Customer Reviews for

You on a Diet: The Owner's Manual for Waist Management

Average Rating 3
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

May or may not be for YOU

I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

Hence, if you...
I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both.

Hence, if you strip away all the elf pictures and humor, 'You: On a Diet' really has nothing more to offer than that. So if you're looking for a new slant to things, or some cutting edge weight loss plan, you'll probably be disappointed.

Having said that, for what it is- a quite entertaining weight loss book that explains in plain language how your body gains/loses weight and details a sensible diet and exercise plan- it is well worth your time and money. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for those who need motivation to keep exercising and dieting long enough to see results.

posted by 207945 on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fat book with nothing new

I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences no...
I really can not believe this book was ever a best seller. I guess it is all about marketing. It is fat book with over 500 pages that is very disorganized. The content was absurd and can be summarized in 2 sentences; eat right, exercise. I really mean it, 2 sentences not 2 pages. What is new here? I did not learn anything. It was like watching a boring movie and hoping for something to happen, but before you knew it, it is over and you wasted 5 hours. I did not enjoy this at all. Is there 0 star here? I am forced to choose 1 star.

posted by Jennifercastro on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    A Real Eye-Opener

    I had seen this on Oprah and thought i would give it a shot. WOW. the info packed in this book!!

    This has helped me change my lifestyle so much. Single most important tool for my motivation. It only took about 1-2 weeks to change my habits & tastes...now I can't stand eating "unhealthy". I hate the feeling of it on my stomach...and to think, that's what I thought "full" felt like!! I've eaten french fries [my former weakness] twice in the last 14weeks, and regretted it both times...not because of "guilt", but because of the physical "gross" feeling. I learned you don't have to feel that way!!

    My energy is through the roof. I am the first one up in the morning, the last one to sleep at night, all without an alarm clock. I make sure I get the 30min walk MINIMUM everyday & eat as the book recommends and I feel like a new woman. The inches are coming off, I haven't been this size since before my first pregnancy.

    Most importantly, I don't feel like I am on a diet. I feel like I am in charge, nothing is off limits. If after you start this lifestyle change and you still think you want cake...i say go for it, because you won't do it again after you see what effect it has on your body, energy, and mind. It's like someone saying "don't touch that it's hot" and you touch it anyways...you learn from your mistakes and you don't make them again.


    They did a thorough job of explaining everything from A-Z. They used examples & metaphors to help illustrate the science jargon. Plus there are lots of great recipes in the back, great for getting started!

    A few things I didn't like about it:
    -i wish they put the fast facts at the end of the chapter, not as side notes... gets overwhelming
    -the color of the cover is the exact same as a box of Oreos...made me hungry in those first couple weeks..lol...i threw the cover away & that took care of that: )
    -he makes many, many, many food references in the book, and if you are easily influenced, again, makes you hungry for what every he's bad-mouthing: ) Its not that way after you kick those habits.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As a Personal Fitness Trainer---this hits the mark!!!

    Very few diet books, in my opinion, do as good of a job as YOU on a Diet does. I am a fitness trainer and nutritional consultant all day long, so staying on top of the reading material helps me help my clients. Lots of diet books just give you quick fixes that are not sustainable...actually, at our gym, we feel EVERY diet book does that. But, this book has a nice way of teaching the reader some valuable points about dieting, metabolism, and reaching their goals. So, pick this up and keep it handy. And, if you are REALLY serious about getting to your fitness goals (and being happy as you do it---and not being one of those miserable dieters) then pick up: "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow"...it is tops on our list of recommended readings for EVERY one of our clients. It will be the best book you read, to help you truly be happy as you identify and attain your fitness/body/weight goals. AND, it is a quick read! If you buy YOU on a Diet then definitely get "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow"

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    Entertaining

    The book was entertaining and a bit overdone in some respects. Yet, I found it lacking in vital information and scientific facts. All and all, I did learn a few things along the way, and have made some improvments in my body's health. My total body fat has dropped by four percent in the last three months. 'This is amazing, as my BMI is now in the optimal zone'. Therefore, I can recommend this book as a starting point towards a healthier lifestyle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Forget about willpower, fads and fasts. Don't even consider weighing your food or counting calories. Losing weight and being healthy is all about education and making the right choices ¿ not obsessing over every bite. In this clever, informative book, physicians Michael F. Roizen and Mehmet C. Oz explain why dieting is ineffective and useless as a long-term strategy for controlling your weight. Cracking jokes along the way, the authors explain how your body works, why some people store excess fat and how cravings can victimize you. Roizen and Oz offer a sound nutritional game plan that features helpful recipes focusing on lean protein, plenty of fruit, whole grains, vegetables and nuts, without added sugar. The doctors are enthusiastic proponents of regular exercise, including walking, strength training and stretching. They believe that once you embrace a healthier lifestyle, you will automatically make better food choices. Sure, you might break down and have a slice of coconut custard pie now and then, but it won't send you into a junk food tailspin or make you feel guilty. If you're fed up with living off the fat of the land and finding it on your waistline, we highly recommend this book for its logical approach and sound advice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Important information

    This is not the same old diet book. It tells you how the body deals with food. I don't recall ever reading a diet book that tells you about what is going on in your body, your brain, as food is processed. This is a very basic, and yes, common sense book. But the way they explain it, a light bulb went on inside of me. I have changed the way I eat and the foods I eat and now I am full throughout the day. I don't crave chips. I don't crave junk. For breakfast, I eat a bowl of Kashi cereal with fruit and I can make it to lunch! I don't ever remember being able to do that with something sugar laden like Raisin Bran. I grab a few peanuts and unbelievably I can make it from lunch to dinner without going crazy. I am eating again only when I am hungry. And I am losing weight. Almost without thinking about it. I also want to ask what other diet book out there tells you about the omentum? I think to find out that this is the number one organ that can do harm to you is very important in the arsenal for getting fit. I don't know. I haven't read 500 diet books. I have read this and it appeals to my scientific mind and simple logic. It requires you to change your thought and your habits should fall in to place. I believe it's a good tool for someone who isn't looking for a fad diet, but for someone looking to change their life habits. And you can even have chocolate. Just don't go crazy. Simple as that. I would really recommend this (though the website offers the same info as well.) Refreshing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    What is not to enjoy when Dr. Oz presents it?!

    Written for us laypeople, you don't need a medical dictionary to understand this book. Packed with loads of information for anyone that wishes to take better care of their body.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Informative and Entertaining

    'You on a Diet' is certainly nothing that will change your life, but that said, it does have a lot of information just about anyone would find useful and informative. The book is fun and entertaining. It's well organized and the good doctors try to cover everything from the science of fat to the science of the mind. But I guess maybe that's also the weakness of this book. While the doctors make a real effort, they can't possibly be an expert in everything they try to cover. This is most clear in the section that tries to address the emotional aspects of lifestyle choices and weight gain. In my opinion, there are other books out there that do a better job in this area. While I doubt it's the last stop on the journey to fit in your wedding dress again, overall it's a good buy for the variety of information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Dr Georgia D. Andrianopoulos, author, 'Retrain your Brain Reshape your Body'

    Congratulations Drs Roizen and Oz on another successful book! Once again you have shown your readers a gentle way to the basic, root causes of excessive overeating and weight gain. The brain is the ultimate root cause of cravings and overeating and determines the success or failure of any diet. 'Retrain your Brain Reshape your Body' is a complementary resource that helps ready the mind and body for the challenges of any weight loss program, in just two weeks! Drs Roizen's and Oz's tips for avoiding overeating become easier to follow when your mind is helping your efforts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    This Is Fitness Motivation!-says Eric Odera

    I first saw the authors on the Oprah Winfery Show.Upon browsing the book I can confidently say that this one's surely for the ' reading type',so unless you really want some fitness motivation, and you are ready to put in the time, don't bother to spend your money here. As the book title states, their emphasis is on an individual's waist size.I love the illustration that they have on one of the first pages of the book -you have 'Fatville', and 'Thin City', and there is a path that connects the two cities.As you probably guessed, this path has frightening animals lurking out like a bunch of demons, ready to swallow you alive! To me, this path represents the beginning of an important process.The book is not an end in itself, it is a journey where you will experience envy, jealousies, doubt, anger, fear, pain, disappointment and all kinds of emotional states, so that if you just stick with it.........you'll finally make it to ' Thin City'. Page 4 was a serious dose of fitness inspiration to me, it states ' With most diets, your body forces you to grasp or gulp for food. No matter how hard you try not to eat, some hidden force deep inside is always prying your mouth back open, making it impossible for will power to win'-according to the authors, the solution is to look at the overweight bodies, identifying the underling biology of the problem, and then finding a cure. To which the authors have done an excellent job. The book addresses the issue of exercise, but it doesn't address it as thoroughly as all the anatomy and physiology in the text.I was slightly disappointed by this.All the same, I still have L.L Cool J's platinum workout routine to fall back on. This book got me so pumped up about health, fitness motivation and fitness inspiration, that I can't help it other than to share the information with my clients. This book will shock you!, alot of the information in here is the type of information that many don't know, or they simply don't want you to know! America wake up! and take your fitness programs to another level NOW! Eric Odera is a fitness professional in New York city where he specializes in fitness motivation, fitness inspiration as well as designing powerful fitness programs at ericodera dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Very Good

    Very easy to read and understand. I don't know if I was ready for this book or what, but the information regarding how we store fat was illuminating to me. Losing weight involves both diet and exercise, there is no magical pill or magical book that will make anyone lose weight. Getting rid off bad eating choices and understanding your body its crucial to lose and maintain a healthy weight. I recommend this book for anyone whose looking to eat to become healthy rather than to lose weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Finally!

    Aside from the 'geek humor', which could get a little annoying, this is the first book that made me feel like i had FINALLY BEEN TOLD THE TRUTH about how my body works and how eating poorly and eating well affects it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    May or may not be for YOU.

    I have mixed feelings about this book. Even though we are all hoping to open up a weight loss book and find an effortless way to lose those unwanted pounds, we all know that the only way to lose weight is by eating less, exercising more, or both. Hence, if you strip away all the elf pictures and humor, 'You: On a Diet' really has nothing more to offer than that. So if you're looking for a new slant to things, or some cutting edge weight loss plan, you'll probably be disappointed. Having said that, for what it is, a quite entertaining weight loss book that explains in plain language how your body gains/loses weight, and details a sensible diet and exercise plan, it is well worth your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    YOU: on a Diet: The Owner's Manual for Waist Management

    The title of the book that the reviewer below (New Life Standards) mentioned in his review is 'Can We Live 150 Years?' not 'Can We Live Long'. It is indeed a very good book for anyone concenrned with weight loss, longevity, and health in general. I dare say that it contains all information that you can find in ALL the books of YOU series. I was impressed with the first book 'YOU: the Owner's Manual' but after seeing the second one (You: the Smart Patient) and this third book in the series I am less and less keen on them. In fact this turned out to another money making project and it leaves me wonder how many more YOU books are we expected to buy. Having said all that, I think that 'You: On A Diet' is still as good as many other dieting books on the market. So if you don't have any of them, by all means go for it. But if you have read a few other books dealing with weight loss, don't expect to find anything new here. Just different format and some jokes...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Not much new

    The title of the book that the reviewer below (New Life Standards) mentioned in his review is 'Can We Live 150' not 'Can We Live Long'. It is indeed a very good book for anyone concenrned with weight loss, longevity, and health in general. I dare say that it contains all information that you can find in ALL the books of YOU series. I was impressed with the first book 'YOU: the Owner's Manual' but after seeing the second one (You: the Smart Patient) and this third book in the series I am less and less keen on them. In fact this turned out to another money making project and it leaves me wonder how many more YOU books are we expected to buy. Having said all that, I think that 'You: On A Diet' is still as good as many other dieting books on the market. So if you don't have any of them, by all means go for it. But if you have read a few other books dealing with weight loss, don't expect to find anything new here. Just different format and some jokes...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3