Customer Reviews for

Younger Next Year for Women: Live Strong, Fit, and Sexy--Until You're 80 and Beyond

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Informative and motivational

This book was what I needed to validate my current efforts to get healthy through diet and exercise. As a registered nurse, it was beneficial to learn more about the physiology of exercise. I like to know the why's and not just the how-to's, and the information in thi...
This book was what I needed to validate my current efforts to get healthy through diet and exercise. As a registered nurse, it was beneficial to learn more about the physiology of exercise. I like to know the why's and not just the how-to's, and the information in this book satisfied that need.

I believe that readers must be in the right frame of mind before starting this book, as the recommended amount of exercise can be daunting. As a newly retired women, I identified with viewing my efforts to get healthly as my new "job" . But I'm not sure that I would have the same emotional reactions to the book had I still been working 50 hour workweeks.

posted by 9530367 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Buy a Good Exercise Video instead...

I did not find the book helpful or fun - I did find it irreverent and demeaning towards women. Yes, the Doctor's explanations were interesting, but I tired very quickly of Crowley's constant chest thumping about how great he is along with his demeaning down talking to ...
I did not find the book helpful or fun - I did find it irreverent and demeaning towards women. Yes, the Doctor's explanations were interesting, but I tired very quickly of Crowley's constant chest thumping about how great he is along with his demeaning down talking to the women in his audience. I didn't learn anything new - yes, exercise is the key - we all know that. I'm curious why the Doc didn't think highly of walking but suggested kayaking and canoeing instead all the while advocating exercise that strengthens the legs. That doesn't make sense. Walking is available to everyone - kayaks and canoes (and downhill skiing) aren't. All in all, it was a complete disappointment - and merely a platform for Crowley's egotistical bravado. Spend your money on a good exercise video instead.

posted by CoachBrendaZeller on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Buy a Good Exercise Video instead...

    I did not find the book helpful or fun - I did find it irreverent and demeaning towards women. Yes, the Doctor's explanations were interesting, but I tired very quickly of Crowley's constant chest thumping about how great he is along with his demeaning down talking to the women in his audience. I didn't learn anything new - yes, exercise is the key - we all know that. I'm curious why the Doc didn't think highly of walking but suggested kayaking and canoeing instead all the while advocating exercise that strengthens the legs. That doesn't make sense. Walking is available to everyone - kayaks and canoes (and downhill skiing) aren't. All in all, it was a complete disappointment - and merely a platform for Crowley's egotistical bravado. Spend your money on a good exercise video instead.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Informative and motivational

    This book was what I needed to validate my current efforts to get healthy through diet and exercise. As a registered nurse, it was beneficial to learn more about the physiology of exercise. I like to know the why's and not just the how-to's, and the information in this book satisfied that need.

    I believe that readers must be in the right frame of mind before starting this book, as the recommended amount of exercise can be daunting. As a newly retired women, I identified with viewing my efforts to get healthly as my new "job" . But I'm not sure that I would have the same emotional reactions to the book had I still been working 50 hour workweeks.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Are you kidding me???

    I was thinking of buying...until I realized the 'patient' profiled in the book is a man! How can he write a book for women based on the experiences of a man? No thanks!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    Barnes and Noble is ruining the incentives for ereader market

    Barnes and Noble shame on you... How can the nook book be MORE than what you are selling the paperback for........

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Younger Next Year

    I like the book. It's a little too "Darwinian" for me, so when they start raving about that we humans evolved from amoebae, I just skip that part.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Get motivated this year

    A friend recommended this book to me & I love the premise of the book. I'm not finished with it, but everyone needs to move for 45 minutes a day. And not just move, you have to get your heart rate up & keep it up. It's not something many people like to do, but you need to do it. I want to live a strong, healthy life into my old age, and be able to move. I have given this book to friends & family & they have liked it so much, that they have given it as a gift. It's simple...you have to take time for yourself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Recommend as it makes you rethink life.

    I've just started reading the booking and like the ideal that it makes you think that you need to look at health status now and not later when it is more harder to make it through life. I don't like the ideal that it compares us to animals as we are the supreme human beings made in God image. We have dominon over every creature on this earth.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    If you have never exercised regularly then this is a great book

    If you have never exercised regularly then this is a great book for you. For those of us who know what we need to do, this could be the pep talk you need to get started again. This book was recommended by one of my doctors, but I knew all the information already. The only thing I got out of the book was a reminder that strength training is very important and should not be overlooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Not bad.

    There really isn't much of a secret here. You're basically paying for this guy to tell you to get off your duff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Dt.l

    Myohmy
    ?.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Info...

    ...but didn't love the way it is written. I would recommend reading this in combination with other wellness books and not as your only source for information on women's health.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Amazing.

    It changes the way you think about health, fitness and your self-image.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Super book!

    This book gives an accurate look at our bodies as they age and what we need to do to prolong our lives in a positive way. Our country is really ill and either we change our ways or we will be a nation of invalids. Weight gain and inactivity will kill us. Get this book and change your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Who doesn't want to be "Younger Next Year"? Great book!

    The 2 authors were brilliant and the book provides excellent information and facts on getting fit. We all have the choice and this book tells it all. 70% of aging is voluntary and you can skip 50% of sickness you'd expect to have from the time your turn fifty to the day you die. This book was key for me in taking charge of my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    KEEP MOVING

    This was a great book including two points of view- patient and physician.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Interesting take on health with strong emphasis on exercise.

    I thought this was a different take on improving health than what I've read before in that 'cut out the junk and exercise vigorously 45 minutes a day' is the solution. I wish it were that easy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3