Customer Reviews for

You, the Owner's Manual: An Insider's Guide to the Body That Will Make You Healthier and Younger

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Anatomy and Physiology for Dummies

In short, just a very fun and informative book with several worthy goals. For one, it educates your average person in the inner workings of the human body. It does this quite entertainingly through frequent quizzes, trivia, facts, and interesting pictures- for instance ...
In short, just a very fun and informative book with several worthy goals. For one, it educates your average person in the inner workings of the human body. It does this quite entertainingly through frequent quizzes, trivia, facts, and interesting pictures- for instance the authors use a lot of elf cartoon. Corny, but fun.

Additionally, the book also gives one many helpful tips on how to keep their body running smoother and it is a pretty informative and amusing read that should enhance the well-being of many- especially middle-agers like me who want to learn more about how their bodies work so they can keep it running smoothly in the years to come. Aged readers may also be interested in Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff to keep the shoulder working well- 54% of people over the age of 60 have a torn rotator cuff.

Note: People who have read the first "You The Owner's Manual" will notice additional information on the liver and pancreas, as well as a new workout chapter.

posted by 262591 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good info for an uninformed american

This is a book claiming to be an outline for how to stay healthy, but not once do the authors recommend eating ORGANIC produce. It appears they too are under the spell of the big corporations of this country. This book is an easy read for the average person who knows ...
This is a book claiming to be an outline for how to stay healthy, but not once do the authors recommend eating ORGANIC produce. It appears they too are under the spell of the big corporations of this country. This book is an easy read for the average person who knows little about the human body and its functions, yet the authors are still traditionally trained medical doctors who think drugs and surgery are the best way to treat ailments of the human body. Go ahead and read this book if you'd like to continue eating your animals, dairy, coke and coffee along with your daily dose of drugs, but I recommend a more truthful and natural way of healing the body, as in many of the books written by Paul Bragg.

posted by Anonymous on November 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Anatomy and Physiology for Dummies

    In short, just a very fun and informative book with several worthy goals. For one, it educates your average person in the inner workings of the human body. It does this quite entertainingly through frequent quizzes, trivia, facts, and interesting pictures- for instance the authors use a lot of elf cartoon. Corny, but fun. <BR/><BR/>Additionally, the book also gives one many helpful tips on how to keep their body running smoother and it is a pretty informative and amusing read that should enhance the well-being of many- especially middle-agers like me who want to learn more about how their bodies work so they can keep it running smoothly in the years to come. Aged readers may also be interested in Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff to keep the shoulder working well- 54% of people over the age of 60 have a torn rotator cuff. <BR/><BR/>Note: People who have read the first "You The Owner's Manual" will notice additional information on the liver and pancreas, as well as a new workout chapter.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    The Wizards OZ & ROIZEN

    All of Drs. Roizen and Oz's books are choc-full of common-sense discussions of, and solutions to, widely experienced health issues and concerns. Written in easily understood layman's terms, it is still appropriate for either the inexperienced or more knowledgeable patient. Don't be fooled by the simplicity of presentation. There is solid, valuable information contained within the pages, which can make navigating the oft confusing waters toward a healthier lifestyle more efficient and rewarding.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Good info for an uninformed american

    This is a book claiming to be an outline for how to stay healthy, but not once do the authors recommend eating ORGANIC produce. It appears they too are under the spell of the big corporations of this country. This book is an easy read for the average person who knows little about the human body and its functions, yet the authors are still traditionally trained medical doctors who think drugs and surgery are the best way to treat ailments of the human body. Go ahead and read this book if you'd like to continue eating your animals, dairy, coke and coffee along with your daily dose of drugs, but I recommend a more truthful and natural way of healing the body, as in many of the books written by Paul Bragg.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Smart, simple ways to care for your body

    In the words of Oprah's favorite doctor, Mehmet C. Oz, and his co-author, Michael F. Roizen, "We're not going to make the science simplistic; we're going to make it simple." Their book describes how your body works in understandable, engaging terms and gives you an easy-to-follow strategy for making adjustments that will extend your life and improve your health. Roizen and Oz take you on a tour of your body, beginning with the heart and covering all the organs. They include a realistic diet and workout plan, fun illustrations and answers to common questions. getAbstract recommends this guide to all those well-intentioned people who know they should eat right and exercise more, but want to understand why.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Excellent

    There is a reason Dr. Mehmet C. Oz and Michael F. Roizen write best-sellers--their books are excellent. You: The Owner's Manual, Updated and Expanded Edition: An Insider's Guide to the Body that Will Make You Healthier and Younger, they outdo themselves. This edition has been carefully updated and expanded to teach the reader everything we need to know to keep our bodies healthy and young. Specifically, the updated version includes a chapter on the liver, new recipes and a new workout. The book also includes a 100 FAQ's from their reader's inquiries. The book resembles the Dummies in layout and tone and the authors write simply and, at times, with humor. Included are 'Factoids' and the like. The book begins with information on how to achieve superior health. There are chapters on the major organs and how they function, cancer, workouts and recipes. There is an extensive index, a must for this type of book.The reference book is a must for every library. By the author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    Outstanding!!!

    'You, the Owner's Manual' really is a great book! It taught me in ways other books can't---through interesting writing, questions, trivia and so forth. I always try to find at least something good in each book that I read, and this one has SO MANY great and interesting points. I would put this as a MUST read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    You

    Drs. Roizen and Oz¿s book takes a unique look at the human body and how it works. The book explores different body systems providing a simple, down to earth explanation of how each system works. The illustrations are not only amusing but provide a visual description of how each system works. Common myths are debunked in each section and are done in a way that fosters an understanding of how the human body works. Most importantly, each chapter contains action steps which provide practical steps to help the reader live a more healthy life. I am a certified family nurse practitioner and after reading this book, I felt that I had a better understanding of the human body. In addition, Drs. Roizen and Oz¿s easy to understand explanations have tremendously improved my ability to teach my patients. Ray Lengel, Certified Nurse Practitioner, Author Health Care Responsibility: The Older Adults Guide to Surviving the Health Care System

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Easy to understand

    Usually these health books are dry, but this book is fascinating. A must read if you want to understand your body.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book on the basics of the Human Body

    Good book to get a basic understanding of the functions of the human body. And some good basic advice for care. A worthwhile book for your reference shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Too vague for someone with any medical background

    If you have no medical background, never worked in lab, xray, nursing, housekeeping etc..
    you might like this book.
    It is pretty light on info imho.
    Does not hve pics of some of what has been on Oz's show which would be helpful for general public .
    anatomy pics that is..
    for instance. My sis in law wanted to know what normal feces should look like, I tried to find a pic in this book. Not there. Yet Oz talks about the colon, pooping etc a lot.
    that is just one little example.
    if you can get this book for 10.00 , get it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Information

    This book is great to get the propective of what you need to know about your health. Give you the information you need to stay in good health.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I love Dr. Oz-Big Fan of You books

    I had to buy this book for my Health Science class which we used as a text. It is so amazing and easy to read! I love the imagery that they use to explain things to you so that you truly understand what is going on with your body. It motivated me to make myself more of a priority and actually think about what I eat and how I exercise. If you are interested in changing your current lifestyle to a healthy one, this book is for you. I had been debating about getting it before the class and was excited that the teacher chose it as our book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Good educational tool

    This book helped us find clear answers to questions we had about different bodily functions, cholesterol,high blood pressure. It is easy to read and understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Finally, an amusing health book.

    I used this book as the textbook for the health class I took. It was not like the regular textbooks nor was it like the typical medicine/health informative books we always see. It really engages you and the analogies it uses make it so easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    Great book to have on hand

    I thought i knew everything until i read through this book. Very informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Everyone should own a copy of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Drs. Oz and Roiszen strike again!

    This recording of You the Owner's Manual is packed with useful information told in an amuzing way. The two pop docs keep you smiling while giving you vital information to make changes in your life. (This would also make a great primer on similes and metaphors for a junior high school English class if it weren't for all the adult-aimed sex references!)<BR/><BR/>Worth a listen, if you want to change your eating habilts, know more about how your body works, and get healthy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Anatomy and physiology for dummies.

    In short, just a very informative book with several worthy goals. For one, it educates the reader in the inner workings of the human body. It does this quite entertainingly through trivia, facts, and interesting pictures (for instance the authors use a lot of elves). Additionally, the book also gives you many helpful tips on how to keep your body running smoother. While there is a lot information, I really would like to have seen a reference section at the end of the book to support its advice- some of it could be considered controversial in medical circles (who hasn't had the experience first-hand or at least heard of two doctors disagreeing about the treatment of a medical problem). All in all, a pretty informative and amusing read, it should enhance the well-being of many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Enjoyable education

    After taking the test and dicovering how much I knew about my body, I then gained new insights and explored myths. Enlightening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Healthy Dose of Wisdom

    I've no idea if it's the best book out there for You,but anyone who thoughtfully reads this guide and applies its wisdom will greatly benefit from its smart, straight-forward approach to practical, healthy eating and exercise habits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5