Customer Reviews for

Your Teacher Said What?!: Defending Our Kids from the Liberal Assault on Capitalism

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

I highly recommend Your Teacher Said What?!; unfortunately the people who need to read this book the most will never even entertain the idea. The book masterfully combines a great amount of information, a compelling idea, and a good bit of humor to keep the reader enter...
I highly recommend Your Teacher Said What?!; unfortunately the people who need to read this book the most will never even entertain the idea. The book masterfully combines a great amount of information, a compelling idea, and a good bit of humor to keep the reader entertained. It is also a great refresher course on free-market economics.

posted by Excellent117 on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fear your government!

Entertaining, yet wholly fantastic. Their's is not the world we live in, it is a representation of the world he fears. A shame he raised his daughter in fear and contempt of HER government and OUR using it for protection against unbridled capitalism. Anything for a buck...
Entertaining, yet wholly fantastic. Their's is not the world we live in, it is a representation of the world he fears. A shame he raised his daughter in fear and contempt of HER government and OUR using it for protection against unbridled capitalism. Anything for a buck.

posted by 2824409 on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great Read!

    I highly recommend Your Teacher Said What?!; unfortunately the people who need to read this book the most will never even entertain the idea. The book masterfully combines a great amount of information, a compelling idea, and a good bit of humor to keep the reader entertained. It is also a great refresher course on free-market economics.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Fear your government!

    Entertaining, yet wholly fantastic. Their's is not the world we live in, it is a representation of the world he fears. A shame he raised his daughter in fear and contempt of HER government and OUR using it for protection against unbridled capitalism. Anything for a buck.

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    OUTSTANDING

    I LOVE the capitalist view of how the socialist are taking over our schools. Couldn't agree more....Shocking how honesty really hurts

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Trash

    Poor Blake.

    4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Awesome read! Highly recommend

    As a parent with a child in the public school system, I found this a book a wonderful read. I've pretty much got a handle on the topics here but Joe Kernen breaks it down in a very easy to understand manner for any level. Blake's questions and ideas are very thought provoking and it really does show you just how a child's brain works. As adults, we are trapped within our own mind and seldom think on a lower level. We take for granted our knowledge and sometimes expect our children to understand without question. This book really does open your eyes as to how the school system is teaching our children.

    If you are unfamiliar with the topics, this book explains it on a level anyone can understand. If you are familiar with the topics, it is a great recap of them. The book is not condescending, nor is it "just another text book". Joe makes it real by throwing in his own conversations with his daughter. Parents can certainly empathize when reading.

    I highly recommend this read to anyone who is sending their children to school--pre-k to college, it matters not. These questions will eventually come up sometime in your conversations with your children. It's better to be prepared with the proper answers, not something you just guess at. Education is the key to success. It's never too late to learn. Arm yourself with knowledge and make the world a better place.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    welcome to the world of liberal teachers

    outstanding, educational, real world, fun

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must-Read for Every Freedom-Loving American

    When I received this book as an advance copy from Goodreads, I was nervous about picking it up. After all, I always skip the financial sections of the Wall Street Journal in favor of the political or human interest sections. I know the free market system is an important part of our freedom, but I couldn't articulate the reasons. I honestly dreaded trying to wade through a book on finances. However, I was hooked in the preface when Joe Kernen said, "We believe that free-market capitalism is not only the most powerful engine for human prosperity ever but also history's strongest force for freedom and human advancement. We believe - no we know - that economic freedom is as important as religious freedom or freedom of speech. We believe that productive work, freely exchanged, is a virtue, just like charity feely given." Wow. Well said! If you want to be able to understand and share these ideas with your kids and the people around you, BUY THIS BOOK.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Anyonamous

    Eh, it looks kinda boring. And I'm 10.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful book to counteract the ongoing anti-capitalist indoctrination in our education system

    This was a spur-of-the-moment buy at the B&N in the Palm Springs area. After having heard a few radio interviews with Joe and some talk radio hosts, I knew in the back of the mind that this book sounded interesting. And interesting it was. Based on conversations between father and pre-teen daughter, "Your Teacher Said What?!" offers up fact-based, logical, rational thought on the realities of the capitalist system, the media's and the public education system's influence on WHAT is taught (and communicated) about it and HOW it is taught/communicated. Delving deep (and sometimes really deep) into topics such as property rights, Hollywood's take on society, why America should not emulate Europe on economic matters, and more, the Kernan due do a great job at dispelling much that is taught our youth about these and many more subjects relating to our economic system in America. When you consider most (if not all) teachers in our public schools have no real concept of what it is like to actually produce a good or service and have it priced to sell (and, God forbid, potentially earn a profit!), this book would make a great primer for students of all ages, introducing them to what the reality is to the systems around them that make this country WORK. I would highly recommend this book, in addition to "Why Popcorn Costs So Much at the Movies: And Other Pricing Puzzles" by Richard McKenzie. These two tomes would help anyone start to understand that capitalism is NOT about keeping people down, but by offering up a system whereby free exchange can lead to increased production, increased honesty, and increased fulfillment (in so many aspects of life). And, if you need another book to round out your trifecta on capitalism and economics, check out "The Politically Incorrect Guide to Capitalism" by Robert Murphy. I read this book years ago (I believe it came out in 2007 or so), and it is as straight-forward on its subject. Well done, Kernan old and young. A timely reminder that at least ONE subject (if not many, many more) taught in our schools could use a little parental intervention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    It always how you look at eveything

    My teacher said not! Why did God banish Adam and Eve from the Garden of Eden? Conservatism has proven that its no better then Liberalism. No one can claim that one is better then another.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    This a must read

    Read this and all will be revealed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Two

    News

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Whar What.?

    Not the best
    To read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Believe it or Not....

    Blake's actually a friend of mine. We went to summer camp summer before this happened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Your teacher said what

    All this book demonstrates is that. fundamentally, all economic theory is POLITICAL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2