Customer Reviews for

Your Heart Belongs to Me

Average Rating 3
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not his best, but still very well worth reading

The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probabl...
The idea behind this book is a good one. I would be more specific, but it would spoil the end. This is an entertaining book...definately not the best characters Koontz has ever written. I'm a voracious reader and would recommend it to people of like-mind...but probably not to someone who doesn't do a lot of reading. This wouldn't make my top ten books, but Koontz fans should at least moderately enjoy this one. I wish he would have delved a little further into the idea rather than spending the whole book leading up to its discovery...but I'm no writer so what do I know?!

posted by SK-fan on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Such a waste of paper, I feel bad for the tree!

I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all ar...
I've read a lot of Dean's books, at least a dozen. Most are good, some are great. However, he should be embarrassed by this one, I have to believe it was turned in just to meet a publishing deadline. Terrible plot build that's full of holes, unlikeable characters all around-some of which are just dropped off in the middle of their development, and an ending that comes from so far out of left field I was wondering if I had missed something, or if the editor forgot to put a few chapters in. I kept reading to see if it finally came together but it actually fell even further appart at the end. Disappointing on all levels. I wish I could discuss how awful it was with someone else, but I wouldn't want anyone else to subject themselves to this. One of the worst books I've ever read.

posted by Glenn_A on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    Major let-down

    After reading almost all of his books I didn't know what to expect. This one was not very good. Of his books this is definitely down on the list. Koontz is my favorite author but this one was a let-down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    good book

    I thought this was a pretty good book. Not his best, but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Koontz split-faced

    The story summary looks promising. The book is off to a good start : it is human, realistic even, and you don't really expect a thriller. The first part of the book reads like a romantic novel. The second part is the 'thriller' part and leaves you with a feeling of unfulfilment, at least it did me. His stories are sometimes far-fetched, but this one travels the roads of realism so long, or too long, to have such an ending. I'm not saying it couldn't be, but I find it a bit hard to believe, how someone can harbor such feelings and then give them up so easily. Anyway, it's still a book I enjoyed reading, Koontz has a way of capturing his audience, be it in realism mode or thriller mode. 'Not bad'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I love Dean Koontz but...

    This book was not one of his best. Usually I am riveted and can't put the book down, or if I have to put it down, I can't wait to read even the next page, but this book did not pull me in like that. I liked the overall plot, but I think he missed the boat with the suspense, intrigue and long lasting drama. There simply needed to be more excitement and "oh my god!" moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    An okay read

    This is my first Dean Koontz book, and I thought it was okay. I was sucked in the first half of the book simply wondering "what does this have to do with the plot?" It seemed to focus way too much on character development and not enough on the story itself. I thought it was good, but the second half could have been a lot more in depth and longer. I would recommend, but I wouldn't put it on my favorite book list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    A bit disappointed

    I love Dean Koontz. He is the greatest writer in the world. I was prepared to love this book . . . but the ending was a total disappointment. I couldn't believe it. Sheesh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Was ok

    I bought this for my mom who is a big Koontz fan, she did not think it was one of his best..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    A good book, but not the best he's written.

    The book was very well written and flowed perfectly, one of the reasons I like reading Dean Koontz. This book was good for a rainy day, but really wasn't for me. The Odd Thomas series have been outstanding, as well as many of the other books I have read. I am still a big fan, but for me, it wasn't my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Dean Koontz Lovers WIll Be Happy

    I was very entertained by Dean Koontz's latest. It was a fast read. Loved it until about 3/4 of the way through. Was hoping he would go the supernatural and scary route. Was a bit disappointed with the direction the ending took, but still very entertaining and fun. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    A quick entertaining read

    Read it in an afternoon - I've read all of Koontz's works. This is not as developed as some of his other works, but it was worth the several hours it took to read it. I would really like to see him get back to his old style horror. Of all of his books, Phantoms was my favorite and that was a long time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Very disappointing

    I am a huge Dean Koontz fan, and own every book in hardcover, but this is one I regret not waiting for paperback, as it is definitely not worth the time or money. I kept waiting for the real plot, but never seemed to happen. It's an easy read if you need to waste away a rainy day, but other than that, I would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    LACKLUSTER PLOT - SPLENDID NARRATION

    As we know the general thought is that when an author's name appears larger on a dustjacket than the book's title it is clear indication that the author has really arrived. Dean Koontz's name has been looming large on dust covers for sometime now and just the sight of it sells many a book.<BR/><BR/> For many audio edition afficionados the name Malcolm Hillgartner has much the same effect. He's a well trained actor who tackles a variety of genres with ease and competence. Those who heard his narrative of Koontz's Twilight Eyes well know why he was wanted for another reading by this author. Hillgartner held listeners spellbound as the plot perhaps a bit slowly but inexorably took us on a journey punctuated by evil.<BR/><BR/> Again there is an exploration of evil in Your Heart Belongs To Me. It's the story of one Ryan Perry, a man in his early thirties who has made a fortune thanks to the Internet. He has a great girlfriend, Samantha, a gorgeous California home. What he doesn't have is a healthy heart - he needs a transplant. Fortunately a suitable donor is found and the transplant is successful. However, there are those who give things away and then want them back as this tale of psychological terror reveals.<BR/><BR/> For this reader/listener this was not the best of Koontz. It was the best of Hillgartner. <BR/><BR/> - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3