BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Your Heart's Desire: 14 Truths That Will Forever Change the Way You Love and Are Loved

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Great Advice

    Your Heart’s Desire – 14 Truths that will forever change the way you love and are loved is a book by Sheri Rose Shepherd. This is a book of great substance for women. The book was written for single, married or women who have divorced. Sheri deals with a lot of issues that we may find or have found ourselves in for instance just one issue is toxic love. I love that Sheri speaks of her own mistakes this make this book more relatable. I also love that she has in each chapter you will find Bible verses, love coaching and what she calls Treasure of Truths. I have been married 14 years and found some great thoughts on marriage. I will say this check list she has in her singles check list I wish I would have thought of a few for the one I had when I was single. I just found it to be a good advice book. I think that this would be a great book for a life study in church for the singles and the woman’s group. I just see it as a key to open conversations with the group that would be so helpful especially in a group of single and married women. I give this book 4 a star review . I received this book through Tyndale Publishers for my review. The opinions in this review are my very own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Great book for singles, engaged or married. Helped me love his author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Your Heart¿s Desire by Sheri Rose Shepherd is a life changing bo

    Your Heart’s Desire by Sheri Rose Shepherd is a life changing book. However, I would only rate it 4 out of 5 stars. It would have been nice to have a chapter on raising daughters in a way that will enable them to reach their heart’s desire. She included a chapter on raising boys but not on raising girls. This is a very interactive book that has many additional great features. I especially loved the video links at the end of the chapter which lead to Youtube videos (loved so much that I shared them here, on my facebook page and on twitter). Each chapter also has questions for group study. For those who are aware of Sheri Rose’s His Princess series but have never read the series she gives a taste of those books by providing a Love Letter from God at the end of each chapter.

    I would recommend this book to women of all ages. While the book relates mostly to a husband and wife relationship I believe it has enough references to singles that even a young, single woman could enjoy the book as well. Very well-balanced for all women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    A PLEASANT SURPRISE!

    I'm going to be completely honest here and tell you that I was prepared to hate this book; not mildly dislike mind you, but hate with a passion coursing through my veins. You see, upon reading the synopsis my first thought was " Great. Another book to tell me everything I am doing wrong as a wife and all the things I should be doing to make my husband feel all warm and fuzzy." Geesh...how many of those books have I read in the past 30 years of marriage?
    Yeah.......well you can guess how all of that turned out without even having to read my review below. Whenever God has a plan for your life, not much you do can sabotage it for long. Evidently it was important to Him for me to read the book, and begin a healing process. You see, I realized several things before I had even finished the first chapter...A. That Mrs. Shepherd indeed had divine wisdom, knowledge, and experience with her book's subject. B. That she, like me, is a very transparent author; not afraid to throw open the closet doors and let others see her skeletons if she thinks it will minister to others, and C. That I could have written this book.
    I totally recommend this book. I can't say I love the book because who really loves it when your sin and stubbornness has to be dealt with? But Sheri does a remarkable job weaving her story in the pages that are also filled with coaching on how to walk free of the torment of unfaithfulness and the rejection accompanying it. Her statement "Restoring our marriage was excruciatingly painful, and more difficult than either of us expected" was salve to my wounds. Of all the books and website articles I have poured over, this book reminded me that my scabs are not all healed over scars yet, and that it's okay to grieve.
    One of my favorite chapters is on how to rebuild your marriage because you want to leave a legacy of healing and faith, to your children. Although Sheri is quick to point out that even if she and her husband weren't able to to reconcile, she knows "God would have enabled me to live out my faith with the right attitude so that I could pass on a legacy of hope and joy to my children". Her chapter for single women is wonderful too. (I know what you're thinking...but it's not the normal "you gotta learn to love God first" crap) She does a great job making women see that they should set their standards high because they are WORTH IT! There's a thought, right? I especially like "THE WISE WOMAN'S LOVE CHECKLIST" included in that chapter. #2 "Look at the way he loves his mother, because it's how he will eventually love his wife". Also a chapter for the divorced woman who desires to find love again, but is afraid because of unfulfilled dreams with another; she goes even further, addressing past hurts and disappointments. Sheri's bio on the back gives a bit of insight into a woman who has faced many struggles and yet, like we all should, decided long ago to use those struggles to help others. She is the author of over one million books sold, and uses her experiences to identify with women's everyday battles. Her online site gives more info on her battle with her weight, and self esteem, as well as contact info and speaking dates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    honestly when i started this book i just thought it was gonna be

    honestly when i started this book i just thought it was gonna be super
    hokey and phoney. i thought maybe sheri rose shepherd was kinda like
    that before. when reading little blurbs of her stuff here and there. but
    this book spoke to me a lot more then most have. it was amazing and its
    definately one i will have to read through over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love, Honor, and Cherish

    Review:

    I frequently receive book requests that fall into the Love/Romance/Dating genres, and more times than not, the books are written in the "cookie-cutter advice column" style, holding little more than secondhand information. For this reason, I am very selective when it comes to these types, usually only taking on one per month - the more original and out-of-the-box - the better. Your Heart's Desire sounded very intriguing, especially since a close friend of mine had been going through a rough patch in her relationship and wanted help getting through it. We were both surprised how easy it was to read, and how down-to-earth and genuine Sheri Rose Shepherd's writing style was. She writes as if she is a close friend, sharing stories of her loves and losses with the people she trusts. This made the book, and her messages, all the more powerful and inspirational, allowing readers to really reflect on their own relationships, (or in some cases, a lack-thereof). The chapters are of an appropriate length, plenty of places to bookmark and take breaks, and the scripture throughout links the reader back to God, (particularly the letters "from" God). She shows women how to love their men even when they feel like they don't deserve it - just like God does; to a point, she's right. She also says that “...if our men have given us every reason to give up on our relationships with them, we must not give up our God-appointed position of influence in their lives.” Her beliefs resonate with me, but I do draw the line at manipulative/abusive relationships; there are parameters. Husbands also promised to "love, honor and cherish" their wives, so shouldn't the same rules apply to them? That was the only real problem I had with the book besides a few odds-and-ends. I also liked the idea of the QR codes that took me to videos where the author spoke about related topics. The interactive aspect was enjoyable as well. Recommended for single, dating, married, and "mothering" women who want to enrich their relationships with their significant others and with God.

    Rating: On the Run (4/5)

    *** I received this book from the author (Blogging for Books - Tyndale) in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Sheri Rose Shepherd's book "Your Heart's Desire" is a

    Sheri Rose Shepherd's book "Your Heart's Desire" is a wonderful book for women. Whether you are married, single, or divorced/widowed, you will gain wisdom from this book. Sheri uses a series of personal stories, Biblical references, and inspirational thoughts to stir our hearts for God, and to desire his love above all else. I believe that through this understanding, we begin to have the capacity to truly love and be loved. Once we begin to understand God's love, we also begin to understand how we are called to love our husbands, or boyfriends. The chapters are a little longer than what you can read in one sitting, especially if you have young children, but it is easy to pick up when you have the time. Each chapter has a foundation of a Bible verse to start off, followed by a personal story or Biblical story to illustrate that verse better, and help us relate to it. Sheri creates a wonderful book here, complete with a final thought at the end of each chapter, as well as love questions for a small group, and love questions online with Sheri that can be answered via a link supplied with each question. I thought this book was great, and will definitely be keeping it on my bookshelf for when I need a reminder of how to love. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1