Customer Reviews for

You, the Owner's Manual: An Insider's Guide to the Body That Will Make You Healthier and Younger

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You

Drs. Roizen and Oz¿s book takes a unique look at the human body and how it works. The book explores different body systems providing a simple, down to earth explanation of how each system works. The illustrations are not only amusing but provide a visual description o...
Drs. Roizen and Oz¿s book takes a unique look at the human body and how it works. The book explores different body systems providing a simple, down to earth explanation of how each system works. The illustrations are not only amusing but provide a visual description of how each system works. Common myths are debunked in each section and are done in a way that fosters an understanding of how the human body works. Most importantly, each chapter contains action steps which provide practical steps to help the reader live a more healthy life. I am a certified family nurse practitioner and after reading this book, I felt that I had a better understanding of the human body. In addition, Drs. Roizen and Oz¿s easy to understand explanations have tremendously improved my ability to teach my patients. Ray Lengel, Certified Nurse Practitioner, Author Health Care Responsibility: The Older Adults Guide to Surviving the Health Care System

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good info for an uninformed american

This is a book claiming to be an outline for how to stay healthy, but not once do the authors recommend eating ORGANIC produce. It appears they too are under the spell of the big corporations of this country. This book is an easy read for the average person who knows ...
This is a book claiming to be an outline for how to stay healthy, but not once do the authors recommend eating ORGANIC produce. It appears they too are under the spell of the big corporations of this country. This book is an easy read for the average person who knows little about the human body and its functions, yet the authors are still traditionally trained medical doctors who think drugs and surgery are the best way to treat ailments of the human body. Go ahead and read this book if you'd like to continue eating your animals, dairy, coke and coffee along with your daily dose of drugs, but I recommend a more truthful and natural way of healing the body, as in many of the books written by Paul Bragg.

posted by Anonymous on November 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Good info for an uninformed american

    This is a book claiming to be an outline for how to stay healthy, but not once do the authors recommend eating ORGANIC produce. It appears they too are under the spell of the big corporations of this country. This book is an easy read for the average person who knows little about the human body and its functions, yet the authors are still traditionally trained medical doctors who think drugs and surgery are the best way to treat ailments of the human body. Go ahead and read this book if you'd like to continue eating your animals, dairy, coke and coffee along with your daily dose of drugs, but I recommend a more truthful and natural way of healing the body, as in many of the books written by Paul Bragg.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Smart, simple ways to care for your body

    In the words of Oprah's favorite doctor, Mehmet C. Oz, and his co-author, Michael F. Roizen, "We're not going to make the science simplistic; we're going to make it simple." Their book describes how your body works in understandable, engaging terms and gives you an easy-to-follow strategy for making adjustments that will extend your life and improve your health. Roizen and Oz take you on a tour of your body, beginning with the heart and covering all the organs. They include a realistic diet and workout plan, fun illustrations and answers to common questions. getAbstract recommends this guide to all those well-intentioned people who know they should eat right and exercise more, but want to understand why.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    Outstanding!!!

    'You, the Owner's Manual' really is a great book! It taught me in ways other books can't---through interesting writing, questions, trivia and so forth. I always try to find at least something good in each book that I read, and this one has SO MANY great and interesting points. I would put this as a MUST read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    You

    Drs. Roizen and Oz¿s book takes a unique look at the human body and how it works. The book explores different body systems providing a simple, down to earth explanation of how each system works. The illustrations are not only amusing but provide a visual description of how each system works. Common myths are debunked in each section and are done in a way that fosters an understanding of how the human body works. Most importantly, each chapter contains action steps which provide practical steps to help the reader live a more healthy life. I am a certified family nurse practitioner and after reading this book, I felt that I had a better understanding of the human body. In addition, Drs. Roizen and Oz¿s easy to understand explanations have tremendously improved my ability to teach my patients. Ray Lengel, Certified Nurse Practitioner, Author Health Care Responsibility: The Older Adults Guide to Surviving the Health Care System

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Easy to understand

    Usually these health books are dry, but this book is fascinating. A must read if you want to understand your body.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Anatomy and physiology for dummies.

    In short, just a very informative book with several worthy goals. For one, it educates the reader in the inner workings of the human body. It does this quite entertainingly through trivia, facts, and interesting pictures (for instance the authors use a lot of elves). Additionally, the book also gives you many helpful tips on how to keep your body running smoother. While there is a lot information, I really would like to have seen a reference section at the end of the book to support its advice- some of it could be considered controversial in medical circles (who hasn't had the experience first-hand or at least heard of two doctors disagreeing about the treatment of a medical problem). All in all, a pretty informative and amusing read, it should enhance the well-being of many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Enjoyable education

    After taking the test and dicovering how much I knew about my body, I then gained new insights and explored myths. Enlightening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Healthy Dose of Wisdom

    I've no idea if it's the best book out there for You,but anyone who thoughtfully reads this guide and applies its wisdom will greatly benefit from its smart, straight-forward approach to practical, healthy eating and exercise habits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Finally, making sense of it all!

    'You, the Owner's Manual' is the first health book that does what it promises - it outlines and explains what true healthy living means in practical terms. There are so many mixed messages out there with the latest health reports always contradicting one another that to find a source that can tell it to you straight, is something you want to share with others. The focus is on healthy living - in terms of how you eat and how you exercise - and the importance of focusing on your health first (which in turn will help you lose weight and feel empowered). I have never written a review before, but as I was recommending this book to my mom I went online to send the link and realized how important it is for everyone to know the positives of this book. If you're interested in learning about your health and what that REALLY means, this is the book you've been waiting for - finally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    Wonderful Book

    This is one of the best books I have read on the human body. It is interesting the entire way through. I have recommended it to all of my friends and family. There is one review that speaks about organic foods and how the book doesn't talk about them, but there is still much debate amongst doctors if organic foods are better. The book makes it clear and easy how to make better choices for your body!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    Outstanding and very content rich!

    The book provides A LOT of information about the way your internal organs function. I guess your physician hasn¿t had the time to tell you all those intriguing things that an average person will learn from this big and content rich book. The style is down-to-earth and understandable. There are many cute cartoons and it is really a pleasure to read it. There are questionnaires, which I believe can help you to evaluate your way of living. If it is not very healthy then take advantage of plenty of advice that anyone can follow. Overall, I think that this is a very valuable and practical book, which I enjoyed and highly recommend. Dr. Tom Milholland

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    Know your Potential

    This is a very educational and informative book. It is a great place to start for those who are not very health conscious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Inaccurate line-drawings are the only downfall

    The content of the book is excellent. A great guide to the human body. I was disappointed in the line-drawings. I really want to understand exactly what the muscles, bone structure, etc look like. But the authors chose to use cute terms and inaccuracies in the drawings. The only drawback to the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    I Found it Very Helpful

    As an active but retired 64 year old female, I look for books from good doctors who make understanding my body easy. This book worked for me and I have made changes due to what I read. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Fun Reading

    I loved getting lesions of the inner workings of the human body in small steps even a child could follow. I feel I have a better understanding of topics and changes that have taken place in myself and my family has gone through over the years after having read this book. It was also fun to take the quiz- a quick trip to back to school for some of us. Recommend for hours of fun reading for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    A MUST READ

    The book is easy to understand and funny. It explains in plain English about what goes wrong with your body as you age. It gives you quick tests to see how healthy your are. It gives practical advice, you can put into use immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Inventive

    This book is inventive and witty, yet it lacks the one aspect of health that we overlook, mental health. Other than that, it's a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Great Book!

    This book is informative and keeps one's interest and covers everything from A to Z. These authors have a great sense of humor which keeps the reading light and on layman's terms. The man I am seeing is a doctor and was also very impressed with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    Surgeory from a nutritionist

    For the ones who need advise from a heart surgeon to get healthy nutrition habits. For those who need to have a heart surgeory from a nutrition expert, there is no choice for the time being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    Worth your time and money

    I truly believe that this book is worth your time any money. First of all it is educational. The authors go to great lengths to explain the way our bodies work. Secondly, it is motivational. After reading the book it is hard not to follow the author's advice regarding healthy lifestyle. Last, but not least, the book is also fun to read. The writing style involves the reader and keeps him interested until the end. I highly recommend this book for everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2