BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Young Guns: A New Generation of Conservative Leaders

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    A Hope to Return to Competitive Free Enterprise

    Although these gentlemen are politicians they understand the difference between Crony Capitalism and Competitive Free Enterprise. This give me hope that at least someone knows what is going on among the political class. We have been sucked into collectivism one government program at a time and now a majority of citizens are dependent upon government to live one way or another. That is "The Road to Tyranny" and must be reversed. Governments suck up incentive.

    When the country realizes one worker must support the family of each non-productive family the incentive is to become non-productive. We must competitively produce exportable goods and it is government responsibility to make sure American producers are on a level playing field. In this area, government has been counter-productive by protecting non-competitive industries and non-productive jobs like on Wall Street, the epitome of Crony Capitalism.

    A country that only produces thirty percent of what it consumes is destined for economic disaster. With import prices up 4.1% and a declining dollar we are digging ourselves into a deeper hole. Should interest rates adjust for this ultimate inflation the service of debt among Local, State and Federal Governments will be impossible. We don't have a choice but to become more productive. Trading ownership of companies stocks adds nothing to the economy and, contrary to the policians and mainstream media as a 50+ year professional, Wall Street is not the financial capital of the world as disparate individual businesses and local banks are. Wall Street is the world's largest parasitic casino.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    common sense solutions

    "young guns" is a remarkable book put together by 3 young carismatic lawmakers that shows how the goverment can cut goverment waste and bring better ecanomic freedom for our communities which will bring better job creations for our cities. this is a small book with some big common sense solutions it is nice for a change for a politican to let the voters have something to hope for on paper. paul ryan is the law maker that gave the response to the presidences speech. this book would make a great gift for a friend or family member.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Informative; Quick Read; Great Buy

    I am not going to embellish on the details of this book because it doesn't need my two cents to clearly identify that it is worth its weight (or dollars) in value. However, I will say that it gives the consumer a thorough outlining of what these Republicans (and their party) are all about; how this country's congress is currently working; and where they see improvements that can be made in our country and how they plan to do that. These 3 will be major players in the next congress for the next decade plus!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    OUNG GUNS BASED ON PHONY MYTHICAL BUSH/REAGANOMICS WHOLLY INVENTED BY RIGHT

    Conservative extremist Grover Norquist spearheaded a Republican Party movement, in 1997, to undertake an active, mapped-out, audacious, extraordinarily successful campaign precisely to transform Reagan into one of the greatest presidents in US history through totally false, conservative, history revisionism. This concerted operation--pushed even harder today--eliminated all facts, failures, and scandals that would otherwise relegate Reagan's reign to an unremarkable, less-than-transformational presidency; heavily exaggerated positive achievements; and reinvented a legacy of new conclusions and triumphs, particularly economic--which indoctrinated even the liberal press. Since the proposals and extrapolations espoused in Young Guns emanate from the Reagan era, this book cannot be taken seriously without examining the realities of the Reagan legacy--best conducted by honest conservatives:

    The Free Market, Volume VI, No. 10, October 1988, THE SAD LEGACY OF RONALD REAGAN, By Sheldon L. Richman
    . . .
    Ronald Reagan's faithful followers claim he used his skills as the Great Communicator to reverse the growth of Leviathan and inaugurate a new era of liberty and free markets. Reagan himself said, "Government is the problem--not the solution." Yet, after nearly eight years of Reaganism, the clamor for more government intervention in the economy was so formidable that Reagan abandoned the free-market position and acquiesced in further crippling of the economy and our liberties. In fact, the number of free-market achievements by the administration are so few, they can be counted on one hand--with fingers left over.Let's look at the record:
    SPENDING
    In 1980, Jimmy Carter's last year as president, the federal government spent a whopping 27.9% of "national income" (an obnoxious term for the private wealth produced by the American people). Reagan assaulted the free-spending Carter administration throughout his campaign in 1980. So how did the Reagan administration do? At the end of the first quarter of 1988, federal spending accounted for 28.7% of "national income." Even Ford and Carter did a better job at cutting government. Their combined presidential terms account for an increase of 1.4%--compared with Reagan's 3%--in the government's take of "national income." And in nominal terms, there has been a 60% increase in government spending, thanks mainly to Reagan's requested budgets . . .

    The budget for the Department of Education, which candidate Reagan promised to abolish along with the Department of Energy, has more than doubled to $22.7 billion, Social Security spending has risen from $179 billion in 1981 to $269 billion in 1986 . . . Another accurate analysis from David Stockman, Reagan's budget director of OMB, 1981-1985, speaks directly to phony Reaganomic platitudes set forth in Young Guns: The New York Times, FOUR DEFORMATIONS OF THE APOCALYPSE, by David Stockman,July 31, 2010

    If there were such a thing as Chapter 11 for politicians, the Republican push to extend the unaffordable Bush tax cuts would amount to a bankruptcy filing. The nation's public debt--if honestly reckoned to include municipal bonds and the $7 trillion of new deficits baked into the cake through 2015--will soon reach $18 trillion. That's a Greece-scale 120% of gross domestic product, and fairly screams out for austerity and sacrifice. It is thus unseemly for Senate minority leader, Mitch McConnell, to insist that the nati

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Paul Ryan is one of the finest minds in the House--Lord knows we need more!

    Not to diminish the intellectual heft of both Eric Cantor and Kevin McCarty...they are part of the solution as well. But Ryan displays an amazing, indepth understanding of the fiscal issues facing our Nation. Regardless of whether you lean right or fall somewhere around the middle, this is an excellent read. If you lean left and can read with an open mind, you also might some food for thought.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Very good read

    This is a very good book. It gives good insight to the beliefs that these men hold true. They all provide a look at where they came from and how they came to the beliefs they have. They share there outlook and goals for our country. Though some may not agree with there views, I am comforted to know we have young leaders like these to move our country forward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    right wing golden shower economics

    right wing golden shower economics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2