Customer Reviews for

Young Stalin

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Biography on Stalin's Younger Years!

    Like his book "Court of the Red Czar", this book is an excellent view into Stalin's life. Although only a student of history and especially Russian history, I have not found this much fantastic information about Stalin all in one place. It was so interesting to learn about Stalin's relationship with his parents, his relationships with so many women, and his times in exile. It provides not only insight to how Stalin himself was molded and how he thought and behaved, but also the beginnings of others around him who would play a major part in the revolution. I particularly liked the annecdotal information about the Russian and Georgian cultures in which Stalin lived.

    I loved this book!...as much as I loved The Court of the Red Czar, and both are on my "Re-Read" list for certain!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Simon Sebag Montefiore┬┐s book cuts through the Stalin clich├ęs an

    Simon Sebag Montefiore’s book cuts through the Stalin clichés and stereotypes that we have constructed in our minds as arguably one of the history’s most brutal and bloody dictator, to reveal a much more remarkable figure. While “Young Stalin” is in no way an apologia for the ruthless, mistrustful ruler and mass murderer, one can see in it new sides to the man. One can say he or she now knows a bit about Stalin the inner man: the child born into bestial poverty and abused by a promiscuous mother and a drunkard father—the religious seminarist—the dashing rebel and bandit—the passionate lover—the bibliophile—the staunch revolutionary--the shrewd statesman. From Montefiore’s excellent account one gets a much clearer understanding of why and how Soso Djugashvili has worked his way to become Josef Stalin.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ever wonder how a ruthless dictator was born?

    Yes, he mercilessly slaughtered millions of innocents, but, like all dictators, he was a human being. This meticulously detailed and researched book carefully constructs Stalin's dysfunctional childhood, love of chaos and violence, the cultural and political traits and events that combined to allow such a man to take power.

    It can be dense reading at times, but definitely push on through. Its a very enlightening look at one of histories worst leaders.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Good Storytelling, very well read

    Very interesting early life of a very important person in the 20th century.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Huh?

    Even if your communist, how can you be pro-Stalin. He killed millions.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    Usual anti-communist stuff plus.

    I was put off by the anti-communist blather then I realized that there was also some neutral impartial research facts. Stalin received very high, the highest marks when he was in school and his poems were published. The anti-Stalin and pro-Stalin is dealt weith by giving both sides with some commentary. It is readable. It seems that there were sources that were never used which is hard to believe.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Who knew that Stalin was once a weatherman? Or that he had webbe

    Who knew that Stalin was once a weatherman? Or that he had webbed toes that he was painfully embarrassed about revealing. Simon Montefiore documents these fine details along with so much more in this wonderful book. But don’t mistake it for a list of trivia about this horrific Soviet leader. Instead, Young Stalin documents a full picture of this complex man, along with the people and events that formed him into the ruthless dictator that he would someday become. Excellently researched, it is a must-read for anyone interested in Stalin’s life.

    Now that the former-Soviet records have been released, Montefiore has shuffled through all the rumors, attempting to untangle the truth about this former dictator. He manages to avoid most of the torrid speculation and sticks to the bare facts. Beginning with the 1907 Tiflis bank robbery, Montefiore traces the origins of this budding terrorist. It covers all the major details of Stalin’s youth—everything from his broken family to his rebellious years at a religious school. The book documents his transformation from a budding poet and priest into the rabid revolutionary who ran protection rackets and robbed banks to finance the revolution. Quite a fascinating evolution of one of the world’s most notorious figures.

    More than anything, Montefiore presents these facts in a reader-friendly manner, managing to avoid the rambling and bloat that bogs down many historical books. Not only is Young Stalin a fascinating presentation of the early dictator, but it is well written and assessable to those lacking an in-depth understanding of Russian history. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in knowing more about this ruthless dictator and the forces that came to form him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    I am a high school sophomore and I chose to read this book for m

    I am a high school sophomore and I chose to read this book for my project. I found this book to be interesting and easy to engage in
    but had some parts that were very difficult to understand.It did help me collect very important information, especially about his family
     origins. It was very detailed and descriptive and I found the cliff notes to be very helpful, giving insight to Russian history and tradition.
    It did give me some very interesting fun facts about Stalin,but often went off topic. Some of the information given was very contradicting as well. Some of the information given was constantly
    being questioned and they mentioned a bunch of conspiracies that confused me.  Another reason why I did not find the book easy to
    read was because it written as if it were written like a research project and also written as if it were a fictional book. The book often
    made many citation notes to many resources the author used, but sometimes it would give small excerpts of stories mixed in with it, often including figurative language.Besides, that there was also
     information that was very irrelevant to the topic. The book mostly depicted Stalin’s personal life, and not much about his career,
    so that is one of the reasons why it was difficult to find information about his occupation. I recommend this book to those who need details of Stalin's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Tyrant from the start

    Great review of the formative years of one of the most brutal psychopaths in world history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1