Customer Reviews for

Your Heart Belongs to Me

Average Rating 3
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not his best, but still very well worth reading

The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probabl...
The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probably not to someone who doesn't do a lot of reading. This wouldn't make my top ten books, but Koontz fans should at least moderately enjoy this one. I wish he would have delved a little further into the idea rather than spending the whole book leading up to its discovery...but I'm no writer so what do I know?!

posted by SK-fan on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Such a waste of paper, I feel bad for the tree!

I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all ar...
I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all around-some of which are just dropped off in the middle of their development, and an ending that comes from so far out of left field I was wondering if I had missed something, or if the editor forgot to put a few chapters in. I kept reading to see if it finally came together but it actually fell even further appart at the end. Disappointing on all levels. I wish I could discuss how awful it was with someone else, but I wouldn't want anyone else to subject themselves to this. One of the worst books I've ever read.

posted by Glenn_A on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Terrible

    Dean has lost his touch with this book. There was no suspense in this book. You could tell where the plot was going from the beginning of the book. I would not recommend it to anyone. Much prefer his older books and the Odd thomas books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Not the best

    This book was kind of disappointing, although has a lot of great qualities most Dean Koontz books have, but the storyline took way too long to get to the point. It seemed the book began only at the end, when it really was over. It almost should have been written backwards, with the ending in the beginning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    GIVE US MORE ACTION

    Dean, Dean, Dean! Quit with the internalization ad nauseum! The main character spends so much time in his head I could skip ahead for a few pages and not miss a thing. The story had a good concept, but was too predictable and fizzled during its most important moment. Very Weak and very slow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    Disappointing

    Not at all up to par for Dean Koontz. Although he's definitely a fan of heavy prose, he can usually pull it off. Not this time. And my favorite component of his books - humor - is sadly missing in this one. The book is just really kind of boring until the last couple of chapters, when it picks up some. The life-affirming ending he usually employs is present in this book, but not as well done as in his other books. I have almost everything he's written, and have read many of them over and over. I'll keep this one as well, but more as a loyalty to one of my favorite authors than as a treasured story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    SADLY DISAPPOINTED!

    I so looked forward to this book only to be so let down. The ending was such a let down it depressed me. I love all of Dean Koontz books and just really expected much more. I recommend any other books by Dean Koontz. My favorites being Watchers, Fear nothing, and Seize the night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    After reading this novel by Dean Koontz, I was left not only won

    After reading this novel by Dean Koontz, I was left not only wondering, but also slightly disappointed. On the back of this book, it had a plot distinction and made the book sound very thrilling and fascinating.  However, the plot didn't even start until about two-thirds of the way through.
    The flip-side of the book said, “At thirty-four, Internet entrepreneur Ryan Perry seemed to have the world in his pocket—until the first troubling symptoms appeared out of nowhere. Within days, he’s diagnosed with incurable Cardiomythopathy and finds himself on the waiting list for a heart transplant; it’s his only hope, and it’s dwindling fast. Ryan is about to lose it all... his health, his girlfriend Samantha, and his life.” (Koontz). Then, it states that the man he took the heart from had a girlfriend, and that the psychotic ex has come to take it back. Although sounding extremely suspenseful, the novel actually had me falling asleep. The plot developed too slowly and when it got to it, it wasn't at all like how it sounded. Koontz used too much description when talking about things simple and small; it sounded corny. On the contrary, Koontz did a phenomenal job of characterization and introducing them into the story. He mad sure that we, the readers, felt as if we knew the characters personally. At the end of the book, Ryan, the main character, ended up shooting his attempted killer and giving up his millions of dollars to become a munk. Broken up with his girlfriend, Samantha, his life is totally different. The ending had almost nothing to do with the plot and I was overcome with sorrow when I finished. On the whole, I didn't very much enjoy this novel and would not recommend  spending time to read it.


    -Melissa Schobert

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Don't buy this book

    This book is a sad waste of ten bucks. Lucky i got it for free. The end isnt as gruesosmee as said before, but its rather lazy writing. Overall, its the kind of book that you wake up at midnight with a crazy idea and start typing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read.

    Doesn't quite read like the Dean Koontz I'm used too. Less characters, the plot not as diverse. I would have liked more about Dr. Hobb and how he knew about the "harvesting farm."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    As a Dean Koontz fan...

    ...I have loved his books in the past, but was very disappointed with this one. I couldn't even finish this one. I love to read, and usually can't put a book down, but with this one, I kept falling asleep while reading it! I didn't feel it was worth the time to finish it...wondering what was he thinking when he wrote this book! Too bad....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly a disappointment

    I am an avid fan of Koontz. However, if this was the first book I had read that was written by him, I would have not read any others. This was predictable and the first 30 pages of the book were the only good pages. I finished the book hoping for maybe a decent plot twist, but it was a complete let down. This book could have been good, I just don't get how Koontz dropped the ball on this one. If you want to read this book, I would suggest getting it from a library, I don't even know if I will keep this in my Koontz library and I have a majority of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A rare dissappointment

    Mr. Koontz just didn't make it happen this time. I've read, certainly the majority of his books and generally find them fun reading. But in the case of "Your heart belongs to me", he fell flat. Characters, plot and drama were weak. Even the book cover was a ho-hummer. My usual gauge is read a hundred pages. If it doesn't grab you, put it away. I only have x-amount of hours to read in my life and there are just so many good books to read. Dean Koontz usuallly qualifies as a good read...but not this time. Step back, slow down, Dean, and write another good one. Please. I don't want to be dissappointed by you again. I want to keep you on my "Can't wait for your next one" list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Didn't like

    I started out with the really weird Dean Koontz books about men turning into animals and such, so this seems very tame by comparison. I was frankly bored but managed to read it all the way thru!! Don't recommend, but hey, everyone makes up their own mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Premise better than the reality

    Terrible - it was like reading two different stories accidentally merged together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    Good for the pool. If it gets wet, you won't care.

    The best thing I can say about this book is that it's a fast read. The plot is thin, the characters unlikable and the ending was pure "deus ex machina."

    Where did the monks come from? A Chinese secret agent?

    The main character is a self-centered, paranoid ass. Too bad someone else didn't get the heart. That would have been justice.

    I cannot recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lost?

    This story is not like the supernatural thrillers that we have come to love from Dean Koontz. It is difficult to sympathize with the main character unless you are young, good-looking, and fabulously wealthy. It is, however, an interesting study of the egotistical mind-set that those people might possess. Like most of his stories, this one also requires an ability to disregard reality for the sake of the plot. I am a tremendous Dean Koontz fan, but his great writing style and talent are the only things that make the book tolerable. Many would probably enjoy his other books better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    Not Up To Par

    If i didn't know that I bought a Dean Koontz book I would have never guessed it was him. This was not what I've come to expect from Koontz. The only real excitment was towards the end and even then it was very short lived. I was very dissappointed and wished I would have waited for the paperback, which cost alot less.
    This book was selected as my book club choice for that month.Overall, nobody really was excited about it and that was what most of the discussion centered around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ehhh

    I couldn't put the book down. But, then ending wasn't my cup of tea. I bought it as a gift for my father, who loves all of Dean Koontz books. He was iffy about it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    NOT Good

    As a rapid reader, I trudged through this book. I had pages where I skipped, just to get through it. I didn't like all the conversations/thoughts in the main character's head. It was quite boring until the last 1/4 of the book. I usually like DK's books and really looked forward to reading it. If you are just getting into DK's books...don't start with this one. Wait till you can pick it up at your local library. (That's where my copy is going to). I hate that I wasted my gift card money on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a Die Hard Fan but this was Bad!

    I had a hard time getting through this. He is starting to get too philosophical like Stephen King. Not much ever happened. Definitely not the usual edge of your seat page turner like usual. I was disappointed with this like I was disappointed with Stephen King's Duma Key only worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    Is this book that bad?

    Just finished the book, started thinking about halfway through it that something wasn't right. Not one of his best books. I have never read a DK book that had some plot lines not go anywhere or simply vanished. <BR/><BR/>Is this book, with all its subtext, an attempt to show us his personal feelings on organ transplant? This was not a story that was laid out in front of us to enjoy, but a mixed bag of confusion, a point to be made without any thought put in as to how to make it.<BR/><BR/>DT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2