Customer Reviews for

You Were Made to Make a Difference

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    loved it!

    Max Lucado collaborated with his daughter Jenna Lucado Bishop in this book for teens. It gives easy, practical tips of ways that you can serve God and your community. I enjoyed how easy this book is to understand, and yet it's packed with great truths. It displays stories of teens who made a difference, who realized that God created them to do more in their lives than what immediately benefits them. You Were Made to Make a Difference is enjoyable and clear, full of inspiring stories of young people who rose beyond negative stereotypes and did something to help someone else.

    One of my favorite chapters was chapter five: Unplug and Tune In. It talked about how our generation is dulled by technology and media, rarely taking the time to "unplug the headphones," and see the need around them.

    I think that the ideas in this book are vital for teens who need to step out of their comfort zone and make a difference for someone who can't do it on their own. Max Lucado and Jenna Bishop did a fabulous job of making this relevant for teenagers.

    I'd recommend this book to anyone who has read and enjoyed books like Do Hard Things and Start Here by Alex & Brett Harris. My rating? Four stars. Great job, Max and Jenna.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Good book if you're a teen

    "You Were Made to Make a Difference" was overall an average book in my opinion. From a young persons perspective, it was much like all of the other motivational type books I have read.
    For someone that needs some encouragement, or someone who is unhappy with their lives, this would be a great read for them.

    Geared toward teens and young adults, this book is basically help for the lost soul. The title pretty much confirms what the book is about. The writing style is appropriate for a young mind and is a quick motivational read.

    Overall, this book gets 2/5 stars.

    I received this book for free from book sneeze .com and was required to write a review n
    The opinions I expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    We can change the world, with God's help

    In their book, You Were Made to Make a Difference, Max and Jenna Lucado make great strides at teaching the youth of the world that it doesn't matter how young you are, you can make a difference. It doesn't come right out and say it, but their idea behind this book seems to be built upon the biblical passage of 2 Timothy, where the Apostle Paul teaches Timothy that even though he is young, he is being used by God in a mighty way.

    This book is broken down into three distinct sections. The first section deals with our belonging to God the Father. What it is saying is that in every avenue of our everyday lives, we are God's, no doubt about it. The second section deals with us reaching out and serving others. We were not made to go through life alone, nor were we made to ignore the needs of those who are right in front of us. We must, at all costs sometimes, help others. The final section deals with stepping up to the plate and making a long lasting impact on the world around us. It doesn't matter how smart, old or young, wealthy, etc. you are, you can and should be making a difference for the world. The biggest difference that you and I can make is bringing the Good News of Jesus Christ to a hurting world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Add it to your shelf!

    I thought it was well written and a great resource, but honestly - I don't know too many teenagers that are in the business of reading for fun! This is a great book to keep on your shelf as a resource when you want to encourage the passions of young kids to make a difference. I also think it's a great resource to use as the basis of a curriculum on helping kids understand their purpose and value in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    You Were Made to Make a Difference - Review

    You Were Made to Make a Difference is the second Max Lucado book I read (this one is co-written with his daughter Jenna Lucado Bishop). And expectations were a bit high, after reading Fearless.

    But, it was such a pleasure reading this book. I loved the writing style (especially Jenna's). Almost everything about this book was so lovable and inspiring. the cover, the different fonts, the stories, everything.

    This book is aimed at teenagers, to inspire them to make a difference. And surely it did inspire me. It made me realize that I, too, was made to make a difference, and that I need not wait till I grow up to make one. I guess even adults would love the awesomeness in the book and be inspired.

    If you are in your teens, then this book is a must read. And if you are an adult. well, then do find some time and go through this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    You Were Made to Make a Difference by Max Lucado and Jenna Lucado Bishop

    This book is a book aimed toward the teenage population, to motivate them to go out and to make a difference in the world. It teaches what the Bible says about going out and doing, and the best part is that it is focused on the teenage generation. It shows them how to make a difference in simple ways, and right in their home towns.
    I truly enjoyed this book, and even though it was geared toward teenagers, I found myself challenged in different areas of my life as well! My husband is a youth pastor, and I liked this book so much that we are planning on possibly using it as a series for our weekly youth meeting. The book talks about who God is and how He loves each one of us. It also talks to teens about just how important is is to get out and to help others, to help those in need, because that is what we were called to do. The authors also included stories of teenagers around the country who have made a difference in their communities as well as many different ideas to get teens started in making a difference.
    Although I didn't quite like some of the analogies used in the book, I would recommend this book to not only teenagers wondering how to get closer to God and to make a change in their community, but also to youth leaders, volunteers, and people who are seeking God and ways to serve Him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    Made to Make a Difference

    I enjoyed reading You Were Made to Make a Difference, by Max Lucado and Jenna Lucado-Bishop. Though the book was written for a teenage audience, it can easily be applied to the lives of adults. While Max Lucado's commentary and input is written in a more mature way that is more applicable to older readers, Jenna Lucado-Bishop's commentary and input is appealing to a younger audience. Together, the two author's created a work that can be inspirational to a varied group of readers.

    As an adult who actively works in our church's teen group, I read the book and thought about ways I could adapt the content and teach it in lessons. The book could be used to create lessons that address the entire heterogeneous group, or it could be taught in a small-group setting to a homogeneous group. Either way, both the teacher and the students will benefit from the information in the book. I loved how the book included stories of teenagers who truly had made a large, lasting difference in the lives of others. The examples prove that anyone is capable of making a change, and everyone was made to make a difference in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must-read!

    You Were Made to Make a Difference by Max Lucado and Jenna Lucado Bishop (with Natalie Gillespie) is an inspiring, practical guidebook for teens of all ages. (This is the teen version of Max Lucado's Outlive Your Life.) By presenting the first church of Acts in an easy-to-read style, Max Lucado and his daughter Jenna teach teenagers that they can make a difference, no matter their ages or limitations.

    In the pages of You Were Made to Make a Difference, I found comfort and inspiration. I am a huge fan of books that teach me, a teenager, to live beyond the world's normal standards. In my own life, I am striving to make a difference, and this book gave me more thoughts and plans for outliving my life.

    The point of the book is this: no matter your age, no matter how much money you have, no matter your family situation, no matter your limitations; God can use you. God wants to use you. I cannot argue with that at all.

    Content aside, this book is just fun to read. It has really cool designs, stories of other teen's make-a-difference lives, and extra info about ministries that accept teenage help. I must say that I am a huge fan of Max Lucado's writing style. I have read several of his teen books in the past, like He Chose You, Just Like Jesus, It's Not About Me, Facing Your Giants, and 3:16. I love the fact that he doesn't over-simplify the information like some authors do, assuming that just because the book is written for teens, the book can't have a powerful, in-the-world-not-of-the-world message.

    It is interesting to note that I read the above mentioned books when I was twelve and thirteen. I was interested to see how You Were Made to Make a Difference would affect me now, as an older teenager. But it was completely applicable to my life now. I think this book would be a great read for anyone from 10 to 20 years old.

    "So spend some time with Jesus. Ask him to change you. Ask him to love through you. Then...THEN...you can make the difference you were designed to make" (199).


    **I received my copy of You Were Made to Make a Difference free from Thomas Nelson Publishers via booksneeze.com. I was not paid to review this book. I was asked to give my honest opinion of this book, and my review was in no way influenced by Thomas Nelson Publishers.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Teens, Listen Up!

    You Were Made to Make a Difference, by Max Lucado and Jenna Lucado Bishop, is an inspiring book for preteens or teens. It urges teens to use their God-given talents in the world around them. Each chapter includes the story of a young person who has made a difference and gives tips on how the reader can become the next one to make a difference. I would recommend the teen version especially to Christians who are striving to make a difference in their public schools because they might have the opportunity to share this book with one of their friends after reading it themselves. You Were Made to Made a Difference is not recommended for adults because it uses only the vocabulary of today's teen culture. In fact, teens who are striving to have high expectations for themselves may also want to read the adult version, Outlive Your Life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Awesome book!

    I haven't even finished reading the whole book yet but I had to share it. You were made to make a difference was written by Max Lucado and his daughter Jenna Lucado Bishop. It is the teen version of Outlive your Life.
    The witty style, the heartbreaking facts and the down to earth writing style really cuts down to your heart.

    Did you know that there is enough food on the planet to offer every person 2,500 calories of sustenance a day?

    Why the heck are there people who have nothing to eat when I can shove a whole pizza down my throat. Wow, that hit me between the eyes.

    Max poses three questions that were asked of him.
    1. If you were a German Christian during World War II, would you have taken a stand against Hitler?
    2. If you had lived in the south during the civil rights conflict, would you have taken a stand against racism?
    3. When your grandchildren discover you lived during a day when 1.75 billion people were poor and 1 billion were hungry, how will they judge what you did to help?

    It is easy to say "of course" to the first two, we weren't there, but we can saw that we would have stood up for what is right. But, question 3 is now. We have to answer to it. How are we going to?

    I am so excited about this book. I am going to write an email to my church youth pastor and share this amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Motivating and Well-Written!

    You Were Made to Make a Difference is an adaptation of Outlive Your Life by Max Lucado. He and his daughter put together this book for teens, encouraging them that they can and should make a difference in the world. It encourages teens that their role in life is bigger than they might expect, and that they truly can make a difference for God.

    This book is fun, interactive, and chock full of stories, valuable resources, and interesting information about practical ways to get out there and make a difference in the lives of others. I feel that this is what sets this book apart from other motivational books for teens - it shows specific needs in the world, which provides opportunity for teens to turn around and put what they have learned into practice.

    I feel that this book will help teens to see that God does have a plan for them, and it doesn't take much to make a difference in this world. All it really takes is letting God start working in your life.

    This book is a great gift for teens, but I feel that it would also be worthwhile for any parents of teens to read as well.

    I was given this book for free in exchange for my honest opinion from the Book Sneeze program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1