Customer Reviews for

Your Heart Belongs to Me

Average Rating 3
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not his best, but still very well worth reading

The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probabl...
The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probably not to someone who doesn't do a lot of reading. This wouldn't make my top ten books, but Koontz fans should at least moderately enjoy this one. I wish he would have delved a little further into the idea rather than spending the whole book leading up to its discovery...but I'm no writer so what do I know?!

posted by SK-fan on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Such a waste of paper, I feel bad for the tree!

I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all ar...
I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all around-some of which are just dropped off in the middle of their development, and an ending that comes from so far out of left field I was wondering if I had missed something, or if the editor forgot to put a few chapters in. I kept reading to see if it finally came together but it actually fell even further appart at the end. Disappointing on all levels. I wish I could discuss how awful it was with someone else, but I wouldn't want anyone else to subject themselves to this. One of the worst books I've ever read.

posted by Glenn_A on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Such a waste of paper, I feel bad for the tree!

    I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all around-some of which are just dropped off in the middle of their development, and an ending that comes from so far out of left field I was wondering if I had missed something, or if the editor forgot to put a few chapters in. I kept reading to see if it finally came together but it actually fell even further appart at the end. Disappointing on all levels. I wish I could discuss how awful it was with someone else, but I wouldn't want anyone else to subject themselves to this. One of the worst books I've ever read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    boring and slow

    Many of mr k's books are very good but not this one. it is very slow, very boring and the characters are blah. frankly at one point i was hoping that the main character would succumb to his problems but alas no - another few hundred pages til the end. it was also a bit far fetched. it felt like it was written to meet a deadline - just something throne together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Mess

    First off it must be said that I have been an avid reader of Dean Koontz for years and have almost read his entire library and have always been a lover of his writing style and offbeat humor, but this book is a waste of time. <BR/><BR/>I hate to be harsh because it is a Koontz book but in truth I only read the book to the end strictly out of respect for the writer, otherwise at about page 150 it would have been over. This book has about 5 semi-interesting parts in it when the reader goes "OH! Here it comes!" but Koontz never delivers. I was absolutely floored that this book was so sub-par! I love Koontz and respect him but this book was simply and undoubtedly a mess. If you feel that you absolutely must read this book refrain from buying it and check out your local library! It takes Koontz 300 pages to get to the action (if you can call it that) and the book is only 327 pages long. This book doesn't even make sense, there are parts that do not (and NEVER) pertain to the story. As I said before it is a mess and will leave the reader thinking, "What!?" And not in a good way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Terrible!

    I've been reading Dean Koontz for over 20 years. This is the worst book he has ever written. Too slow, too much prose, nothing gripping to keep the reader interested through Part 1, and I could go on, but enough said. This was a waste of money and I would not recommend this book to anyone who is an avid fan of the old Dean Koontz. It's like he wrote this book on a whim just for the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    No heart

    As an avid Dean Koontz fan, I couldn't be more dissapointed. Who wrote this really? Not only was it lacking in his usual rich descriptive writing style, but the plot was virtually non-existent. I cannot put a book down without finishing it once I begin reading it, but this was a struggle. I kept waiting for the plot to emerge and the story to come together, and it just never happened. He wrapped the story up in the last few pages, almost as if he didn't know where or how it should end either and this was the best he could think of.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    I am such a fan, this was such a dissapointment.

    Not up to the talent of this great writer,I thought the sadness of this book would never end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dissapointment

    Very surprisingly I got into this book early on but ultimatley did not like where the story went.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Disappointed and disgusted

    I was very interested in the book until the gruesome end. The detail described in the violence was not what I expected. I was sickened with this. I lent the book to a co-worker, and I think she was more disguested than I was. I do not recommend buying th is book. The ending ruined the entire story, and it was completely unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    sucks

    waste of money do not get you will be disapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ugh disappointed!

    Man oh man! I couldn't even finish the book! Drags on so much and its super boring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dean Koontz...Two thumbs down!!!

    This book was not Dean Koontz's best. He could have did better. In the beginning it started off really good. But then toward the middle it just hydro-plane to deadness. It was a struggle to try to get to the end. So I didn't even try to finish it.

    Just to let everyone know I am a big fan of Dean Koontz, but this book was not great at all. Save your money and get another of his writings. Like Odd Thomas!! LOL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ZZZZZ

    I love Dean Koontz, but this book was very boring...it took me forever to read it. Dean let me down on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    YOUR HEART BELONGS TO ME.......AND YOU CAN HAVE IT BACK!!!!

    It would have been more eventful having a coronary than reading this book. Lacks suspense, any suggestion of a plausible story line, and answers to the many questions that surface....the most important question being....."Why the heck am I reading this book?""""

    My last book by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    Don't Bother!!!

    I've read many Dean Koontz books and this is by far the worst book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where's Dean?

    I absolutely love Dean Koontz. I will always read his books because he has giving my countless hours of reading pleasure. That said, this has got to be the worst Koontz book I have ever read. I couldn't wait to finish it. Yes, I read the whole thing. I had to find out if it was ever going to get better. The main character drove me crazy, by the time the book was near it's end I was actually hoping Ryan would meet his doom because he was annoying. It took me 2 MONTHS to finish this book and I'm glad it's over. However, this will not stop me from buying Dean's books. I am anxiously awaiting Dean's next book and I'm sure it will help erase the memories of Your Heart Belongs to Me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Awful

    Mr. Koontz what happened? This book was a big bore!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Not the author I used to love

    Couldn't even finish this book. So filled with unnecessary metaphors and cutesy adjectives that I believe my high schooler can write more creatively. The story didn't seem like it had direction, purpose or even anything to keep you glued. So... disappointed, again!! Maybe if I could have forced myself to stay with the last third of the book I would see that it all comes together, but why bother when there are too many good books out there to read. Might be the last Koontz I pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    WHAT HAPPEND

    What in the world...I have all of Dean's books, but this one just don't read like a Koontz, every time i thought it was going somewhere it, well it just stoped and went on to something else. Definetly not up to his usual standard. I can honestly say this is the first time I've wanted my money back on one of his novels. There were so many unanswered questions, we were just left hanging. I am a loyal fan and will continue to buy his novels, but this one don't even rate, please don't waste your money. Dean please for us loyal fans get it together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    I want my money back!

    I am a big fan of Dean Koontz and this is the first time I was disappointed in one of his books. This book was really bad... so bad, I'd like my money back! It rambled on and on and didn't make sense. I finished it hoping it would make sense in the end. It didn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2