Customer Reviews for

Your Heart Belongs to Me

Average Rating 3
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not his best, but still very well worth reading

The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probabl...
The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probably not to someone who doesn't do a lot of reading. This wouldn't make my top ten books, but Koontz fans should at least moderately enjoy this one. I wish he would have delved a little further into the idea rather than spending the whole book leading up to its discovery...but I'm no writer so what do I know?!

posted by SK-fan on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Such a waste of paper, I feel bad for the tree!

I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all ar...
I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all around-some of which are just dropped off in the middle of their development, and an ending that comes from so far out of left field I was wondering if I had missed something, or if the editor forgot to put a few chapters in. I kept reading to see if it finally came together but it actually fell even further appart at the end. Disappointing on all levels. I wish I could discuss how awful it was with someone else, but I wouldn't want anyone else to subject themselves to this. One of the worst books I've ever read.

posted by Glenn_A on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Such a waste of paper, I feel bad for the tree!

    I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all around-some of which are just dropped off in the middle of their development, and an ending that comes from so far out of left field I was wondering if I had missed something, or if the editor forgot to put a few chapters in. I kept reading to see if it finally came together but it actually fell even further appart at the end. Disappointing on all levels. I wish I could discuss how awful it was with someone else, but I wouldn't want anyone else to subject themselves to this. One of the worst books I've ever read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Terrible

    Dean has lost his touch with this book. There was no suspense in this book. You could tell where the plot was going from the beginning of the book. I would not recommend it to anyone. Much prefer his older books and the Odd thomas books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not his best, but still very well worth reading

    The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probably not to someone who doesn't do a lot of reading. This wouldn't make my top ten books, but Koontz fans should at least moderately enjoy this one. I wish he would have delved a little further into the idea rather than spending the whole book leading up to its discovery...but I'm no writer so what do I know?!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Your Heart Belongs to Me is another Koontz Winner!

    Dean Koontz is an excellent author who has covered a variety of topics and characters. This would not make my top 5 favorite of his books as his use of literary terms, from a major character as an author, takes away from the plot of the story. Ryan Perry is a rich and brilliant thirty four year old who made a fortune in technology who faces a midlife crisis as well as a medical crisis when diagnosed with incurable cardiomyopathy. Perry's responses are credible. Some of the descriptions and poetic references seem quite overdone and work against Koontz's normal writing style.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    boring and slow

    Many of mr k's books are very good but not this one. it is very slow, very boring and the characters are blah. frankly at one point i was hoping that the main character would succumb to his problems but alas no - another few hundred pages til the end. it was also a bit far fetched. it felt like it was written to meet a deadline - just something throne together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Not the best

    This book was kind of disappointing, although has a lot of great qualities most Dean Koontz books have, but the storyline took way too long to get to the point. It seemed the book began only at the end, when it really was over. It almost should have been written backwards, with the ending in the beginning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    GIVE US MORE ACTION

    Dean, Dean, Dean! Quit with the internalization ad nauseum! The main character spends so much time in his head I could skip ahead for a few pages and not miss a thing. The story had a good concept, but was too predictable and fizzled during its most important moment. Very Weak and very slow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    Major let-down

    After reading almost all of his books I didn't know what to expect. This one was not very good. Of his books this is definitely down on the list. Koontz is my favorite author but this one was a let-down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Mess

    First off it must be said that I have been an avid reader of Dean Koontz for years and have almost read his entire library and have always been a lover of his writing style and offbeat humor, but this book is a waste of time. <BR/><BR/>I hate to be harsh because it is a Koontz book but in truth I only read the book to the end strictly out of respect for the writer, otherwise at about page 150 it would have been over. This book has about 5 semi-interesting parts in it when the reader goes "OH! Here it comes!" but Koontz never delivers. I was absolutely floored that this book was so sub-par! I love Koontz and respect him but this book was simply and undoubtedly a mess. If you feel that you absolutely must read this book refrain from buying it and check out your local library! It takes Koontz 300 pages to get to the action (if you can call it that) and the book is only 327 pages long. This book doesn't even make sense, there are parts that do not (and NEVER) pertain to the story. As I said before it is a mess and will leave the reader thinking, "What!?" And not in a good way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Terrible!

    I've been reading Dean Koontz for over 20 years. This is the worst book he has ever written. Too slow, too much prose, nothing gripping to keep the reader interested through Part 1, and I could go on, but enough said. This was a waste of money and I would not recommend this book to anyone who is an avid fan of the old Dean Koontz. It's like he wrote this book on a whim just for the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    Disappointing

    Not at all up to par for Dean Koontz. Although he's definitely a fan of heavy prose, he can usually pull it off. Not this time. And my favorite component of his books - humor - is sadly missing in this one. The book is just really kind of boring until the last couple of chapters, when it picks up some. The life-affirming ending he usually employs is present in this book, but not as well done as in his other books. I have almost everything he's written, and have read many of them over and over. I'll keep this one as well, but more as a loyalty to one of my favorite authors than as a treasured story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Dean Koontz has written another great thriller

    Thirty-four years old Ryan Perry created Be2Do, a social networking web site that makes him a billionaire. He quits as CEO so he can spend more time on development projects and with his girlfriend Samantha, whom he wants to marry. However the aspiring author rejects his proposal though she loves him. <BR/><BR/>He soon learns he is under a death sentence diagnosed with cardiomyopathy; only a heart transplant can save his life. A donor is found and the operation proves successful. A year after the transplant, strange things occur inside Ryan¿s fortress. Candy hearts appear then vanish; likewise a gold heart pendant. He becomes uneasy with the goings-on, but soon believes he is in danger when a video arrives starring a woman who looks like the heart donor with a message ¿YOUR HEART BELONGS TO ME¿. He believes she is going to kill him and with all his wealth and connections he fears she will succeed. <BR/><BR/>Dean Koontz has written another great thriller filled with heart and supernatural elements. The protagonist is a nice person comfortable in his limited world especially the cyber realm, but is clueless re life outside his circle. When confronted with the paranormal he does what most people will do seek the rational explanation. There is a lot of action, but the tense story line belongs to Ryan who is unable to mentally accept the truth. Readers will enjoy another one sitting Koontz tale.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    No heart

    As an avid Dean Koontz fan, I couldn't be more dissapointed. Who wrote this really? Not only was it lacking in his usual rich descriptive writing style, but the plot was virtually non-existent. I cannot put a book down without finishing it once I begin reading it, but this was a struggle. I kept waiting for the plot to emerge and the story to come together, and it just never happened. He wrapped the story up in the last few pages, almost as if he didn't know where or how it should end either and this was the best he could think of.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    SADLY DISAPPOINTED!

    I so looked forward to this book only to be so let down. The ending was such a let down it depressed me. I love all of Dean Koontz books and just really expected much more. I recommend any other books by Dean Koontz. My favorites being Watchers, Fear nothing, and Seize the night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Pulse-pounding suspense

    Thirty-four year old Internet billionaire Ryan Perry gets a life saving heart transplant, only to become the target of creepy psychological threats from a woman resembling the heart donor, who has a terrifying message for him: "Your heart belongs to me." Fearing for his life and his livelihood, Ryan's natural reaction to this strange, scary situation is to discount any supernatural explanation, which leads him to mistrust those closest to him, including his girlfriend and his employees. Koontz's strength has long been his knack for putting regular people into dangerous, unexpected situations (often with paranormal overtones) and having them struggle to understand and overcome their plight. In my opinion he succeeds again with Ryan Perry in "Your Heart Belongs To Me," a suspenseful page turner with a likable protagonist and a relentless villain. Also recommended: "A STRANGER LIES THERE" - this website's Editorial Review said this mystery "is an appealing blend of SoCal noir and psychological suspense à la Dean Koontz. Two thumbs way up."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Dean Koontz

    Dean Koontz is a great writer. Sometimes he goes over the deep end, but his books are always entertaining and seemingly hard to put down

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked this book but not as much as other Dean Koontz novels. I

    I liked this book but not as much as other Dean Koontz novels. It just didn't have the same reading pleasure. Mr. Murder was much better and more like the Koontz novels that I enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    After reading this novel by Dean Koontz, I was left not only won

    After reading this novel by Dean Koontz, I was left not only wondering, but also slightly disappointed. On the back of this book, it had a plot distinction and made the book sound very thrilling and fascinating.  However, the plot didn't even start until about two-thirds of the way through.
    The flip-side of the book said, “At thirty-four, Internet entrepreneur Ryan Perry seemed to have the world in his pocket—until the first troubling symptoms appeared out of nowhere. Within days, he’s diagnosed with incurable Cardiomythopathy and finds himself on the waiting list for a heart transplant; it’s his only hope, and it’s dwindling fast. Ryan is about to lose it all... his health, his girlfriend Samantha, and his life.” (Koontz). Then, it states that the man he took the heart from had a girlfriend, and that the psychotic ex has come to take it back. Although sounding extremely suspenseful, the novel actually had me falling asleep. The plot developed too slowly and when it got to it, it wasn't at all like how it sounded. Koontz used too much description when talking about things simple and small; it sounded corny. On the contrary, Koontz did a phenomenal job of characterization and introducing them into the story. He mad sure that we, the readers, felt as if we knew the characters personally. At the end of the book, Ryan, the main character, ended up shooting his attempted killer and giving up his millions of dollars to become a munk. Broken up with his girlfriend, Samantha, his life is totally different. The ending had almost nothing to do with the plot and I was overcome with sorrow when I finished. On the whole, I didn't very much enjoy this novel and would not recommend  spending time to read it.


    -Melissa Schobert

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    I am such a fan, this was such a dissapointment.

    Not up to the talent of this great writer,I thought the sadness of this book would never end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Pretty good

    Not one of his best. But was still entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10