BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

You Suck

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Recommend fot teenage girls. Maybe boys. Possibly =P

For all the teenagers(girls) you must buy You Suck!! You have to check it out!! Such an adorable romance/sorta horror novel. Read it and you will totally understand.

posted by Bookworm14MR on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Teeheeheeheeheehee

Hi my name is person mcpersonpants and i am part of a secret society called randomness unincorporated. To join go tp random acts result one. Do you know the muffin man? If you do, tell him that just because he stole my bathtub and hid it on another planet doesnt mean he...
Hi my name is person mcpersonpants and i am part of a secret society called randomness unincorporated. To join go tp random acts result one. Do you know the muffin man? If you do, tell him that just because he stole my bathtub and hid it on another planet doesnt mean he can steal the qwertle turtle. The qwertle turtle contributes to our society. If you are the tooth fairy, i am sorry about the boat nectar that came from above, the choir of singing sandwiches, and your face. Yeah. Ya know why? Because i still havent forgiven you for the oldrn days when fishes swarmed the city and Derpy had that bathtub with silver wings and we would use it to go get the peanut butter for the amazingly fishfaced Alien named Fl¿gels¿ork¿l. But then we ran out of peanut butter so we decided to buy a sledgehammer in case we threw a frankfurtur party. Just dont ask, ok? You shouldnt question my sanity because living too close to a camel causes people to do that. Now if you live too lose to a penguin then you suddenly have a feeling that you want some chicken. Happy birthday, Asparagus and i hope you get a hamburger and a cheesecake made out of a mixture of cheese and cake. Derpderpderpderpderpsherpdaherpdaderpderpderpderpderpderpderpderpderpderpderpderpderpderpderp

posted by 5111937 on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't Suck

    Wasn't as good as the first book, but certainly didn't suck. In "You Suck" the misadventures of San Francisco's urban undead continue when Jody turns her boyfriend Tommy into a vampire and a "nosferatu" sh*t storm is unleashed throughout the city. Most of the characters from the first book return and the story is ripe with what I'm beginning to think is Moore's characteristic wit and caustic humor. Although I was somewhat disappointed with the story's pace, or lack thereof, Moore redeems himself by introducing several absurd new characters who at times had me audibly guffawing. My favorite by far was Abby Normal, a temperamental gothic teenager with a flare for dramatics. Abby spends a good bit of the story staring into dumpsters like they're the "abyss of her despair" and flouting local authorities with such gems as, "Like, duh sergeant ass bag. I happen to speak obvious as a second language." Amazing.
    In any case, if you've read "Blood Sucking Fiends", I would absolutely recommend "You Suck". Just know that as often happens with sequels, this one does fall mildly short of the glory.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forced & Fun

    This was a fun book, but definitely more forced than the first in the series, Bloodsucking Fiends. I still laughed a lot and enjoyed the story, but some of the humor was a little less organic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic Moore Tale

    I highly recommend this book for anyone whose sense of humor has a dark side. If you are a fan of vampire stories, but need a break from the typical this story is for you. As a sequel to the also very entertaining "Blooksucking Fiends" Moore does not disapoint, picking up the story where he left off and dragging you in page by page.
    It will be very hard for you to put this book down, and for that reason be thankful it is a quick read, even though I found myself wanting more (which is deliverind in the finale to this trilogy).
    Moore twisted sense of humor shines through delivered through some interesting characters who really star in this novel. Suffice it to say this is not your average vampire book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You Suck Moore!

    This book was a fun easy read. The charectors are funny and they grow on you. Fun over all read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    Christopher Moore is awesome

    I thought I'd get bored with this plot because You Suck follows A Dirty Job and Blood Sucking Fiends, but much to my surprise, I was entertaining through out. A Great Book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    I love it!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Vampire Romp

    Jody and Tommy are fledgling vampires, and they are in love. They just want to live their undeath together, but amid trying to move, finding a minion, and fending off Tommy's vampire-hunting, drug-addled friends, they must also face a murderous master vampire, who has been unwittingly set loose on the streets of San Francisco.<BR/><BR/>About a page into this book, I realized that I was reading a sequel. Bloodsucking Fiends precedes You Suck, but the novel works well on its own, and sums up events of the past without being too exposition heavy.<BR/><BR/>Moore reminds me quite a lot of Terry Pratchett, if the Discworld books were set in present-day America. He strikes that balance between absurdity and plot, and I found myself laughing aloud many times while reading, even as I couldn't stop turning the pages. His characters are richly drawn, from the major character to secondary characters like Blue, the blue-skinned call girl/hustler, homeless celebrity the Emperor of San Francisco, and of course, Jody and Tommy's perky goth-girl minion, Abby Normal. Even the huge shaved cat is given a distinct personality. I definitely want to go back and read Bloodsucking Fiends, and I will probably continue with more of Moore's work, particularly A Dirty Job and Lamb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    A great read

    This was a real fun book. I live in California so it was cool how well he mixed the culture of San Fransisco with an off-beat Vampire love story. There is a lot of language so steer clear if that disturbs you, and the characters aren't what you'd describe as moral (one is a whore). The pace starts fast and slows a bit towards the middle and then gets fast again at the end. The plot is a bit simple but told very entertainingly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Goofy Amateurish B-movie Schlock¿ Loved It

    If you can live with the contradiction that something can be stupid with no redeeming qualities whatsoever and be highly entertaining at the same time (e.g., SNL, Monty Python, and Shaun of the Dead) then you just might love this book. I did. Yeah, this story is a continuation of Bloodsucking Fiends which I haven¿t read yet. But frankly, I don¿t think the characters and plotline are so intricate that you won¿t easily find your way through the book. Shaving the street bum¿s cat so that Thomas can suck its blood without getting a mouthful of fur is just as funny regardless of whether the bum or the cat appeared in the first book or not. Same old zany stuff, different day. If you read another Christopher Moore book, didn¿t like it, but thought you¿d take another chance then think again. If you like Carl Hiaasen and aren¿t afraid to go a little further out on the limb of the sanity tree, you¿ll probably enjoy this book. If you¿ve already licked the salt and slugged back the tequila, then you¿re ready to take a bite of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    On Target Again

    This follows the characters of Bloodsucking Fiends which was a great read, as is this. However, it is a bit less offensive than some topics that Moore addresses. If you like fun and some good dialogue that will make you laugh out loud...read this one. Vampires seem to be of interest to many readers, young and old, and this one is perfect to get your feet wet with Moore and with vamps, in general. You have to love Moore's characters as he creates some too funny people that you would really not mind running into, even in the dark streets of San Francisco. A laugh is a laugh, afterall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    Pretty funny

    I bought the book because of the title, but after reading it, it didn't suck - it was pretty funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5