Customer Reviews for

You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You'll Get Through This by Max Lucado is among the most upliftin

    You'll Get Through This by Max Lucado is among the most uplifting books that I have read. Max Lucado books will never disappoint when you are expecting encouragement in times of severe distress. This book specifically helps those who are enduring really difficult times, to endure and persevere. The author address real issues- job loss, terminal illness, grief and loss. This book is designed to help those who are suffering from extreme circumstances. If you are bellyaching because you burned your husband's dinner, or the grass stain won't come out of the soccer uniform, or if missed an appointment for your pedicure, or your favorite coach bag sold out before you reached the mall, then this book isn't for you. What you need is a fluffy, superficial, condescending, feel- good, women's devotional book. But, if you truly suffer from life's heartaches, then this book will offer the comfort you need.
    In true Lucado fashion, Max writes in an animated, easy to understand style that communicates biblical truths to the reader. His books bring bible stories and biblical truth to life in an inspirational way that speaks out to the reader. He talks about real personalities and heroes from the bible- like Joseph sold into slavery and stuck hopless in a dungeon. He gleans every story about extreme suffering and faith from the bible for his readers. His animated language draws in the reader who needs a quick burst of thought. "Catch God in a bad mood? Won't happen. Fear exhausting his grace? A sardine will swallow the Atlantic first. Think he's given up on you?" ..... Lucado's use of colorful language and his conversational tone, make it so that biblical truths are memorable and meaningful to the average modern reader.This inspirational book will be certain to leave the reader with a lasting impression. In today's self centered society, without offense Max Lucado illustrates the importance of living life based on biblical principles. After reading this book, and really meditating on the biblical truths communicated via Max Lucado, one can feel a renewed sense of empowerment to live a selfless life style. Max makes use of personal anecdotes as well as bible stories to illustrate the importance of depending on God rather than on the material things of this world. If you are looking for an apologetic defense on the purpose of depending on God then this book isn't for you. But, if on the other hand you are simply looking for bible based motivation and a relief in a world that takes pride in materialism, selfish ambition and competition, then this book is perfect.

    This book is the perfect spiritual salve for those experiencing intense pain and grief!!! This is a book to read and return to- it won't collect dust on a book shelf. The ending includes questions for reflection for greater interaction and study. As a blogger for booksneeze, I receive books from Thomas Nelson publishers in exchange for writing an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    "You'll Get Through This" by Max Lucado is a book full

    "You'll Get Through This" by Max Lucado is a book full of hope and inspiration for those facing tumultuous times. In this book uses a perfect blend of biblical inspiration and personal stories to lead you to a new hope. The theme of this book is resounding hope and faith even when it feels like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. Lucado uses biblical figures in their times of trial to highlight the need for continuing the fight and being persistently hopeful.




    What I liked about this book was the feeling that I had when I finished it. Hopeful, positive, and motivated to not only survive my struggles, but thrive in spite of my circumstances. I literally could not put this book down. Everyone understands struggles, and this book can speak to the soul of the struggling, brokenhearted, and hurting.




    I would give this book a 5/5. Lucado speaks a message of faith and hope that is anchored in biblical truth. Wonderfully written. Highly recommended for anyone

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    Greatly encouraged me in explaining a lot of people have turbulent periods in their life and that this is my "Egypt."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    He has done it again! This time, Lucado has inspired and stretch

    He has done it again! This time, Lucado has inspired and stretched me with his insightful views and no nonsense approach to suffering.  His artistic writing skill of Old Testament’s story of Joseph penetrated into my spirit deep within. The book would hopefully provide an encouragement and relief to those who are going through severe trials that indeed, God will get them through! In the end, one thing is clear in this book, we will go through trials and most of the time, there is no easy way out. Yet, we will get through trials if we do not give up on God! Words of men sometimes are not enough to heal a hurt but when the eyes of sufferers are focused on God, they would eventually sail through!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Max Lucado's book, entitled, "You'll Get Through This : Hop

    Max Lucado's book, entitled, "You'll Get Through This : Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times" is a wonderful book that is jam packed with hope for those in times of need. Who among us hasn't felt like we are in a terrible situation and silently asked ourselves why God hasn't helped us? Whether it is a medical issue, relationship issue, familial issue, or something completely different that you are struggling with, this book will give you hope.




    Max Lucado uses his typical writing style, combining stories of Biblical strength, hope, and faith with stories of everyday folks and their stories to create a book filled with reason to be hopeful. We know that God doesn't enjoy seeing his children struggle, but this book really sheds light on how these trials and tests can be for a purpose! And not just any purpose - God's!




    This book chronicles the life of Joseph interwoven with modern day trials and tragedies to build inspiration and faith. Loved every minute of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Awesome! Highly Recommend

    We have read and re-read and passed along to others who are going through difficult journeys as well. My husband and I both intend to teach the study guide at church next year. Much needed encouragement!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    You will get throuugh it

    Great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    This book got me thru a horrible couple of weeks!

    I felt like I was thrown into the pit by my church! Max and Joseph, son of Jacob, led me out by staying strong, trusting that God would turn evil into good. Now we are joining a new and inspiring church, based on Jesus teachings!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Awesome

    I previously read Max's book "A Gentle Thunder" & just loved it, so when I saw this book released I jump to buy. It's another awesome book. I just love the way Max applies today's practical living experiences with stories & bible characters. It always helps me to learn & understand scripture in a different light & gives me encouragement for my current situation & season of life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Must read!

    Max Lucado has done it again! This book is the story of Joseph , but it could be your story. He has woven the past with the present and made it applicable to everyone. What an incredible gift of words and storytelling that God has given Max. Thanks for another book that is speaking to me in many ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Another Amazing book by Max Lucado and just what I needed at this time in my life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Well written book

    I have read most all of Max Lucado's books. This one, in particular, deals with issues that every person experiences and provides answers.
    Well worth reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    YOU'LL GET THROUGH THIS by Max Lucado

    In "You'll Get Through This," Max Lucado sounds a clarion call as he blows a trumpet of victory through the shattered ruins of Joseph's life and portrays his amazing transformation from Joseph, the Coat-Wearer and Dreamer of Dreams, who was thrown into the dungeons, and sent to prison, from where he survived and thrived, to ascend to the palace and become the second-most powerful man of his time. Like all Max Lucado's books, this one is a work of art that reveals profound truths to inspire us. Here is biblical truth at its best, as it digs deep into turbulent times, and captures the still small voice of God in all its glory and grace. Max skillfully weaves Joseph's story of faithful endurance, perseverance and steadfastness into our own, exhorting us to lean on God's promises, as He leads us through our trials into a bright new day. God leads us up the mountain of adversity and down into the valley of grace. No matter how bleak our own dreary circumstances are, God's love is greater still, as He flexes his glorious might to display His transcendent glory. Our trials teach us about the sweetness of Christ and the fragrance of His grace. God gently guides us through our troubles to find out our true calling in His divine plan and purpose for our lives. © Miriam Jacob

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Max Lucado is a best-selling author and writer and preacher at O

    Max Lucado is a best-selling author and writer and preacher at Oak Hills Church in San Antonio, Texas. His latest book is You’ll Get Through This (hope and help for your turbulent times).

    Max uses the life of Joseph to talk about a problematic life.  It was ironic I got this book when I did, because I just finished reading Joseph’s story in Genesis.  I ordered this book for a lady in my church whose daughter was just told she has cancer. it seems a lot of people in my congregation has cancer lately and the “title” of this book seemed liked something that many people could relate to.

    …And that’s probably why Max wrote this book.


    We’ve all been there – we get bad news – we get fired – we lose someone we love – and when it happens it feels like the end of the world. We say things like, “this always happens to me” and we freeze up.  In this book Max encourages his readers that “you’ll get through this.” And let’s be real for a second – c’mon this is Max Lucado so right away you know it’s a good book.


    Everything Max does is filled with wonderful stories and quotable content in user-friendly content. Not to mention that this is a subject matter that strikes home for everyone. “Does God really care what happens to me? Or is he busy with something else?”  Max talks about how Joseph was thrown into the pit and in that hole, I am sure Joseph didn’t feel like life was turning out how he wanted.


    At the end of Joseph’s story, his brothers sheepishly approach him to beg for his forgiveness.  And in Genesis 50:20 Joseph lays out the thesis of Max’s book:

    “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”

    Joseph’s life was a mess – but God used that mess for good; and so whatever you are going through now – you’ll get through this – maybe not today or tomorrow but one day and in the end, you’ll see that what God had in mind, was freedom.

    Thank you to BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson for a review copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turb

    4.5 Stars

    'You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times' is a truly inspirational book that everyone can benefit from at some point in life. Whether you have depression, are grieving a loss, or if everything seems hopeless, this book has answers for it all. Lucado is a renowned author of Christian inspirational and self-help books, and his immense experience and talent are evident on every page in this book. Using scripture mixed with anecdotes, the author gives the reader hope and shines some light into the darkness they're currently experiencing. The book is written in a conversational tone, so it feels like the author is speaking directly to you. The way he presents situations and problems - and how he speaks as though he knows exactly how the reader is feeling, what they may be experiencing, and goes about addressing those fears, questions, and doubts. The chapters were written so that each had its own theme, which makes it easy for those who want help and advice for a certain problem or situation to find exactly what they need without having to dig for it. For those readers who elect to read the entire book, it's a fast read because of the accessibility and conversational writing style. The author has amazing talent with inspirational speaking and it shows greatly throughout the book. I read the entire book and I know I'll be re-reading it for many years to come. I personally found the book to be exactly what it advertised to be and then some. I loved all the elements used in the book - they came together to create a refreshing and reassuring narrative. Very highly recommended for everyone - whether you suffer from mental illness, are grieving, or are just experiencing a rough patch - this book is like a calming and soothing balm to help you see things in a better light.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Our Bible Study group is loving this book! We are a small group

    Our Bible Study group is loving this book! We are a small group of 10 people but, this is the perfect size to discuss these real life issues. We are talking about problems and how we can get through all things with Christ. Is God good when life isn't?-definitely YES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    The cat drags him to res 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    I love max lucado

    Max lucado is a good christian man after god's own heart. Yeah he might make mistakes like the rest of us but he is a good christian pastor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Highly recommended

    This book is amazing. One of the best self help books I've read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great read

    Picked up this book during one of the darkest valleys in my life. Great inspirational truths that parallel to Josephs life. No matter the valley you are facing, this book will minister to you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2