Customer Reviews for

You on a Diet: The Owner's Manual for Waist Management

Average Rating 3
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

May or may not be for YOU

I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

Hence, if you...
I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

Hence, if you strip away all the elf pictures and humor, 'You: On a Diet' really has nothing more to offer than that. So if you're looking for a new slant to things, or some cutting edge weight loss plan, you'll probably be disappointed.

Having said that, for what it is- a quite entertaining weight loss book that explains in plain language how your body gains/loses weight and details a sensible diet and exercise plan- it is well worth your time and money. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for those who need motivation to keep exercising and dieting long enough to see results.

posted by 207945 on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fat book with nothing new

I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences no...
I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences not 2 pages. What is new here? I did not learn anything. It was like watching a boring movie and hoping for something to happen, but before you knew it, it is over and you wasted 5 hours. I did not enjoy this at all. Is there 0 star here? I am forced to choose 1 star.

posted by Jennifercastro on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    May or may not be for YOU

    I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both. <BR/><BR/>Hence, if you strip away all the elf pictures and humor, 'You: On a Diet' really has nothing more to offer than that. So if you're looking for a new slant to things, or some cutting edge weight loss plan, you'll probably be disappointed. <BR/><BR/>Having said that, for what it is- a quite entertaining weight loss book that explains in plain language how your body gains/loses weight and details a sensible diet and exercise plan- it is well worth your time and money. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for those who need motivation to keep exercising and dieting long enough to see results.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Not Just Another Diet Book

    I am an educated, well-read, exercising health nut who was over weight. For those who have said that this is just another diet book, I would have to disagree--at least for me. I have researched, read and practiced virtually every diet book published in the past five years. This is the first book I found to be so entertaining that I truly processed the information. It also lacks the counting aspect of many diets. Additionally, I found that the doctors in this book lack the superior way of speaking to obese patients. 'Just eat less and exercise,' has been the advice for many years. It doesn't always work that way. These doctors helped me to lose inches because they took the time to understand why some people are overweight. I haven't had a Twinkie since I was a teenager but I get accused of it every time I visit a weight loss doctor.This book explains why I was overweight even though I was eating what I thought to be healthy foods. I also like the critique on supplements. They didn't give a blanket bad review of all, and they even recommended a few. I learned much from this book and recommend it highly to those who not only want to lose weight (or inches rather) but also to those who simply wish to live healthier.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    A Real Eye-Opener

    I had seen this on Oprah and thought i would give it a shot. WOW. the info packed in this book!!

    This has helped me change my lifestyle so much. Single most important tool for my motivation. It only took about 1-2 weeks to change my habits & tastes...now I can't stand eating "unhealthy". I hate the feeling of it on my stomach...and to think, that's what I thought "full" felt like!! I've eaten french fries [my former weakness] twice in the last 14weeks, and regretted it both times...not because of "guilt", but because of the physical "gross" feeling. I learned you don't have to feel that way!!

    My energy is through the roof. I am the first one up in the morning, the last one to sleep at night, all without an alarm clock. I make sure I get the 30min walk MINIMUM everyday & eat as the book recommends and I feel like a new woman. The inches are coming off, I haven't been this size since before my first pregnancy.

    Most importantly, I don't feel like I am on a diet. I feel like I am in charge, nothing is off limits. If after you start this lifestyle change and you still think you want cake...i say go for it, because you won't do it again after you see what effect it has on your body, energy, and mind. It's like someone saying "don't touch that it's hot" and you touch it anyways...you learn from your mistakes and you don't make them again.


    They did a thorough job of explaining everything from A-Z. They used examples & metaphors to help illustrate the science jargon. Plus there are lots of great recipes in the back, great for getting started!

    A few things I didn't like about it:
    -i wish they put the fast facts at the end of the chapter, not as side notes... gets overwhelming
    -the color of the cover is the exact same as a box of Oreos...made me hungry in those first couple weeks..lol...i threw the cover away & that took care of that: )
    -he makes many, many, many food references in the book, and if you are easily influenced, again, makes you hungry for what every he's bad-mouthing: ) Its not that way after you kick those habits.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As a Personal Fitness Trainer---this hits the mark!!!

    Very few diet books, in my opinion, do as good of a job as YOU on a Diet does. I am a fitness trainer and nutritional consultant all day long, so staying on top of the reading material helps me help my clients. Lots of diet books just give you quick fixes that are not sustainable...actually, at our gym, we feel EVERY diet book does that. But, this book has a nice way of teaching the reader some valuable points about dieting, metabolism, and reaching their goals. So, pick this up and keep it handy. And, if you are REALLY serious about getting to your fitness goals (and being happy as you do it---and not being one of those miserable dieters) then pick up: "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow"...it is tops on our list of recommended readings for EVERY one of our clients. It will be the best book you read, to help you truly be happy as you identify and attain your fitness/body/weight goals. AND, it is a quick read! If you buy YOU on a Diet then definitely get "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow"

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    It supplies the information on health everyone should have

    Michael Roizen helps you learn how your body works and how to get in touch with it. The only criticism I have of the book is that Roizen advocates a special diet, rather than focusing on what your body tells you what it needs. None the less, This book is your own owners manual for your own body. To be healthy you have to understand all of the various bodily functions, not just the dogmatic views other books discuss, and what you need to do to keep everything running smoothly and remain and maintain a healthy state. Michael Roizen supplies us with relevant information, dispels myths and gives us real, no-nonsense advice about our bodies and makes you pay attention, understand and make choices. You provides the necessary information in simple terms as a guide to take care of your body from your internal organs point of view. It tells you the type of food that will help your body run well. The main focus is the heart and digestive system which I've found to be tremendously helpful. Very well written and put together. It supplies the information on health everyone should have. Hattely

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Buy This Book Now!

    Do not for one second pay attention to the negative reviews. This book is great because it's not really a diet book but a healthy living book. I thought I couldn't lose weight b/c I have never had the dicipline or desire to diet. Because I was eating way too much sugar I was on a constant roller coaster of hunger. For me, packing my lunch, watching my sugar intake, and cutting out hydro. fat and corn syrup have been the answer. What makes this book unique is that it uncovers the mystery of how your brain and body process food. Understanding the science of hunger and cravings was most helpful. For those readers who didn't like the cartoon elves and silly humor: Lighten up and get a sense of humor!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    healthy living

    This book is more than a diet book. It's about making good choices. Healthy choices. It's about changing the way you look at food, and applying them. Not just for your self but for your whole family. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    Excellent!

    I do not understand the bad reviews because to me this book is the best. It gives you the nuts and bolts to WHY you gain weight biologically and gives you common sense ways to lose weight and be healthy. It is an in depth analysis to the way your body and mind works in regards to food and dieting. In one month I have lost 9 pounds incorporating the recommended theories and practices. I love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Best Book on Dieting I've EVER Read

    It's NOT just a diet book. It's a lifestyle book that is informative on so many levels. This book really helped me connect the dots about what happens to our bodies when we eat what we eat. I've already read it twice. It's written with a sense of humor, too. Even if you don't want to or need to loose weight, it's a great tool to become fit and stay healthy.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very informational and simple to understand

    I purchased this book 3 weeks ago, read through it and began following the recommendations. While somewhat "high school biology", it was informative and simple in its explanations. Great illustrations and very good recipes included.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Wrong information

    This book has some serious mistakes in fat classification. Omega-6 fatty acids are in the wrong category and no measures on what is a healthy ratio to the omega-3. Seroius stuff that has serious health consequences like heart disease and cancer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Fat book with nothing new

    I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences not 2 pages. What is new here? I did not learn anything. It was like watching a boring movie and hoping for something to happen, but before you knew it, it is over and you wasted 5 hours. I did not enjoy this at all. Is there 0 star here? I am forced to choose 1 star.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    May or may not be for YOU

    I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

    Hence, if you strip away all the elf pictures and humor, 'You: On a Diet' really has nothing more to offer than that. So if you're looking for a new slant to things, or some cutting edge weight loss plan, you'll probably be disappointed.

    Having said that, for what it is- a quite entertaining weight loss book that explains in plain language how your body gains/loses weight and details a sensible diet and exercise plan- it is well worth your time and money. Also recommend "The Sixty-Second Motivator" for those who need motivation to keep exercising and dieting long enough to see results.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent and informative

    Very good read to get anyone back on track to claim their health and life back. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    Misleading Information

    Even after I found the first glaring errors in this book, I still kept trying to read it. But I finally decided that if the only material I could trust was the material I already knew about, the book wasn't worth reading. In the section on fats, for example, the authors put omega-3s and omega-6s in the monounsaturated fats category, along with their associated foods, when in fact they're polyunsaturated. 'And there was no caution about the ratio of omega-3s to omega-6s, or the different effects of mono- and polyunsaturated fats on HDL.' This isn't arcane information it's in every other diet or nutrition book you can find. I also found the book to be too alarmist about some things and too cavalier about others. For example, after the nightmarish cartoon sequence about the damage high blood pressure can do to the arteries and the seeming inevatibility of a heart attack from this damage, the authors later give 117/76 as the 'normal' blood pressure, implying that, say, 130/79 puts a person into the nightmare scenario. Although the 117 systolic may be ideal, 130 is by no means lethal, and in much of the current literature is considered to be not even hypertensive but only prehypertensive. Similarly, in the discussion of cholesterol, the authors hold up 100 as the ideal HDL level, which might lead people with excellent HDL levels in, say, the 60s or 70s to think they're in danger, and the authors say nothing about the importance of the LDL/HDL ratio, which may be the most important figure of all. Conversely, the book blithely advises people to take various supplements, with few cautions about overdoses, toxicity, or the dangers of unsupervised combining of supplements. I could go on, but the fact is that as the errors and bad advice kept piling up, I stopped reading the book halfway through, since I could no longer trust it at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Disappointed

    It's a typical diet book. I was expecting something different. Also, the book contains tables that do not display properly on the nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    A book I read over and over

    This book is like my bible because I refer to it over and over. I believe it has changed my life. What I like most about it, is that it is simple and easy to read. The doctors break down the topics to a level that anyone can understand, regardless if they have a medical background or not.

    They introduce some healthy living tenets that are fairly easy to adopt. My personal favorite was to eliminate high fructose corn syrup from my diet. I have noticed a great difference since I've done this. I also find that if I do eat something with high fructose corn syrup that I immediately crave more sweet stuff so it's pretty cool to be able to be that attuned with your appetite.

    The doctors advocate reading the labels of all the foods you purchase and that can't be a bad thing! They list items that you should look for in the first five ingredients of the items you want to purchase. If the item has one of those taboo things in the first five, then you shouldn't buy it. It makes choosing healthy foods in the grocery store amazingly easy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Okay

    If you want a fad diet, this might just be the diet for you. I really like Dr. OZ and his program and thought the book was okay, but it lacks serious information on good and bad fats. I do think it is a book that was placed in a little time and effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Too much hype, nothing new

    I got this book after much anticipation. It is pretty much the same information with nothing new; eating right, living a healthy lifestyle and tons of boring stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Oprah can make beselelrs out of garbage

    I can not believe this book is a best seller, I did not enjoy this at all, it was way too wordy, does not read well. Pretty much the same information, eat right and excercsie. Thanks for the tip and taking my 25 dollars.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12