Customer Reviews for

Your Pregnancy Week by Week

Average Rating 3.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Weekly Pregnancy Guide

In the category of pregnancy reads, I would say this is one of my favorites and most useful books. In the category of weekly updates of what is most likely happening in your pregnancy, this is by far the best book of it's kind. I had so many recommendations to read a di...
In the category of pregnancy reads, I would say this is one of my favorites and most useful books. In the category of weekly updates of what is most likely happening in your pregnancy, this is by far the best book of it's kind. I had so many recommendations to read a different book that has been around, but I am so glad that I found this one, in comparison the "other" book has nothing on this one. When curious about this book in it's republication, I found several negative reviews that talked about how it could cause a person to become neurotic knowing all the possible things that can go wrong. Really, what I can tell you from reading this cover to cover, is that it definitely has information on a bit of everything, most plausible diseases and complications. When I was reading this, if I came to a section on smoking mothers, it obviously did not apply to me, so I skipped over it. Same with other categories such as ethnic specific diseases and so on.

I find that this book is a wealth of information. Reading through can tell you plausible things to go wrong, but it also tells you all the miracles that are occurring step by step along the way. There are drawings that show about what the development looks like for your babies stage. There are fabulous exercise suggestions for each week and I would easily say that this is medically current and a comprehensive guide. With my background in nursing I would suggest this book highly.

posted by cherryblossommj on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY- YOU WILL WORRY WORRY WORRY

ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! IT'S A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!
My mother, husband, and DOCTOR asked me to please stop reading this book because it did nothing but make me worry. Each chapter begins with a very nice overview of the baby's development for the week ...
ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! IT'S A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!
My mother, husband, and DOCTOR asked me to please stop reading this book because it did nothing but make me worry. Each chapter begins with a very nice overview of the baby's development for the week as well as its size and what you may be feeling, etc. I enjoyed that part. But that is only about 2 pages of each chapter. Then, the medical worries begin. Each and every chapter discusses about 5 complications during that week that you should worry about. The entire book has a very negative tone. It does not give you information to aid in the joy of pregnancy and ways to do the RIGHT thing. About 85% of the book is what happens when something IS WRONG. My favorite part (sarcasm) is when you get to the Chapter on 20 weeks (example) and they tell you a food that you should have been avoiding THE WHOLE TIME. ???!!! I think it's a great reference for a Doctor. I would want my Doctor to, obviously, know about all these things and let me know if something was wrong, but I don't find it necessary to know as it just made me worry.
ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! ITS A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!

posted by TexasMomG on August 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    This Book will undermine your trust in the birth process

    This guide to pregnancy provides enough fear for the newly pregnant woman to swear off ever getting pregnant again. Included in each section are rare complications which are made to seem common. Women who are looking for advice to deal with normal physical changes are confronted with possibilities that can make a normal pregnancy an extremely fearful experience. Women in this culture are exposed to so much negativity surrounding birth and this book validates this, citing these unusual exceptions and making the process of childbirth increasingly frightening. If you are looking for a book to increase your confidence in the birth process and your body's ability to birth, avoid this one at all costs.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    When I bought this book, I knew that there would be a lot of adv

    When I bought this book, I knew that there would be a lot of advise in it that I did not agree with. However, when I read week 28 and the section about home birth I was appalled. Home birth is very safe and these authors make it sound like of you have a home birth, you will be putting your baby's life at risk! They need to do their research and look at the reality that home birth is safer than hospital births, as long as everyone is healthy. Hospitals do so many unnecessary interventions that lead to even more unnecessary interventions and often end in cesarean. I will be deleting this book from my Nook and I will never buy something written by these authors again. Research is critical when you are giving out statistics and trying to scare people.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Book useless

    This book barely give any useful information, each week they are off with the information about the baby. It spends more time talking about things that only have small chance of happening per week. That information should be in a second area of the book and more your baby and you per week. I have found more informations via email from baby websites than this book. DO NOT BUY!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    I past my due date 11 week ago

    Does it help you get the baby out faster?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    All of you.....

    All of you pregnet people are faties.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Poorly written

    Don't waste your money on this book. The organization and editing is terrible, and some of the information is simply false, according to my doctor. If you want week-by-week information, use the internet, and get the Mommydocs Guide to Pregnancy for a general pregnancy guide. It is very current, and well-written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Do not buy

    Waste of 10.00. I can get same information from online for free. This is not worth your time or money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    order received was not as advertised!!!

    beware of this seller!! the order received was not as described here!! i ordered the 7th editon they sent me the 6th!!! the description said the book looked completely new but it's not. it's in good condition, with some bent pages and cover but definitely not "new". i will never buy from this seller again. if i could give this seller a 0 i would !!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    save yourself the stress, it's a catalog of pregnancy complications

    this book contains overwhelmingly negative information that is completely unhelpful. the worst part is the author phrases something like "don't worry, only 1 in 10 women will have a miscarriage" which is not a statement that will make a pregnant women not worry. I wasn't that worried until I found out that is 1 in 10. Then it goes on to tell you that if you are ____, _____, ______ your odds are slightly higher. Aghhhhh! Plus, i left out information that my doctor gave me (like not to take hot baths or to always eat a bedtime snack). If these tid bits were in there i couldn't find them through the catalog of pregnancy complications.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    DO NOT READ IF PREGNANT!

    EWWW! DO NOT READ IF PREGNANT!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    Do Not Buy This Book

    I found this book to be the most disturbing pregnancy book I ever read. I was given many books when I found out I was pregnant. This book was the worst. I would read about the week I was on. There would be one small paragraph about all of the wonderful things that were happening to me, my body and my baby. Then there would be 3 pages of things that can and might go wrong. Every week was the same thing. I finally stopped reading after about 3 weeks. I was becoming a nervous wreck. Do not waste your time or your sanity on this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    VERY DISCOURAGING

    I would highly reccomend that first time mothers beware. There are entire weeks that are devoted to every negative possible thing that could happen ever!!! I am a 2nd time parent and there were weeks that I had to completely bypass because it told me NOTHING about that particular week, just what could possibly happen. Pregnancy stirs a variety of concerns and this book does nothing to ease those concerns, in fact it increases them. I feel they should have a section in the back of the book with the complications that could arise and if, and ONLY if, your doctor tells you you are at risk then you can look it up, oherwise it should not be the main focus of the book.
    Overall a VERY NEGATIVE book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    No thank you

    The first thing I read about when I flipped open this book was the high rate of birth defects for the babies of mothers over 35. The second time I flipped the book open I read a terrible fact about what a baby will look like if you miscarry at X weeks. I continued to read, but found few, if any useful facts. I'm not interested in fear and imagery that will haunt me in the middle of the night. I'd rather read about the healthy and wonderful experience of being pregnant and hopeful for the future. As someone said to me recently 'pregnancy is not a medical condition,' and I'd like to find a book that doesn't treat it like one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    there are better books for the bucks

    Like some other reviewers, I found this book to be a real downer. I know things can go wrong, but I don't need to be reminded every page! The information and the style of the book were so outdated too. There are way better pregnancy books out there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    Focuses way too much on what can go wrong

    I agree with the other reviewers that metioned how much emphasis this book puts on potential problems. I browsed through most of the book and most sections seem to be: you're baby is this size, this is what your body is doing, this is some obscure problem that could occur, information on what the section is about. We ended up returning the book right away. It turns out that several of my wife's friends and relatives had the same reaction. Quite a few of the women we know have purchased this book, none have kept it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    This is a good book for high risk women - low risk pregnancies need not apply

    While this book includes good information about the normal physiologic changes of pregnancy, it treats pregnancy as a 'potential' disaster ready to happen. There are extremely rare complications listed along side the typical discomforts of pregnancy which will instill fear in just about anyone. In our culture, trust in pregnancy and birth have veered so far from the belief that a healthy childbearing year is one transition that a woman can expect in her life. Books like this do nothing to empower women to the miracle that is their body as it grows and births a baby. Avoid this book unless you are already categorized as high risk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1