes a hard, long look in the mirror and sees she knows nothing, or what she should have known.

    Jonathan is supposedly away at a conference in Cleveland...or is he? Does he have a connection to the murdered woman? When was the last time Grace has spoken to Jonathan?

    Karma comes around to haunt Grace, questioning the perfection of her happy marriage, stunning home, (city and country homes), career, great kid, and perfect life—the scandal which can tear apart this illusion of a life.

    One woman’s examination of her life, memories, shame, fear, humiliation and horror of admitting her failures. As she tries to uncover the truth of her husband, the friends are now gone as she is left to find answers to her life of ruin and disaster—can she rise above the wreckage and reinvent herself?

    A good set up (Similar to The Husband's Secret); however, would have preferred more of a suspense, versus all the fluff of what it is to live in a pretentious and perfect world. Will have to concur with a number of the other reviewers ----could have been a great novel; however, all the background information, took priority over the part which should, or could have been an excellent psychological thriller—A disconnect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Loved it.

    Very enjoyable read, especially if you like plot twists. Interesting take on human behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    What a page turner!

    You Should Have Known is a most suspenseful psychological mystery. It is well written and multi-layered. The characters are interesting and the protagonist is sympathetic. I literally could not put this book down until I finished reading it. It was satisfying and left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2