Customer Reviews for

You on a Diet: The Owner's Manual for Waist Management

Average Rating 3
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

May or may not be for YOU

I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

Hence, if you...
I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

Hence, if you strip away all the elf pictures and humor, 'You: On a Diet' really has nothing more to offer than that. So if you're looking for a new slant to things, or some cutting edge weight loss plan, you'll probably be disappointed.

Having said that, for what it is- a quite entertaining weight loss book that explains in plain language how your body gains/loses weight and details a sensible diet and exercise plan- it is well worth your time and money. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for those who need motivation to keep exercising and dieting long enough to see results.

posted by 207945 on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fat book with nothing new

I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences no...
I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences not 2 pages. What is new here? I did not learn anything. It was like watching a boring movie and hoping for something to happen, but before you knew it, it is over and you wasted 5 hours. I did not enjoy this at all. Is there 0 star here? I am forced to choose 1 star.

posted by Jennifercastro on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    Nothing really new, just another book to sell

    I an a Board Certified Internist who has practiced weight management for almost 30 years. The best way to obtain and maintain a healthy weight is to reduce to a MINIMUM highly processed calorie-dense foods and substitute whole, real foods, such as whole grains, fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts, etc. No need to count or calculate anything! A minimum of animal products is also a very healthy practice. This is the way the healthiest peoples of the world eat, and, not surprisingly, the ones who have very little problem controlling their weight!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sane Advice for Changing Your Life

    Diet fads come and go. Low carb, no carb, high protein, macrobiotic, blood type, "the Zone"-whatever.

    Roizen & Oz give sound, practical guidance for changing your approach to eating and exercising. If you're looking to transform your lifestyle, start here.

    If you're looking for a quick fix or the answer to a New Year's resolution that will soon be forgotten, there are still plenty of fads to chase.

    This is a real approach for real people. This probably won't get you down to a size 0 or flaunting 6-pack abs. But if you want to lead a healthier lifestyle, this is a good place to look for practical advice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    JUST OK

    Not exceptional as this kind of book should be.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    Ok

    I found it hard to sort through all the cutesy pie stuff to get to the meat of the book. And on a practical note, I didn't expect the book to be the size it is, it's about the size of a large dinner plate and not convenient to carry around with you to read. More like a coffee table book. I didn't learn much that I haven't already read in other diet books of late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Beware the YOU Salad Recipes

    Overall, the book was okay. Not a lot of new tips, but a lot of info to explain why the tips you've already read about in the paper or magazine work (drinking a lot of water, getting enough sleep, etc). There's a lot of 'fluff' and repetition to get through, especially in the first 9 chapters. (More than once, the authors say something to the effect of: 'For those of you who skipped ahead to this part without reading everything prior, here's a summary.' It's as if they knew people would get bored and try to skip to a 'meatier' section.) In general, the recipes look good and reasonably healthy, but there is one glaring contradiction I couldn't help but notice. The authors state (page 112) 'Aim for less than 4 grams of saturated fat per serving.' However, of the 12 salad recipes, only 7 have less than 4 grams. In fact, they didn't even list the saturated fat amount for the Japanese Ginger Salad (despite it being listed for all other recipes). However, it's easy enough to calculate from the other fat numbers (22 total fat - 12.1 healthy fat gives you approx 10 grams saturated fat!!!) And 2 Tofu or Turkey Dogs at 9 grams saturated fat and 26 grams total fat per serving? Come on. Why not just eat 2 deep fried corn dogs at that point? The fat and saturated fat numbers would be about the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Slim Chance You Need This Book

    Roizen and Oz provide what may be new research on this riduculously big health problem to help readers create a healthy strategy for living. Still, unless you're somehow unaware that exercise is vital and don't know about the diet myths and are unwilling to read the Nutrition Facts on the containers of food you eat, should you take the time to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3