Customer Reviews for

Younger Next Year: Live Strong, Fit, and Sexy - Until You're 80 and Beyond

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Younger Is as Younger Does

Of all the anti-aging books I've seen, this is one of most laid back and entertaining. It's written by two guys. Harry, the doctor, covers the science aspects of aging, while the other guy, Chris, talks about applying the info.

The book is centered around "Har...
Of all the anti-aging books I've seen, this is one of most laid back and entertaining. It's written by two guys. Harry, the doctor, covers the science aspects of aging, while the other guy, Chris, talks about applying the info.

The book is centered around "Harry's Rules." These are seven rules for the reader to follow. They include such things as "Quit eating crap" or "Exercise six days a week for the rest of your life." While they might seem to be basic pieces of information, they are sound advice and have some science behind them.

All-in-all, I found this to be a very informative and amusing book and I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for a book on aging. The realistic key here is not to go into things thinking you're going to STOP the aging process, rather think of SLOWING DOWN the aging process. Aging readers may also find Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff helpful as 54% of people over the age of 60 get a torn rotator cuff.

posted by 255074 on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Physical fitness right; evolution focus wrong

This book could be a big winner, but unfortunately Dr Harry gets carried away with his evolution crap theories. The Dr is obviously an atheist and preaches his "we evolved from larvae" throughout the book. The attorney Chris keeps the book's focus and makes it a worth...
This book could be a big winner, but unfortunately Dr Harry gets carried away with his evolution crap theories. The Dr is obviously an atheist and preaches his "we evolved from larvae" throughout the book. The attorney Chris keeps the book's focus and makes it a worthwhile read because of his approach on physical fitness, aging and the right motivation. His sense of humor is great for us 55+ guys and is someone we can identify with. The Dr may live younger next year, but when he dies (and he will!) he'll face our creator in judgement of promoting and profiting from his atheist agenda.

posted by Hogie3 on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Younger Is as Younger Does

    Of all the anti-aging books I've seen, this is one of most laid back and entertaining. It's written by two guys. Harry, the doctor, covers the science aspects of aging, while the other guy, Chris, talks about applying the info. <BR/><BR/>The book is centered around "Harry's Rules." These are seven rules for the reader to follow. They include such things as "Quit eating crap" or "Exercise six days a week for the rest of your life." While they might seem to be basic pieces of information, they are sound advice and have some science behind them. <BR/><BR/>All-in-all, I found this to be a very informative and amusing book and I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for a book on aging. The realistic key here is not to go into things thinking you're going to STOP the aging process, rather think of SLOWING DOWN the aging process. Aging readers may also find Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff helpful as 54% of people over the age of 60 get a torn rotator cuff.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Physical fitness right; evolution focus wrong

    This book could be a big winner, but unfortunately Dr Harry gets carried away with his evolution crap theories. The Dr is obviously an atheist and preaches his "we evolved from larvae" throughout the book. The attorney Chris keeps the book's focus and makes it a worthwhile read because of his approach on physical fitness, aging and the right motivation. His sense of humor is great for us 55+ guys and is someone we can identify with. The Dr may live younger next year, but when he dies (and he will!) he'll face our creator in judgement of promoting and profiting from his atheist agenda.

    6 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    It is a very good book for anyone concerned about aging. We get more aware of our age at the time of retirement. Switching from a daily-work routine to a totally new idea of all-time-holidays is often not as pleasurable as we expected thirty or more years before. At that difficult time, it is very helpful to focus on the Four Pillars of Longevity as suggested by the authors of the book: 1. Six-times-a-week exercising. 2. Eating for nutrition, not for any other reason. Focusing on fruits and vegetables. 3. Avoiding boredom, developing your hobbies. 4. Connecting with many other people - creating a solid circle of friends. The book provides some good medical background for these readers that like to understand why certain things are happening. Another book well worth reading is 'Can We Live 150 Years'. It is the Body Maintenance Handbook, as the subtitle states. I like the common sense approach that is prevalent throughout the pages. Some of the author's ideas, for obvious reasons are similar to the ones presented by Crovley and Lodge, but on the whole it is a totally different book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Younger Is As Younger Does

    Of all the anti-aging books I've seen, this is one of most laid back and entertaining. It's written by two guys. Harry, the doctor, covers the science aspects of aging, while the other guy, Chris, talks about applying the info..... The book is centered around 'Harry's Rules.' These are seven rules for the reader to follow. They include such things as 'Quit eating crap' or 'Exercise six days a week for the rest of your life.' While they might seem to be basic pieces of information, they are sound advice and have some science behind them..... All-in-all, I found this to be a very informative and amusing book and I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for a book on aging. The realistic key here is not to go into things thinking you're going to STOP the aging process, rather think of SLOWING DOWN the aging process.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Very Informative

    This book is an easy and informative read. I have enjoyed the information presented and would recommend this book to anyone interested in improving their health and maintaining good health throuh the senior years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Inspiring but B&N, make it at least the same price as the paperback

    This book is not geared for me at all. I am a 37 year old woman and it's talking to retiring men. But it's a fantastic read, make a lot of common sense and certainly is motivator for change when looking at your life as a whole. Getting in better shape now definitely gives us a better quality of life when we're older. I think I will read Younger Next Year for Women just to keep the ball rolling after this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Get it!

    Funny and motivating and encouraging to those of us who want to keep doing what we love for our entire lifetimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This book could change your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Diet and exercise. Thanks for the insight. Of course there is th

    Diet and exercise. Thanks for the insight. Of course there is the obligatory reference to our ancestors on the African Savannah and Darwin, but unless you like reading anecdotal stories of friends, relatives and patients making miraculous physical transformations due to Lodge &amp; Crowley's &quot;system&quot; don't waste your money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    ?gbmbm bgjbmyyvug mby b

    Yoguyt .f b,dhb yu

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended for those starting out to get in shape

    A very good basic to advanced approach to getting your body and mind into shape thinking forward to when you will be 85yrs young. Your body can heal a lot of the mistakes we've made along the way and this book gets into this and what you need to do to hold back the tide.

    I'm normally not a book reader unless it's Science Ficton or a technical book but this book was easy reading and I couldn't put it down.

    My only issue with this book is that it was written by some one who believes in evolution and I'm sure our body's didn't evolve but was made as the Bible defines.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Most imformative health book around.

    Can't say enough good about this book. How important it is to work out 45 minutes every day. No excuses. Best life changing book I have ever read. I bought 7 books for my best friend and (family I really care about). Also bought Younger Next Year For Women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a book that everyone approaching 60 should read. It talks about the things we need to do as we approach the last third of your life.

    I read this book the first time about 18 months ago. It changed my behavior. I started exercising, eating better and lost 20+ pounds. Then I flunked a nuclear stress test, and needed a quadruple bypass. I am doing well. And I truly believe that I came through it better because of the action that this book motivated me to take.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous book about health & fitness in later life!

    Even though this book is targeted at men ages 50-70, and I'm not QUITE there yet (although I can see 50 through the windshield closer than 40 through the rear-view mirror), this book was a VERY worthwhile read. It contains both interesting and up-to-date medical insights into aging as well as motivation to help you prevent as much aging occurring as possible. It's VERY well-written and exceedingly straight-forward and to the point. Don't expect to be treated with kid gloves. Basic rule - exercise hard 45 minutes a day 6+ days a week for the rest of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    A very good book if you are concerned about staying fit and healthy

    An easy fast read with lots of informative information. Motivates, inspires and provides the rationale to exercise on a daily basis to stay fit and lead a healthy life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Younger Next Year for Women

    I was given this book for Christmas, and have now bought it for several friends. I found it to be the inspiration I needed to change my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is great

    It does a great job of explaining what's going on with your body when you are exercising. It helps motivate you to get going or keep going. It is amusing that's not a bad thing either. I have recommended it to everyone I know who understands english. You will find that it will help virtually anyone you know who is experiencing health issues. These guys are just terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Eye Opening information about the natural process of aging and how ones own self fits into the reality of aging.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone that is 60 years old or older. And it would not hurt anyone to get a headstart on this very important issue to every human out there. If you want to be around to for awhile and be a highly functioning and greatly contributing member of your family, your community, your city, your county, your state, your country, and the world at large, then I believe this is the fundamental text book on how to get started and how to maintain, and possibly even succeed at ever increasing goals of fitness and physical (and mental and emotional) well being. A wonderfully informatve and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    aging greatfully

    Good book, lots of advice to last in good shape

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3