Customer Reviews for

You Staying Young: The Owner's Manual for Extending Your Warranty

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    YOUseful Information

    This is a neat book and must be a good inch and a half thick! It is divided up into two parts. <BR/><BR/>The theme of Part I is why you age and how you stay young. This section makes up roughly three quarters of the book. It deals mainly with what the book calls the "major agers." Examples of these include short telomeres, toxins, and ultraviolet radiation. <BR/><BR/>Part II is the plan to extend your warranty. Here you have a list of daily things to do which include such things as flossing, meditating, walking for 30 minutes a day, and getting the right amount of sleep. <BR/><BR/>Then there's a 14-day plan to help get you started- after that you should pretty much be on the right track. This section gives day-to-day advice and includes things for you to do for your mind AND body, things such as "do something as a family" that day, or "do the Chi-gong workout" today. Diet and exercise advice is also covered substantially in this section. Exercise consists of a YOU2 Workout (made up mainly of a series of stretches) and a Chi-gong Workout- both detailed step-by-step with exercising elves. Also need to mention they require no special equipment-nice! <BR/><BR/>All-in-all it's well worth the read, and for me, it's strength lies in it's vast amount of knowledge it offers on the aging processes of the human body. Packed with the stereotypical YOU tips, quizzes, factoids, and cartoons, most readers will benefit greatly. Also recommend The 5-Minute Plantar Fasciitis Solution if foot pain keeps you from exercising.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Can you extend your body's warranty

    I have recently reviewed another book that deals with the subject of aging, titled "Can We Live 150". I was very much inspired by that book so naturally I went to the book store to see what the YOU doctors have to say about aging. <BR/><BR/>First thing I noticed is the price difference. The other striking difference is the language. While Dr. Tombak, the author of "Can We Live..." writes in simple layman language, doctors Roizen and Oz could not avoid using scientific doctors' language. <BR/><BR/>What I liked in this book is the first part dedicated to "Major Agers" such as genes, oxidation, toxins, sugar, overeating, hormones, UV radiation, etc. This part, consisting of about 300 pages scientifically discusses all the aging factors, and the ways of dealing with them. UV radiation is named as the "major ager", so please keep that in mind the next time you head for the beach. On the other hand the authors also point out the many benefits of sun radiation. As usual, moderation is the answer... <BR/><BR/>Not to be missed is Chapter 16, titled "The Fourteen Day You Extend Warranty Plan". It starts with the following "Daily YOU-Do List": <BR/><BR/>1. Walk thirty minutes <BR/>2. "Floss and brush the teeth that you wish to keep" <BR/>3. Take your pills (Omega-3s, vitamins, calcium supplements, aspirin, etc) <BR/>4. Sleep 7-8 hours <BR/>5. Meditate for 5 minutes <BR/><BR/>Is that all? I would never suspect it is THAT simple... <BR/><BR/>Another chapter that I liked is Chapter 12 titled "Live the Sexy Life". Wow, say that to me again! Yes, sex (love) is important for your wellbeing and keeping young. Grab the book for the explicit details... <BR/><BR/>I gave both books only 4 stars. Does it mean I didn't like them? No, I think they are both great sources of information - each one presented with a different approach - but there is some room for improvement in both cases. So which one should you get? Read the reviews and decide for yourself. I ended up having both of them and I don't regret it, as I think they really complement each other.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    It supplies the information on health everyone should have

    Michael Roizen helps you learn how your body works and how to get in touch with it. The only criticism I have of the book is that Roizen advocates a special diet, rather than focusing on what your body tells you what it needs. None the less, This book is your own owners manual for your own body. To be healthy you have to understand all of the various bodily functions, not just the dogmatic views other books discuss, and what you need to do to keep everything running smoothly and remain and maintain a healthy state. Michael Roizen supplies us with relevant information, dispels myths and gives us real, no-nonsense advice about our bodies and makes you pay attention, understand and make choices. You provides the necessary information in simple terms as a guide to take care of your body from your internal organs point of view. It tells you the type of food that will help your body run well. The main focus is the heart and digestive system which I've found to be tremendously helpful. Very well written and put together. It supplies the information on health everyone should have. Hattely

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    O

    Give this ago April 24 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Not your typical healthy-living book

    I expected subjects dealing with your typical aging topics and this book surprises me every chapter. Telomeres, vagus nerve...this book discusses the nitty gritty about how our bodies function at the cellular level in a way that makes sense to anybody- not just scientists. Very interesting and opens the reader's eyes on how to live healthier and longer in ways they might not have been aware of before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Terrific Guide for Anyone at Any Age

    This is a terrific guide for anyone wanting to stay healthy, despite their age. The writing is excellent, geared for the layperson, and covers all the important information one needs to know to remain physically young. I would also recommed 'THINKING YOUR WAY TO BETTER HEALTH' by Dr. Andrew Goliszek, which teaches the reader how to use the mind-body connection for health and self-healing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    GREAT LIFETIME INFORMATION

    Information on everything and anything that has to do with the human body, and in terms we can all understand. Great, useful advice through out. After i finished the book i realized how easy it is to take care of ourselves if we just put a little effort into it. I consider this book to be like a 'medical bible'- keep it at your bedside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Michael Roizen helps you learn how your body works and how to get in touch with it. The only criticism I have of the book is that Roizen advocates a special diet, rather than focusing on what your body tells you what it needs. None the less, This book is your own owners manual for your own body. To be healthy you have to understand all of the various bodily functions, not just the dogmatic views other books discuss, and what you need to do to keep everything running smoothly and remain and maintain a healthy state. Michael Roizen supplies us with relevant information, dispels myths and gives us real, no-nonsense advice about our bodies and makes you pay attention, understand and make choices. You provides the necessary information in simple terms as a guide to take care of your body from your internal organs point of view. It tells you the type of food that will help your body run well. The main focus is the heart and digestive system which I've found to be tremendously helpful. Very well written and put together. It supplies the information on health everyone should have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    How can I make the most of this information?

    This book is compelling. Many interesting unique views are presented about caring for the body with fascinating metaphors. I am not one for sticking to a diet, but other than that, I believe I can implement almost all of the author's suggestions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Style Gets in the Way

    This book contains good, although in some cases pretty basic information. I thought the chapters on mens' health issues were very informative, and eye opening (e.g., the amount/cause of sexual dysfunction for men over age 50). One annoying feature was the excessive use of comparisons. Although some of this is needed to explain complex concepts to non-medical readers, the frequent use detracted from the educational nature of the material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    A helpful guide on turning back the aging clock

    Many people believe they cannot prevent the physical and mental decline associated with old age. Not true. As you age chronologically, you can ¿reprogram¿ your body and its vital systems, so that you stay relatively young, biologically. Doctors Michael F. Roizen and Mehmet C. Oz, experts on the aging process, explain how. Their helpful guide on reversing the damage of aging is packed with fascinating information about how your body works. It details how to enjoy a healthy, physically vibrant life well into old age. Two minor drawbacks: The writing style and layout can get way too cutesy, and many of the cartoonish line-drawings are just plain gross, depicting internal organs with smiley faces, and creepy liver-spotted characters drenched in icky goo. Otherwise, we applaud this down-to-earth, fact-filled, comprehensive guide to diet, nutrition, exercise, health and maintaining physical youth. Read it to learn how to turn back your biological clock. If you want to make staying young your new hobby, this is your user¿s manual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Reading it, and REALLY can't put it down!

    I have to admit, I haven't finished this yet, but I wanted to be the first to write a review. Thus far---AMAZING! This is one of the best books that I have read that really is challenging me to think differently about my body, and how each system runs, and how they interract and can be maximized. Enough typing..I am going back to read! Pick this up...at best it will help you live a better, more productive life, at worst---a very intriguing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Vital information, well presented

    The authors have provided numerous examples of how we can avert premature aging with easily understood strategies. I have enjoyed previous books by Michael Roizen and this book did not disappoint me. I especially like the main goal which is to make your body top the 'best city to live in' list. I recommend this book along with Optimal Thinking: How To Be Your Best Self which is the mental counterpart of the 'best city to live in.' Read both books from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    It works

    Normally one to read a cult fiction or bestseller such as 'Bitter is the new Black' or McCrae's 'Katzenjammer', i instead chose YOU: STAYING YOUNG. With dementia in my family, this was a must for me. A no brainer if you'll pardon the pun and reference. I highly recommend this to anyone over forty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    What did I just read

    This book didn't make any sense to me. I'm 89 years old and I want to live forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Written with irrepressible quirky humour and granite-solid research

    I was a little weary of reading this book but was soon thinking differently, I have gained a lot of knowledge about my own body and the workings and importance of some vital organs. Written with irrepressible quirky humour and granite-solid research, was a review I read. I have to agree

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    YOUseful Information

    This is a really neat book and must be a good inch and a half thick! It's divided up into two parts..... The theme of Part I is why you age and how you stay young. This section makes up roughly three quarters of the book. It deals mainly with what the book calls the 'major agers.' Examples of these include short telomeres, toxins, and ultraviolet radiation..... Part II is the plan to extend your warranty. Here you have a list of daily things to do which include such things as flossing, meditating, walking for 30 minutes a day, and getting the right amount of sleep..... Then there's a 14-day plan to help get you started- after that you should pretty much be on the right track. This section gives day-to-day advice and includes things for you to do for your mind AND body, things such as 'do something as a family' that day, or 'do the Chi-gong workout' today. Diet and exercise advice is also covered substantially in this section. Exercise consists of a YOU2 Workout (made up mainly of a series of stretches) and a Chi-gong Workout- both detailed step-by-step with exercising elves. Also need to mention they require no special equipment-nice!..... All-in-all it's well worth the read, and for me, it's strength lies in it's vast amount of knowledge it offers on the aging processes of the human body. Packed with the stereotypical YOU tips, quizzes, factoids, and cartoons, most readers will benefit greatly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2