BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

You on a Diet: The Owner's Manual for Waist Management

Average Rating 3
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

May or may not be for YOU

I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

Hence, if you...
I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

Hence, if you strip away all the elf pictures and humor, 'You: On a Diet' really has nothing more to offer than that. So if you're looking for a new slant to things, or some cutting edge weight loss plan, you'll probably be disappointed.

Having said that, for what it is- a quite entertaining weight loss book that explains in plain language how your body gains/loses weight and details a sensible diet and exercise plan- it is well worth your time and money. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for those who need motivation to keep exercising and dieting long enough to see results.

posted by 207945 on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fat book with nothing new

I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences no...
I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences not 2 pages. What is new here? I did not learn anything. It was like watching a boring movie and hoping for something to happen, but before you knew it, it is over and you wasted 5 hours. I did not enjoy this at all. Is there 0 star here? I am forced to choose 1 star.

posted by Jennifercastro on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    Excellent book to understand how your body interacts and reacts to food

    This book is better than a book that just gives you a diet to follow. This book explains how your body interacts, reacts and processes food. Understanding these principles, you are able to eat intelligently, understanding how your body is going to process that food. You can then make an informed decision of what to eat and whether to eat it. That is so much better than just following some diet somebody else made up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    Entertaining

    The book was entertaining and a bit overdone in some respects. Yet, I found it lacking in vital information and scientific facts. All and all, I did learn a few things along the way, and have made some improvments in my body's health. My total body fat has dropped by four percent in the last three months. 'This is amazing, as my BMI is now in the optimal zone'. Therefore, I can recommend this book as a starting point towards a healthier lifestyle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Forget about willpower, fads and fasts. Don't even consider weighing your food or counting calories. Losing weight and being healthy is all about education and making the right choices ¿ not obsessing over every bite. In this clever, informative book, physicians Michael F. Roizen and Mehmet C. Oz explain why dieting is ineffective and useless as a long-term strategy for controlling your weight. Cracking jokes along the way, the authors explain how your body works, why some people store excess fat and how cravings can victimize you. Roizen and Oz offer a sound nutritional game plan that features helpful recipes focusing on lean protein, plenty of fruit, whole grains, vegetables and nuts, without added sugar. The doctors are enthusiastic proponents of regular exercise, including walking, strength training and stretching. They believe that once you embrace a healthier lifestyle, you will automatically make better food choices. Sure, you might break down and have a slice of coconut custard pie now and then, but it won't send you into a junk food tailspin or make you feel guilty. If you're fed up with living off the fat of the land and finding it on your waistline, we highly recommend this book for its logical approach and sound advice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Important information

    This is not the same old diet book. It tells you how the body deals with food. I don't recall ever reading a diet book that tells you about what is going on in your body, your brain, as food is processed. This is a very basic, and yes, common sense book. But the way they explain it, a light bulb went on inside of me. I have changed the way I eat and the foods I eat and now I am full throughout the day. I don't crave chips. I don't crave junk. For breakfast, I eat a bowl of Kashi cereal with fruit and I can make it to lunch! I don't ever remember being able to do that with something sugar laden like Raisin Bran. I grab a few peanuts and unbelievably I can make it from lunch to dinner without going crazy. I am eating again only when I am hungry. And I am losing weight. Almost without thinking about it. I also want to ask what other diet book out there tells you about the omentum? I think to find out that this is the number one organ that can do harm to you is very important in the arsenal for getting fit. I don't know. I haven't read 500 diet books. I have read this and it appeals to my scientific mind and simple logic. It requires you to change your thought and your habits should fall in to place. I believe it's a good tool for someone who isn't looking for a fad diet, but for someone looking to change their life habits. And you can even have chocolate. Just don't go crazy. Simple as that. I would really recommend this (though the website offers the same info as well.) Refreshing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    Nothing really new, just another book to sell

    I an a Board Certified Internist who has practiced weight management for almost 30 years. The best way to obtain and maintain a healthy weight is to reduce to a MINIMUM highly processed calorie-dense foods and substitute whole, real foods, such as whole grains, fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts, etc. No need to count or calculate anything! A minimum of animal products is also a very healthy practice. This is the way the healthiest peoples of the world eat, and, not surprisingly, the ones who have very little problem controlling their weight!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Very detailed, broad spectrum and recommended

    I was waiting for this book for a very long time and was keeping an eye on everything related to it. I am pleased with the depth, scope, wit and overall value of this book. It takes you on a journey through all those important organs, substances and processes in the body that eventually make or break successful weight loss. I am glad that although the book is written in a light and entertaining style, it is serious, detailed, well researched and effective. After all, this is the most important thing for a weight loss program. I agree that it is more than just a diet and this makes it even more valuable and recommended read. The two doctors are well known and trusted experts and this is reflected in the book. I liked the questionnaires, busted myths and witty things that make the book hard to put down from start to finish. I think that the 2 week long reboot program is ok in terms of difficulty and needed time and I hope to direct my body in even more positive direction. Overall, I am very satisfied with the result from the obviously long, hard and dedicated work of two big names nowadays and I urge you to take a copy of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    Totally Awesome Broad Spread of Information

    I couldn't believe how much information was in this book. Everything from menus to various medical facts, questionnaires to myth busting data. It is just so informative and from these doctors I feel like I can trust the stuff and use it. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Great book!

    I enjoyed this book and have lost 50 pounds on this plan. It is really a life plan, not a short term diet as the title says. Lots of common sense and flexibility. Try it now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Excellent

    Very informative with lots of humor thrown in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    IF FOOD HAS TAKEN OVER YOUR LIFE, GET THIS BOOK ! ! !

    This is a great book ! It told me things I never knew. It explains in detail, what foods do to your body, how your body uses foods. If you really want to understand how your body works with food, get this book, you will love this book ! !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    What is not to enjoy when Dr. Oz presents it?!

    Written for us laypeople, you don't need a medical dictionary to understand this book. Packed with loads of information for anyone that wishes to take better care of their body.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Not so great

    I bought the Ebook because it was cheaper than paper version and I don't know whether the paper version would be easier to use or not. It is very difficult to fiind the meal plan or the recipes or whatever you happen to want to find within the book. In any case I didn't find the book helpful. Just too hard to navigate! Sorry ! I wanted to like it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sane Advice for Changing Your Life

    Diet fads come and go. Low carb, no carb, high protein, macrobiotic, blood type, "the Zone"-whatever.

    Roizen & Oz give sound, practical guidance for changing your approach to eating and exercising. If you're looking to transform your lifestyle, start here.

    If you're looking for a quick fix or the answer to a New Year's resolution that will soon be forgotten, there are still plenty of fads to chase.

    This is a real approach for real people. This probably won't get you down to a size 0 or flaunting 6-pack abs. But if you want to lead a healthier lifestyle, this is a good place to look for practical advice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You on a Diet. Great for someone who doesn't know where to begin.

    For the past 12 years I have worked the graveyard shift. I became very lazy and put on the pounds. This book was recomended by my doctor. He told me that I needed to be educated on how the body functions and how certain foods can help or hurt that process. This book will explain what happens to food from your plate until it leaves your body. They show you an exercise program and healthy recipies. In six weeks I have lost 25 pounds and have new found energy. I have the book and the CD's for the car.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Learning how to eat right

    I found this book to be very inspiring and learning tool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A complete lifestyle changing manual!

    The Authors did a great job taking you from beginning to end of changes that need to be made in order to achieve a healthier you. After years of knowing what "bad foods" are and "bad habits" are you finally get an explanation why! That is the main difference between this book and others. You get a medical explanation but easy enough to understand. Good Luck!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    JUST OK

    Not exceptional as this kind of book should be.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    AWFUL!!! So very disappointing!

    I can not believe this book was ever a best seller, I did not enjoy this at all, it was way too wordy and the "EUREKA" content was absurd!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Imbecilic and juvenile "humor" makes it unreadable

    Glad I borrowed this and hadn't spent money on it. Idiotic jokes lace every other sentence. This was truly nearly unreadable. This book should go on a diet - a joke diet. It would probably be 50% smaller if the jokes were removed and just the real stuff was left. <BR/><BR/>Oh, yeah, and my other complaint... there's nothing new under the sun in here. Eat less, eat healthier, and exercise. If you don't already know that, you will learn it with this book. But what rock have you been living under that you don't already know that?<BR/><BR/>Don't waste your money.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Alot of words not alot of help

    I was really excited to get this book, but found it useless. There were so many annoying cliches, I wanted to put the book down many times. I think I will buy Bob Greene's best life diet and see how that is

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12