Customer Reviews for

Your Pregnancy Week by Week

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Weekly Pregnancy Guide

In the category of pregnancy reads, I would say this is one of my favorites and most useful books. In the category of weekly updates of what is most likely happening in your pregnancy, this is by far the best book of it's kind. I had so many recommendations to read a di...
In the category of pregnancy reads, I would say this is one of my favorites and most useful books. In the category of weekly updates of what is most likely happening in your pregnancy, this is by far the best book of it's kind. I had so many recommendations to read a different book that has been around, but I am so glad that I found this one, in comparison the "other" book has nothing on this one. When curious about this book in it's republication, I found several negative reviews that talked about how it could cause a person to become neurotic knowing all the possible things that can go wrong. Really, what I can tell you from reading this cover to cover, is that it definitely has information on a bit of everything, most plausible diseases and complications. When I was reading this, if I came to a section on smoking mothers, it obviously did not apply to me, so I skipped over it. Same with other categories such as ethnic specific diseases and so on.

I find that this book is a wealth of information. Reading through can tell you plausible things to go wrong, but it also tells you all the miracles that are occurring step by step along the way. There are drawings that show about what the development looks like for your babies stage. There are fabulous exercise suggestions for each week and I would easily say that this is medically current and a comprehensive guide. With my background in nursing I would suggest this book highly.

posted by cherryblossommj on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY- YOU WILL WORRY WORRY WORRY

ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! IT'S A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!
My mother, husband, and DOCTOR asked me to please stop reading this book because it did nothing but make me worry. Each chapter begins with a very nice overview of the baby's development for the week ...
ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! IT'S A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!
My mother, husband, and DOCTOR asked me to please stop reading this book because it did nothing but make me worry. Each chapter begins with a very nice overview of the baby's development for the week as well as its size and what you may be feeling, etc. I enjoyed that part. But that is only about 2 pages of each chapter. Then, the medical worries begin. Each and every chapter discusses about 5 complications during that week that you should worry about. The entire book has a very negative tone. It does not give you information to aid in the joy of pregnancy and ways to do the RIGHT thing. About 85% of the book is what happens when something IS WRONG. My favorite part (sarcasm) is when you get to the Chapter on 20 weeks (example) and they tell you a food that you should have been avoiding THE WHOLE TIME. ???!!! I think it's a great reference for a Doctor. I would want my Doctor to, obviously, know about all these things and let me know if something was wrong, but I don't find it necessary to know as it just made me worry.
ENJOY YOUR PREGNANCY!! ITS A HAPPY TIME! STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOK!!

posted by TexasMomG on August 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    The best one I have. Recommend highly!

    I recommend this book to anyone interested in size of baby each week. I like this one better than 'What to expect when you're expecting' which is also very good. Very helpful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    A great weekly reference!

    I love this book! I have all the other ones your suppose to get but found that they aren't specific enough and talk about a month at a time. For me, each week is a whole different story so I love that this book tells me exactly whats happening each week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Best Pregnancy book out there!!!

    I originally bought 'What to Expect When You're Expecting' and was very dissappointed. Then I bought this book. It walks you through your pregnancy week by week, what you're feeling, what's going on inside your body, and how your baby is developing. It's scarey how on the mark the book is every week. This book is so helpful. I've been keeping notes in it to refer back to when I have my next child to compare how I feel. The book also has 'Dad Tips' that are fun to share with your husband. My husband and I read our new week every Saturday morning so we both know what's going on with our baby's growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    excellent

    I bought this book shortly after i found i was pregnant and its so neat to see whats going on at all times!! This is my first pregnancy and I was really scared, this book put me at ease and gave me a sense of relief. loved knowing what to expect before I even went to the doctor. i recommend this book to anyone expecting or wanting to expect youll see how much joy it is to be pregnant!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR!!

    I bought this book when I was pregnant in 2000. I chose it out of many because it tells 'in detail' what is happening with your developing baby every week. It was my first pregnancy, I was glowing and couldn't put the book down. Seeing the illustrations of the fetus and being able to relate its size to something was super exciting. I'm so excited about this book I've loned it to friends that where expecting; they loved it too. I strongly recommend this book to expecting mothers and fathers interested in the development of their unborn baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    best one I have

    This is definitly the best book I have found so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    Best book ever for pregnancy

    This is the best pregnancy book that I read! My husband and I enjoyed reading it weekly and seeing the changes that the baby and I were going through. It was great to compare reality to the book and see it match up. I have recommended this book to every expecting mother I have known. I can't wait to read it again for my second child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    perfect for first time moms

    This book was my bible for the duration of my pregnancy. My sister's doctor gave it to her and it gets passed around at every baby shower. I loved knowing just what areas were developing each week. I also loved the section on my body it helped to explain a lot of what i was going through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    Every mom to be should have this book!

    I was given this book when I was pregnant with my first son four years ago. It was great. It felt so good to know how he was changing and growing each week. I also had another book that updated me monthly but I thought this one was much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    I couldn't wait until the next week, to read it again!

    I loved this book so much I bought the equivalent book for my daughter now that she is born. I couldn't wait to read what was happening to my body and how my little one was changing. I often read 2 or 3 weeks ahead just to see how she was going to grow. I bought it half way through my pregnancy after having read 'What to expect when you're expecting' for the first half. I must say that I really enjoyed the fact that I got updates weekly instead of monthly. A must buy for all first-time Moms and Dads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    The Best Book

    I liked this book because I can see where in development my baby is each week. It is very discriptive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    My Daily Reading

    I loved this book!!! I would read what was happening with 'Matthew' every time I sat down. I liked knowing how he was changing; I liked knowing how I was changing. I loved knowing the size of the angel in my body. I think this book is a must for first time parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2001

    Pregnant? This one's an absolute must have!

    I bought this book at the begining of my pregnancy. Its like the pregnant womans 2nd bible. I read it everyday. It was so helpful and answered so many of my questions.I plan on pulling this one out again for my 2nd pregnancy. I definitly recomend this book for mommy's and daddy's to be!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    A must have for all pregnant couples!!

    My husband and I loved this book! It was a quick read every week to find out what our babies (we had twins) were going through in utero. I now buy it for all my pregnant friends and they love it just as much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    A MUST have for first time mothers

    This was a great book. It gives you weekly updates about your body and your baby. It has great illustrations of how big your baby is and what the baby looks like. I also had What to Expect, and I feel the only part of that book that was helpful was the labor and delivery portion of the book. Your Pregnancy Week By Week does lack that portion of your pregnancy. It is more the developmental part of your body and the babies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    wonderful information guide

    This book I found most helpful during my pregnancy. Not only is it full of alot of information it tells you how your baby is developing and changing as the weeks go by. It also shows illustrations of what it looks like, and mentions about what time you have certain test done. It states how to cope with some problems such as sleep. I recommend this book! It is a great guide to a week by week preveiw of your child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    Great resource for week to week information

    Gave great information about growth and development week by week including camparisons to better understand the size of your baby through your pregnancy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    Great Book!

    This book is most informative. My friend gave me What to expect.. but this book is great it tells me each week what I can expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2000

    The best baby book

    This book was very helpful. My family and I read what was going on for me and the baby every Saturday. It was more understandable than the 'What to Expect When You're Expecting' because it dealt with issues on a weekly basis. When you're pregnant things do change from week to week. It gave insight and educated us about the possible problems with the pregnancy and labor while at the same time giving a list of symptoms so you wouldn't get panicked about yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    The most helpful book during my pregnancies

    I found this to be the most informative book. It told me more about my developing baby than 'What to Expect When You're Expecting.' 'What to Expect' goes by months, and as any pregnant woman soon finds out, doctors go by weeks. I found it difficult to use 'What to Expect.' A friend told me about 'Your Pregnancy Week by Week,' and I instantly fell in love with it. I really liked the information regarding weight gains at certain points of the pregnancy. The book included lots of good information on things that can go wrong during your pregnancy, offering a quick reference in a need to know situation. I liked it so much I'm ordering a copy for a girlfriend who just found out she's pregnant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3