Customer Reviews for

Your Pregnancy Week by Week

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Weekly Pregnancy Guide

In the category of pregnancy reads, I would say this is one of my favorites and most useful books. In the category of weekly updates of what is most likely happening in your pregnancy, this is by far the best book of it's kind. I had so many recommendations to read a di...
In the category of pregnancy reads, I would say this is one of my favorites and most useful books. In the category of weekly updates of what is most likely happening in your pregnancy, this is by far the best book of it's kind. I had so many recommendations to read a different book that has been around, but I am so glad that I found this one, in comparison the "other" book has nothing on this one. When curious about this book in it's republication, I found several negative reviews that talked about how it could cause a person to become neurotic knowing all the possible things that can go wrong. Really, what I can tell you from reading this cover to cover, is that it definitely has information on a bit of everything, most plausible diseases and complications. When I was reading this, if I came to a section on smoking mothers, it obviously did not apply to me, so I skipped over it. Same with other categories such as ethnic specific diseases and so on.

I find that this book is a wealth of information. Reading through can tell you plausible things to go wrong, but it also tells you all the miracles that are occurring step by step along the way. There are drawings that show about what the development looks like for your babies stage. There are fabulous exercise suggestions for each week and I would easily say that this is medically current and a comprehensive guide. With my background in nursing I would suggest this book highly.

posted by cherryblossommj on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY- YOU WILL WORRY WORRY WORRY

ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! IT'S A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!
My mother, husband, and DOCTOR asked me to please stop reading this book because it did nothing but make me worry. Each chapter begins with a very nice overview of the baby's development for the week ...
ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! IT'S A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!
My mother, husband, and DOCTOR asked me to please stop reading this book because it did nothing but make me worry. Each chapter begins with a very nice overview of the baby's development for the week as well as its size and what you may be feeling, etc. I enjoyed that part. But that is only about 2 pages of each chapter. Then, the medical worries begin. Each and every chapter discusses about 5 complications during that week that you should worry about. The entire book has a very negative tone. It does not give you information to aid in the joy of pregnancy and ways to do the RIGHT thing. About 85% of the book is what happens when something IS WRONG. My favorite part (sarcasm) is when you get to the Chapter on 20 weeks (example) and they tell you a food that you should have been avoiding THE WHOLE TIME. ???!!! I think it's a great reference for a Doctor. I would want my Doctor to, obviously, know about all these things and let me know if something was wrong, but I don't find it necessary to know as it just made me worry.
ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! ITS A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!

posted by TexasMomG on August 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Not scary

    I think the people that find this book and What to Expect scary are people who would find any medical information scary. Often I can skim or skip sections that do not apply to me, but when something does, the information is helpful. I prefer to be informed. I think the people who have to stop reading out of fear are a bit childish. I do wish the chapters had a little more about the baby each week. Some weeks you get little more than size and weight. I would be interested in more of what is developing that week. Not a perfect book, but helpful and not scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Helpful pregnancy book

    It's great to have something to read each week as you go through your pregnancy. It's cool to read about the ways your baby is developing and what to expect for yourself. It also provides good info on basic medical conditions that can occur and the associated testing that may be necessary. It also provides info on what foods to eat, what foods to avoid, and each chapter ends with an exercise that's ok to try at that stage of pregnancy. It's both a good book to get if you are pregnant and a good gift for friends who are pregnant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a great guide for those looking at pregnancy after 30

    this was my favorite of the two books I bought from the same author. Just gives great details and information of what to expect when you are 35 or older having a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Your Pregnancy Week by Week

    I just purchased the book for my daughter who is expecting her first child. The title sounded like it would be very informative. I have forwarded this review to her to fill in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    I used it for my first and now i am reading it again for my second

    I really enjoyed this book. It has great pictures in it and is very well informative. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Good for first time mothers

    I found this book to be very helpful in detailing some of the changes my body would experience. It also allowed me to think about how my sex life may need to be altered during pregnancy given the changing levels of hormones in the body. This book is not for someone only interested in the developmental changes in the baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Great Reference

    I loved this book with my first pregnancy & plan on using it with my second. I liked this book because it detailed the baby's & mothers progress week by week & I didn't have to have a lot of time to read each week. There was a lot of informative information. I used this book in conjuction with other pregnancy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    Response to reviews

    I have not actually read this book yet in my second pregnacy but plan too. With my first pregnancy I read all the books that were just 'positive' and did not present 'rare' conditions as one review complained that it did. Through out my first pregnancy I had no complications but I still lost my baby during labor full term due to a short umbilical cord accident that is no where listed in pregnancy books. I would rather have known of 'rare conditions' for a 'what if' rather than assume all is great and nothing could go wrong. Everyone is entitled to their oppinion but some of you mothers who write these begative reviews should possibly consider the fact the book might actually help someone who might have to go through such an unimaginable experience that I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    Great Book! User friendly!

    I bought this book in '04. It was great. It has a lot of information and easy to read. I recommend this book to parents-to-be who need as much information as possible without having to sit and read for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Wonderful to read with your husband/s.o.

    Here's an excellent book for women who are excited about the developing life within! It makes the experience easier to share with your husband especially in the earlier weeks when you aren't so obviously pregnant. It calms fears, is relevant and answers most questions that arise between MD visits. I used it for all three of my pregnancies and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    Makes it alot easier

    This book has been a big help. Being able to read what is going on with the baby and myself makes it alot more fun. I would recommend it to any first time Moms who want to know step by step.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    A must have for moms-to-be

    I enjoyed this book with my first child, and I am using it again for baby #2. The weekly information is exciting to follow - I often read ahead! It helped me to prepare for OB appointments. There is information regarding medical complications and as a healthcare worker, I like that. That information (clearly) does not apply to the majority, but problems can occur and for those who have problems or health concerns, this book will be a useful tool for those ladies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    Better than the rest!!!

    I went a little crazy and bought three books when I found out I was pregnant. Even though I use all of them for cross-reference, I feel that this book out did the others by far. I look forward to sitting down every Friday night to see what my little one is up to. I know that it brings up a lot of potential problems that could occur, but when I was diagnosed throughout my pregnancy with three different pregnancy related complications including gestational diabetes, I was prepared because of this book. Remember, just because you read about the bad stuff doesn't mean it will happen to you....but wouldn't you rather be informed? I'm grateful that I was. I can't wait to read the companion book for baby's first year week-by-week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2