BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone needs their Own Jesus

    Looking for a gift for the person who has everything? Look no further, because this fantastic new book by Mark Hall of Casting Crowns discusses how to get something that EVERYONE needs - their own walk with Christ. Mark is a gifted storyteller, and he shares the central message of the Gospel in such a way that it will speak to you no matter where you are in your relationship with Jesus - whether you are a new believer, a seasoned saint, or "somewhere in the middle." There is no "Christianese" here, just simple truths and stories that are so honest and transparent they will hit you between the eyes and go straight to your heart. A MUST READ - you will be blessed!

    Be sure not to miss Casting Crown's new CD as well, due out 11/17/09!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Your Own Jesus

    Mark Hall has a way of making Jesus personal in his songs, stories, and now in his book, Your Own Jesus, he shares an even deeper way and reason why we should consider Jesus our own. Mark shares personal stories from his student ministry where young followers turned to Jesus in times of great trouble, and might not have survived if it weren't for the power of the Lord. Mark teaches us that we need to not only live out our faith, but also put it into practice. Act on it. And in the end during struggles, remember that Jesus has already paid the price for our sins. Realizing this gives us complete freedom if we surrender our all to Him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    Wow!

    I didn't know what to expect from the lead singer of one of my favorite christian bands, but I bought the book without hesitation. I was amazed at the depth of his insights into making our walk with Jesus personal. His stories were wonderful and very thought provoking. Mark makes many biblical references in this book, but I was too caught up in the stories to read it and use the references too. I can't wait for my husband to finish reading it so I can read it again and STUDY it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome and View Changing

    I love the writing style that Mark Hall uses, it felt like he was sitting in my living room talking to me. He brings up so many things I'd never thought to examine more closely and changed a lot of my views. I think this book has and will continue to help me get to know "My Own Jesus" that I've needed to know for a long time. You can listen to his songs as they are presented as chapter names and he uses some of the "God Lines" of his songs to illustrate his points throughout the book. His vast Scripture knowledge backs up everything he presents, and makes you want to read your Bible more to see what you might have overlooked.
    All In All, a Great Read, and definintely very inspiring.
    Thanks Mark!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I finished my advanced copy of Mark Hall's "Your Own Jesus" and loved it! The Casting Crowns frontman did an excellent job focusing in on THE issue of the church--a close, personal, intimate relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ. Mark was effective in weaving in Scripture, stories, and illustrations as he used songs from "The Altar and the Door" to bring out the need for us to develop a walk with God. I can only hope that Mark does more writing and maybe does another book like this one using songs from Crowns' upcoming CD, "Until the Whole World Hears". I highly recommend that you get this easy-to-read, yet powerful and effective book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    A Must-Read!

    In "Your Own Jesus" Mark Hall walks with you and shows you what a PERSONAL relationship with your Savior, Jesus Christ, looks like. Mark uses humor, real life events, his own past, and above all else: TRUTH SPOKEN IN LOVE. Mark doesn't hold back. He gives it his all. Why? Because he wants to "help us learn to recognize and overcome the seemingly incessant opportunities for compromise, great and small, that neutralize so many believers."-Your Own Jesus

    "Your Own Jesus" says what everyone needs to hear, no matter what their Christian walk looks like. People from every background, every walk of life and from every level of faith, need to read "Your Own Jesus". "Your Own Jesus" has something to say to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Hard Book To Put Down

    "Your Own Jesus", the latest book by Casting Crown's Mark Hall, is a wonderful example of how a Christian living book should be written. Simple to understand, easy to read, and hard to put down, this book is a must for those wanting a closer, more personal relationship with Jesus. Whether you are a new believer or have been a Christian for many years, you will be able to glean something valuable from "Your Own Jesus".

    Filled with personal stories and insights, testimonies from others, and some laugh out loud moments, this book was a pleasure to read from cover to cover. One of my favorite moments in the book is when Mark Hall is insistent that he will be the biggest dork in heaven. Moments like this give the book a true down to earth feeling and make you feel somewhat connected to the author. The book is seemingly personalized, and you feel as if he is speaking directly to you. The discussion guide included at the end of the book allows for moments of self evaluation and gives you points to think on and consider, helping you to grow even further in your faith and relationship with God.

    From cover to cover, "Your Own Jesus" is a great book, and a must read for those interested in getting to know Jesus in a closer and more personal way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    Your Own Jesus by Mark Hall

    After finishing reading Your Own Jesus by Mark Hall, my concept of a personal relationship with Christ has been completely revolutionized. By beginning each chapter with a true life story, Mark Hall draws you into the truth that he is trying to teach. He then backs up each point with Biblical references, allowing me to look up the verses and reading for myself the truths that Mark Hall reveals to us in Your Own Jesus. Chapter after chapter, I was challenged, to the point of tears, as to what God really wants of my life. Your Own Jesus is a must read for Christians, young and old, who want to delve deeper into their personal walk with Christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    A great read for all Christians!

    This book was the best I have read all year. It is about how to build an intimate relationship with Jesus. Since I am a fairly new Christian, it has really opened up my eyes on how I should be walking with Christ beyond the alter and door. The testimony's given in this book are awesome. They help give examples of how God's Grace and Love for us is sufficient. But, we must have the initiative to take the walk and allow God's Word to change our lives in the home and community. This book is fantastic from beginning to end. You will not want to put it down; it is a well written book that breaks down for us How to Live For Jesus, and Not for Ourselves. That we must be obedient to the Word and God, to build the intimate relationship that we need to Be a Disciple for Jesus. Personally, my favorite chapter is the fourth entited NEWNESS. I recommend this book to all Christians, from beginning to mature. Because it will spark a new fire for Jesus in all aspects of your life, so that we can be the Light of the World for Jesus through our good works, so others will give praise to your Father in heaven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A life changing book by Mark Hall

    The new book "Your Own Jesus" by Mark Hall of Casting Crowns is one of the best books I have ever read. I would recommend this book to Christians and Non Christians. Mark Hall captures the relationship that God wants to have with us and that we need to have with him. I love how Mark uses everyday examples of his life and those around him to get the message across. You have to have your own Jesus; he can't be your youth pastors or your grandparents. You need the personal relationship with Jesus.
    The fact that each chapter tells a story from the songs that are on their album is wonderful. When you go back and you listen to the CD you really understand the way Mark's heart is speaking in every song.
    I'm the drummer for the Contemporary Christian band Broken Together and this book is helping the way we look at our ministry. I had just finished reading Mark Hall's book Life Stories and was amazed at how well it was written when I received this copy of Your Own Jesus. I love the examples given in the book like "darkness that comes out in my life is the fruit of my own appetites" or " Our counsel is what initiates a slow fade."
    My favorite is the "Philippians Filter" Philippians 4:8 the way Mark phrases this "Don't ask, is this wrong? Is this good? Is this bad? " That's like asking how close to sin can I get and still not sin? If we want to honor God we have to ask what is the wisest thing to put into my head?
    I pray that as people read this book they will get their painting of what the true Jesus is really like and not the wrong picture that may have been painted for them in the past. This is a must read.

    Everyone needs to read Your Own Jesus

    Kevin B. Merwin of Broken Together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say

    That everything that i have read in this book is totally and completely great. I have been looking for a book that would help me with my walk with God, i have been struggling with the flesh and it is hard for me to get up in the middle of the night to talk to Him. I know that I must let go of earthly things and I must walk closer to God, and the only way that I can do that is to have my own Jesus. Your Own Jesus by Mark Hall, the best book out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mark Hall's YOUR OWN JESUS challenges you to find Your Own Jesus

    Mark Hall's YOUR OWN JESUS challenges you to find Your Own Jesus
    Mark Hall hits home with Your Own Jesus. To begin with, the book really caught my attention when he talked about something he went through as a 19-year-old. Something I have struggled with for years came to the forefront. This book challenged me to work through the issues I have had that have kept me from finding My Own Jesus. He shows how vital it is to develop a relationship with the REAL Jesus, not the Jesus you think he is, but the Jesus of the Bible. This book totally changed my outlook on Jesus and what I was doing to keep him from reaching me where I needed to be reached. I have been a Christian for many years but felt that there was a wall that Jesus just couldn't get through. I was jealous of the relationship others had with Jesus and I wanted that for myself but just couldn't figure out why I wasn't getting it. Why wasn't I hearing from God? Why did I always feel left out and the outsider? Mark Hall certainly opened my eyes and showed me that even though I prayed about certain things, I kept them in compartments away from Jesus - I was holding onto them and that was keeping Jesus from answering my prayers. I was not allowing Jesus to become the head of my life and was allowing Satan to continue to hold me captive. This book also showed me that some of the situations in my life had become chaotic because I had just stopped praying about them. Certain people had become problematic because I quit praying for them. All I can say is that God really opened my eyes to a lot of things in my own life through reading this book.

    This book is amazing and every person should read it. It is very easy to read and relate to and really made me think about what is going on in my life and challenged me to find their Own Jesus instead of feeding off everyone else. I could not put this book down and read it in a couple of days when it would normally take me weeks. It really helped me and I can only say that everyone needs to read this and find YOUR OWN JESUS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    Great Tool For Any Believer

    Mark Hall's new book "Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal" is a wonderful tool for any believer. Like the messages in the songs he sings with Casting Crowns, he challenges believers to more than just casual Christianity, to an actual friendship with God of their very own. Hall uses the entire text to explain how being a Christian is a personal experience and relationship with Jesus. "We need our own, everyday, walking-around friendship with God. I'm using 'Your Own Jesus' to convey just how much God insists on the personal" (pg 18) is just one of the many statements he makes explaining the purpose behind his book. Bold, truthful statements, along with stories form lives of various people as well as his own, create an easy dialogue to follow, with passion to see action inside the body of Christ. More than just an easy, good read, this book will call you to examine your own Christian walk and personal relationship with Jesus. It will push you, comfort you, encourage you, and help you to discover how to have "your own Jesus" instead of "nothing more than empty religion" (pg 18). I highly recommend it to anyone looking to have an authentic walk and more personal relationship with the Lord.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    A must read for Christians from all walks of life.

    When I had the chance to read and review "Your Own Jesus", I jumped on it. Being a huge fan of Casting Crowns, I knew that the messages I would find in this book would make me think about the world differently. Mark Hall did not disappoint. After reading just a couple of pages, I knew I would be recommending this book to everyone that I knew. Hall's goal in "Your Own Jesus" is to elaborate on the meanings and lessons from CC's album "The Alter and the Door", and he does just that. The messages I read in each and every chapter were extremely powerful. I am a counselor at a youth Christian camp, and you can bet on most of my lessons and devotions with my campers coming from this book. Thank you Mark Hall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    Mark Hall's YOUR OWN JESUS gets to the Heart of a Sanctifying Savior

    Mark Hall capatures the essence of what this world needs. He relates a personal walk of Faith that requires a friend to walk with you. Not just any friend but Your Own Jesus. The stories will grab your attention and relate his points to your everyday life. This book will challenge you to dig deeper in your faith to find a new relationship with the Risen Savior.
    He writes this book for you to understand that Jesus has more to offer than just sitting in a pew.
    The heartfelt stories shared in Your Own Jesus paint pictures of a friend that will stick closer than a brother. I could not put this book down. I read it in less than 24 hours. I have walked with Christ for years and years but I feel that I can gain a closeness to him by applying the principles that Mark Hall shares in this special book.

    The same wordsmanship that Hall uses in his music with Casting Crowns is everpresent in this book.

    Buy this book and discover YOUR OWN JESUS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1