Customer Reviews for

Your Best Life Now: 7 Steps to Living at Your Full Potential

Average Rating 4
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Maybe you should stop with the negativity

I thought the book was incredible and I am discouraged by the folks who think that it is God's plan to have us live unhappy, unmotivated lives. We all know that we are here to glorify him and living our best life now is a way to do that. Who wants to be around someone t...
I thought the book was incredible and I am discouraged by the folks who think that it is God's plan to have us live unhappy, unmotivated lives. We all know that we are here to glorify him and living our best life now is a way to do that. Who wants to be around someone that is moping and unhappy and thinks that God would have us down here miserable......I am certain that is not the way to spread the word... as we are called to do.... My glass is half full

posted by Anonymous on April 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Half God

Too bad Job didn't read this book. He'd have had such a better life! Beloved, God ALLOWS us to go through trying times which include loss, poverty, and pain, that we may better know to rely on Him for our every need. To lean not on our own understanding or 'positive tho...
Too bad Job didn't read this book. He'd have had such a better life! Beloved, God ALLOWS us to go through trying times which include loss, poverty, and pain, that we may better know to rely on Him for our every need. To lean not on our own understanding or 'positive thoughts,' but to acknowledge Him in ALL our ways. God is not only love. He is angry with sin and with sinners. Joel preaches a half God who is only love. Not until we understand this can we know Him aright and love him fully. Why preach the good news if there is no bad news? Why must we be saved if there is nothing to be saved from? Joel plays on emotion, self-relaince, and tickles the ears. This book is unbiblical, albeit feel-good. Christianity is not always feel-good. Read your Bible. Start with Job.

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Half God

    Too bad Job didn't read this book. He'd have had such a better life! Beloved, God ALLOWS us to go through trying times which include loss, poverty, and pain, that we may better know to rely on Him for our every need. To lean not on our own understanding or 'positive thoughts,' but to acknowledge Him in ALL our ways. God is not only love. He is angry with sin and with sinners. Joel preaches a half God who is only love. Not until we understand this can we know Him aright and love him fully. Why preach the good news if there is no bad news? Why must we be saved if there is nothing to be saved from? Joel plays on emotion, self-relaince, and tickles the ears. This book is unbiblical, albeit feel-good. Christianity is not always feel-good. Read your Bible. Start with Job.

    15 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    What God Warns Us Against

    Joel Osteen reminds me that I can have righteous anger. God warns us again people who distort his message for other purposes than it is actually intended. Osteen is the prime example of manipulating God's words for human gain. He speaks in the guise of a Christian leader, and nothing could be more upsetting to me. He does not preach of Christ's love, but of what Christ can do for us. It should be the opposite - because we live to glorify Him, not the other way around. It hurts me to see someone abusing God's message. Living our best life now is a far cry from what Jesus says and what He said during His time on earth. Jesus said to give our lives to Him, because they are truly His. If he made our lives easy, He wouldn't love us. I hope that Osteen will open His eyes to this because he has so much potential as a leader and speaker to actually share the truth. It just really saddens me to see God's word of truth... misrepresented by a person whose words so many believe. I speak not from the eyes of superiority, but from the heart of one who knows God calls us to call each other out in our wrongs.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    REC, a doctor

    Well, if you call yourself a chrisitan, you should read each book or listen to each pastor, lecturer, etc. with the bible in one hand. Read the Gospels, did Jesus paint a flowery path? A bed of roses? He said 'The road is narrow...' and 'Take up your cross DAILY.' Am I bashing this book or author? Nope. I just think if your looking for self-help, great, this would be a good book. If your a christian and think this should be required reading for christians...I would suggest another book first...The Bible.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    God promises all these things in the next Kingdom

    I feel Joel has it mixed up. God will grant us a kingdom, after death. Our purpose on Earth is to worship and follow the Lord, not to focus on wants.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Theology of Glory, anyone?

    This is an awful book. Joel Osteen spends so much time talking about how Christianity can help you get everything you "want," he misses the entire point of Christ and Christianity. God gives you what you need, and what you need the most is His all-powerful love and forgiveness. Your earthly success in this life--material, mental, social, etc--has very little to do with God's view of yourself.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    STAY AWAY!

    If you are a Christian, I advise you to stay away from this book. It is dangerous. Its message is not one of seeking Jesus and the will of God. It is about making me happy and how I can prosper. I believe the Lord Jesus does want us to live abundant lives, but He did say that life following him would NOT be easy. He said we'd have to depend on him for everything. Faith is how we get through life, not through '7 Steps to Living at Your Full Potential'. I believe this is a very dangerous book, and I hope other Christians will speak out as well. Turn to the Bible for guidance in how to live your life. But beware, in the Bible, there's the sad tale of Job (who followed God and was still cursed), and of those in Hebrews 11 who believed and never received what they believed for...in fact they were persecuted and killed for their beliefs. Please don't read Osteen's book. PLEASE DON'T!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    wacko!

    Don't waste your time!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Christian Propaganda

    I was very disappointed with this book, it is just a bunch of Christian propaganda. I am a Christian and I could not believe the way he misinterprets scripture to fit his way of thinking.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2007

    He assaulted by brain with nonsense.

    Mr Osteen, I'll concede that you say some very helpful and motivational things. The lessons that you teach are very useful and aid in one's life. However, I don't see the logic behind using a God that you can't prove to motivate you to show simple common courtesey. Religion, I'll remind you, has discriminated against almost everyone group under the sun, from Gays, to women, to jews, to muslims, to liberals. And you never learn. Not to mention the fact that you constantly break your own moral code of 'THOU SHALL NOT KILL'. Religion is rife with absurdities, and contridictions, along with the constant cherry-picking of moral edicts to follow from your pretentious Holy Bible. Give me tangible, substantial, irrefutable proof that the Abrahamic God exists, and I will listen to every word you have to say. Noah for example. Since Dinosaurs walked along man, according to certain christians who don't recognize evolution, they had to have been on Noah's arc. Yep, Noah rangled together T-Rex's and Pteradacktyles, and whatever other huge dinosaurs were around. Not to mention, every aquatic animal like whales, since the Bible explicitly states that he got two of every animal, and aquatic beings are animals. Along with every single microbe, bacteriam, and insect. That's a pretty big boat wouldn't you say? How do you think Noah was able to keep the Dinosaurs from destroying the boat, since it was just wood. Plus how did he sustain all the aquatic life, since he must have had aquatic animals on the boat if he brought every animal.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Delusional

    This man doesn't understand our role under God at all. To think our insistants of something be done will influence God's will is ridiculous.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Heresy!

    In his book, your best life now, Joel olsteen claims to show you a way to make your life infinitley better. By focusing on your wordly possesions. Here is the thing for a christian you best life is later. When you are in heaven. Secondly wordly possesions won't better your life. When you toss them in the crater in your soul, it leaves you parched for more. Go to Christ, drink from the well of living water and remember, your best life later.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    ummm

    this book fell completely short of my expectations. it lacks any validity, and is ridiculously repetitive. if materialism and superficiality is what you're after, this is the book for you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Joel Osteen is a hoax. Please do yourself a favor, read the bib

    Joel Osteen is a hoax.

    Please do yourself a favor, read the bible.

    "Do not love the world, neither the things that are in it, for whoever loves the world does not have the love of The Father in him." - 1 John 2:15

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    it will change your life

    this book was very good and it will help you in your dicesion making, very good book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Farce

    Turning your life over to an imaginary person seems extremely counterproductive. You need to get a grip on reality before you can move on in your life.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2